found the problem
Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:48
REX.....(Adelaide)
well my turbobleepa fan blade spat it into the inlet jamed a valve open and BANG
no more noise coming from my turbo no more engine no more money its going to cost me 4k to replace motor
well thats my day in a nut shell.............
Reply By: REX.....(Adelaide) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:50
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:50
mmmm my naughty word got bleeped mmmm
Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 23:12
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 23:12
Bad luck but lots of worse things can go wrong...you are still alive aren't you.
Reply By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:12
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:12
It could of been worse Rex , it could have happened to ME lol .
Only jokin dude , shame about the donk, this is a good warning to all you turbo people who take your snail for granted and dont get it serviced. It dosn't take much for a impella to go bang.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:49
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:49
Do impella's often let go of fan blades? I imagine getting a turbo serviced entails it being disassembled and rebuilt?
Leroy
Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 20:54
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 20:54
they dont have to replace it on a turbo service , but the pull apart check tolorance and inspect blades for cracks
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 09:06
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 09:06
any explanations given as to why it happened? Something slip through the air filter? Done lotsa k's?
Follow Up By: REX.....(Adelaide) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 12:55
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 12:55
turbo got to hot and melted a big chunk off i was doing some very heavy towing a few days before and the temp gauge spiked up to red stayed there for a minute then came down to normal seemed ok at he time but i think that was where the damage was done the
adelaide hills are car stoppers
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 13:04
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 13:04
Rex,
Bugger mate. Couldn't recommend highly enough the need for pyro gauge. I'm sure Ian from thermoguard will see this post and explain the whole shabang.
I reckon these gauges will help even those with genuine turbos. You just can't tell when it's running too hot without. I bet in your case the motor was running relatively normal temp until the impeller let go.
Is the 4k figure quoted from landy or from independent mob?
Follow Up By: REX.....(Adelaide) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 13:25
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 13:25
if your referintg to my rig pic they are from my army days as a signaler on the
birdsville track i own a turbo intercooled pajero
the motor was a write off this is a low k import compleat motor then i have a few spares
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:30
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:30
G'day Rex,
Mate, I'm real sorry to hear of your bad news......that'd really stuff your day/week/month/year I reckon!!!
I know it's too late in your case, but one of the other responses (above) asked is there any indication of why this happened.
Well, at the risk of sounding like I'm pushing Ian Peterson's barrow for him, I would strongly recommend everybody with a T/D engine look at the site in Ian's link from yesterday's Post # 17,662. It refers to "WHY EGT IS IMPORTANT" and links to a sight of Gale Banks Engineering in the USA. It explains that as a turbo gets hotter the end corners of the blades can get so hot that they can virtually melt off. It'd be better if you read it for yourself.
I'm getting a EGT gauge so I will know what the hairdryer is coping with. It may show me that the fuel to air ratio is too rich and I need to get the donk de-tuned a bit; who knows?
Good luck with getting the Paj back on the road Rex.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 13:02
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 13:02
Agree with you mostly Roachie, however, you needn't de tune if you drive within the specs and capabilities of the vehicle. For instance if you are going on a big trip, it's great to have the ability to overtake on long stretches of road past road trains (if the need arises and the situation extends itself to such a manouver). If you de tune, you lose that ability.
It's learning to drive the vehicle to the gauge. If the tuning place says 600 degrees is it, drive it to that figure. So if driving up long range towing trailer, and you are in 4th trying to stick to 100 and the E.G.T's creep up to 550, back off and drive to the gauge.
That's something I'm getting used to now. Love having the power there for overtaking but have come to the conclusion that 80k's an hour up a range towing at half throttle is better than before (3rd gear, full throttle). It's all in the name of balance.
Chris.
Reply By: Savvas - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:53
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:53
Rex ... go back to bed and get out the other side. Maybe it's just a really bad dream.
Really sorry to hear that buddy. At least it's not a $15k-$20k donk.
Reply By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 14:25
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 14:25
generally it is pretty rare for the intake spool to fail, even if you car overheats it doesnt affect the spool as such. Too hot a EGT does damage to bearings and exhaust spool as that is where the temp is and this just blows the bits up the exhaust. During a rebuild the spools are usually crack tested, but nothing is infallible, even big jet engines turbine spools which are Xrayed on a regular basis (very very rarely ) can fail