roomagnet
Hi, all -
first post here, so be gentle :-)
I hit a roo the other night, and bent the base of the roobar, possibly pushing the bar back a bit. Car OK, occupants OK, roo seemed OK as it bounded off into the night with its mates >:-( No airbags, so we were spared that as
well.
This is the first time I've ever hit a roo, so the bar has paid for itself IMO. So, what do I do next? Do I take the car to my usual service place? And what should I be on the
lookout for?
Any good suggestions or related experiences would be appreciated.
TIA!
Reply By: locallaw - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:54
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:54
Gidday Roomagnet,
Replace the bar as it may have been structually damaged.
Seeya Locallaw
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:00
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:00
Alloy or steel? Brand? If TJM or ARB, take it to them and have it inspected. May not be structual. Don't spend $800-1000 if you don't have to!
Reply By: theshadows - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:04
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:04
AS above steel can be fixed .Alloy can be a pain to fix !
Bad news is the roo proberly died after wards from shock.
shadow
Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:08
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:08
A steel bar can probably be straightened quite satisfactorily from a minor bingle like this. An alloy bar is a bit more problematic as it could have cracking or serious stress damage. In either case, I'd suggest getting a good welding/fabrication place to take a look at it, especially one that does aluminium welding & fabrication - they'll know what to look for.
If it's declared 'dead', I'd suggest a Team Poly 'SmartBar' as a replacement. I have no relationship with them (other than buying one a couple of years ago). Have a look at this site. They are light, strong and, even thought I've not tried
mine in 'anger', I've had several first-hand reports they 'bounce back' after impacts that would permanently deform metal bars.
Follow Up By: roomagnet - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:33
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:33
Thanks for this. Interesting - will look into it. If I have to replace an alloy bar after each strike, this is probably a better alternative.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:51
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:51
Even though these bounce back they can crack their mounts too. When I was looking for a bulbar I looked at these and I was shown one that had this damage. I went for the steel winch bar so I could mount a winch (duh!) and for the added protection. I have no airbags on my ute.
Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:03
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:03
Hi Utemad,
Yes, I can quite believe that a big enough hit could crack the mounts of a SmartBar (though, given the size of the mounts on
mine I'd have thought the bolts would shear first). But I still think their ability to absorb a lot of impact energy before transfering in into the mounts and chassis was a good thing.
And speaking of airbags, that was one of the main reasons I went for the SmartBar on our dual-airbag Discovery. All airbag-compatible metal bars, as far as I know, use a 'crush can' mounting arrangement. This seems to defeat the purpose to a fair degree - small-ish impacts will crush the 'cans' and let the bar go back and hit your bonnet/front end, no? Doesn't make a lot of sense to me. Please correct me if I've got this wrong.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 18:53
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 18:53
I agree with the steel bar airbag mounting crush can bit. That is why I mentioned I had no airbags. Also when I bought my $850 steel bar about 3.5 years ago the Smart Bar was over $2000.
I was just saying that even though a Smart Bar deforms they are not immune from cracking mounts.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 23:01
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 23:01
"Smart bar bounces back", very good when it bounces back from contact with your cars body work it has not done it's job.
IE panels crushed and possible other front end damage, but thats OK the bar bounced back to its normal shape.
Yeah right thats smart logic you need not have wasted your money on a bar at all.
I recently saw a test video that simulated a 70 kg roo hitting a steel bar, an alloy bar and a smart bar at 35 km per hour.
Don't waste your money on an alloy or plastic bar, steel is the only one that did as designed.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 23:12
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 23:12
John,
Was that the one where they dropped a sack of something from a crane onto a bullbar bolted horizontally to the floor?
I think I have seen the same video.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 23:34
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 23:34
Hi Ute yeah thats the one, test was done by ARB, pretty simple test with sound fundamentals behind the theory in my book.
It showed clearly what a
well designed steel bar is capable of and what the other bars are not capable of.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:12
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:12
Send it to harold scruby telling that wank stain that it saved your families life.
Reply By: roomagnet - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:29
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:29
Thanks, folks - even truckster :-) Your suggestions have given me a place to start and some perspective over what to expect. Its an alloy bar, so probably bad news there. Wasn't aware they could suffer so much structural damage, but you live and learn.
Still cheaper than having to fix the car (or worse, ourselves). I guess I'm just thankful that I can view this as just an annoying expense.
We went looking for the roo in the bush, in particular to check for a joey, but no luck.
In recent months, I have managed to avoid ducks and ducklings, magpies, emus, eagles, cockatoos, several stupid cows, lizards, sheep, goats, snakes, etc, etc, etc. Luck had to run out sometime.
Reply By: Hobes - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 18:58
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 18:58
You have insurance don't you? Replace the bar. Simple.
Follow Up By: roomagnet - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 19:24
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 19:24
Yes, I have insurance :-) But I wanted general advice, in particular about how to get the damage assessed properly. I don't want to lose my no claim bonus for nothing.
Reply By: Rhubarb - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 19:05
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 19:05
Yep it's the cows you really need to look out for! Even with a good bar they can spell disaster.
Personally I don't think you can go past a good steel bar. We hit two roo's in a recent Cape trip with no damage at all excpect for a broken indicator in the bar itself.
Reply By: Davoe - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:17
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:17
buy a steel bar anything else is just for show. I have hit 8 roos and it isnt even a particulary big bar. The work utes have steel bars and we often have to use them to knock down sizable trees (when u bounce off you know it is to thick)
Reply By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:28
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:28
I hope you rang W.I.R.E.S.
Karen
Follow Up By: roomagnet - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:45
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:45
I thought WIRES was NSW only? I'm in WA. Anyhow, I think it would have been difficult to find.
Reply By: Tim - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 12:19
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 12:19
roomagnet
Just to clear up a point you made about the airbag thing. I did hit a roo (read smashed it big time) and was concerned about the airbags (99TD jack with dual bags) anyway after it I made some enquiries and was told that the bags work on sensors that detect a change in inertia, ie shock or movement and I don't know about u but I was doing about 110 and didn't feel a thing.
So in short airbags will take a fair impact to set them off.
Tim
Reply By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 20:14
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 20:14
Don't be too pessimistic roomagnet - I carried an alloy bar on the front of the 80 series for 6 years before meeting a roo head on at 90 kmh. It cracked the mount, which the maker of the bar welded and reinforced with another plate for $60. Its good as gold and no $500 excess to pay on a new one claimed on the insurance policy.
Max
Follow Up By: roomagnet - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 00:56
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 00:56
Well, that's good to hear! Hope
mine works out as
well as yours.
90kmh - ouch (hope you were OK).
Reply By: Paul & Tracy - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 01:55
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 01:55
Replace your roo bar or don't replace your roo bar - your choice but what I would do is invest in about $5 for those little whistle things you you stick on your car somewhere to scare them away before you hit them. I don't know whether they work or not - I just know I never see roos in my own vehicle (98 Prado with steel bar and whistles) but see them all the time in my work vehicle (2001 100 series also with steel bar & no whistles). Today whilst driving out to Coonana (160km east of Kalgoorlie on the Trans Railway access road) in 100 series saw about 30 roos and went very close to hitting several and last weekend driving out to Ilkurlka on Anne Beadell Hwy for their official opening likewise saw dozens. In 9,000 km through
Kimberley &
Pilbara from Kalgoorlie in July never saw one in the Prado.
Follow Up By: Matt M - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 17:47
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 17:47
Paul, why exactly did you get your little Shuroo whistles? I have seen heaps now, supercheap, National Geographic even in service stations? Id like to get a set that someone has at least tried and believe they work!
I watched a documentary on the electronic Shuroo and the doubt as to whether they actually work IMHO the transport companies that are taking their bullbars off because of nill strikes after fitting a shuroo, sort of speaks
well for them!
Might as
well give the cheapies a shot, but my steel ARB will stay on for sure, might see that idot serial pest (Stuckby) in my travels.
Matt
Follow Up By: Paul & Tracy - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 20:32
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 20:32
They were actually on the vehicle when I bought it second hand but appear to be identical to the Lion brand ones you see in discount auto accessory shops for less than $5.
I might say I'm not sure they work either, I just know I never seem to see roos from the vehicle onto which they are fitted but I'm not sure that translates yet to no roobar!
Reply By: Cabbage - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 23:26
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 23:26
G'Day,I don't know if I'm allowed here because I only have an F100 and 32 ft Viscount van.The Transport companies aren't taking the bars off because they have Shuroo's fitted,it's because the transport coppers are pinching them for being 200 mm overlength if they have a bullbar fitted. The length of the trailers now being 45ft + doesn't leave any room for bars ,lights etc particularly if you have a B-double.I know this from firsthand exp as I have just retired after 42 yrs on the road
in trucks. Now looking forward to many years on the road with the van and Effie
Leave nothing but footprints and take nothing but photos