Fridge / Freezers
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 12:13
DiesAl
Hi All, not wanting to start a debate on which is the best (already done many times in the archives) but are Engel and Waeco the only 2 manufacturers that do a Fridge / Freezer Combo style with the seperate fridge / freezer compartments ?
Al
Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 13:04
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 13:04
DiesAl
I think EvaKool do a fridge/freezer now.
Follow Up By: jolls - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 14:07
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 14:07
Trailblaza do too. 50l fridge, 25l freezer. Big mother, had one for 5 years, excellent piece of kit. Worked
well in the back of a 60 series cruiser and even better in the back of my dual cab ute.
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 18:26
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 18:26
I saw an Evakool fridge freezer at Carac today. From memory it was 39L for $999.
Follow Up By: DiesAl - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 13:10
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 13:10
Thanks Wim, had a look at their website, like the idea of the movable divider. I'll add this one to the list.
Jolls, does the Trailblazer have divided fridge / freezer sections couldn't find out on their website. It does mention however "that it can be used as combination bottom half freezer and top half refrigerator" is this just working on the principle of hot air rising? Any ideas on distributors around
brisbane (north) ? Looks like another one for the list.
Al
Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 14:27
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 14:27
G'day Al
Just on the issue of which is better - we had a fridge repair bloke as a guest speaker at the club not long ago and when asked which of the 2 you mention was best he said that he was very happy with Waeco - because they were giving him heaps of work. I own a Trailblaza so this is an impartial comment.
Say hello to your parents for me.
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 21:44
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 21:44
Moose,
How old are these fridges that are keeping him in business? They offer a 3 year parts and labour warranty and 5 years on parts.
Does he do warranty stuff or is he doing aftermarket repairs on older stuff?
I own an Engel so my question is unbiased as
well, although I am considering a Waeco at the moment. Never had an ounce of trouble from my Engel but it is a bit noisy. Also reckon Engels are pricey for what you get, but quality may come at a price but I'm not sure.
Just doing all the research before making the change.
Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 09:23
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 09:23
Jim
Sorry mate no idea as to what he actually did or to what - just passing on his comment. Can only suggest you speak to a few fridge people down your way.
Follow Up By: DiesAl - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 13:22
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 13:22
Gday mate, had a look at the Trailblazer and Explorer websites both look like good units (just when I thought I narrowed it down). By the way didn't notice on their website are the traillblazer's using Danfoss compressors and does the Trailblazer have divided fridge / freezer sections couldn't find out on their website. It does mention however "that it can be used as combination bottom half freezer and top half refrigerator" is this just working on the principle of hot air rising? Any ideas on distributors around
brisbane (north) ?
Yeah I'll say gday for ya, If I can catch 'em at home !! (Bloody retiries have all the fun) LOL
Al
Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 14:32
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 14:32
Al - yep Danfoss compressor for Trailblaza. Others have said they do have separate sections but
mine is one big space with the extent of freezer depending upon the thermostat setting. I reckon as soon as you put in a permanent partition you're making it less versatile. As far as I know you can only buy direct from the factory. Good luck.
Follow Up By: DiesAl - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 14:42
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 14:42
Moose, hadn't thought of it that way.
Looks like an excuse to pop in on mum and dad (caloundra).
Just as a side, as you use up your frozen goods do you find that you have to turn your fridge down as all the non-frozen food sinks lower in the fridge?
Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 15:16
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 15:16
Al - what I've done is to make up a hinged partition that we use to separate the frozen stuff from the rest when we have frozen stuff. Don't use the partition when just using as a fridge. When using the bottom as a freezer without the partition (which is just a flat piece of hard plastic hinged in the middle) the stuff on top, which isn't meant to be frozen, would sit directly on the frozen stuff and freeze as
well eg milk. The partition is hinged so that it's easier to get at what you need at the bottom without having to move too much of the top stuff out of the way. And to answer your question we do need to fine tune the thermostat depending what's in there and how much is frozen. If it's left up too high everything freezes. This is probably where a unit with separate sections would be better - but what if you don't want the freezer section - can it be used as a fridge? You'll probably find that the freezer capability isn't used as much as you might imagine - we only use it for the long trips. Not even on long weekends. We don't however take ice cream - unlike one of the other respondents. In that case you'd certainly need the freezer! Cheers.
Reply By: Member - Athol (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 15:09
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 15:09
I have an Eva-kool 60lt rf fridge/freezer and am very happy with its performance. But like everyone say's its a matter of personal choice.
Athol
Reply By: Pullsy - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 15:29
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 15:29
Al,
the original fridge/freezer- Explorer. Made in
Maryborough, QLD. Made of Marine Grade aluminium with 75mm insulation. Strong as- only draw back is size due to insulation thickness but at least you don't need to buy covers etc to help stay cold and not get scratched. they have a web site at-
http://www.explorerfridgefreezer.aunz.com/
Pullsy
Follow Up By: DiesAl - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 13:28
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 13:28
Thanks Pullsy, they look like a good unit and very similar to the trailblazer definately another on for the list. Mate, do you know of anywhere in
Brisbane that sells them ?
Follow Up By: Pullsy - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 16:27
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 16:27
NOt sure as I am up in
Townsville but I am sure if you ring Ian the owner/ manufacturer on (07) 4122 2246 he will be able to tell you and at the same time give you all the info you need not just salesman gumph. I have rung him a couple of times with questions and he is always super helpful and does not mind explaining his product. Cheers
Pullsy
Follow Up By: Member - Russell S - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 21:16
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 21:16
I also have an Explorer on the drawbar of the camper. Very tough and reliable - except if you clog the thermostats with bulldust! Blown out, they're fine again.
Reply By: Flash - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 16:53
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 16:53
I won't kick the debate along by mentioning names..............
But the cheaper ones are just that. Cheap.
Like many things you get what you pay for, eg: thicker insulation.
I have an Aussie (Sunshine Coast) made (
well, ....German compressor) fibreglass one with separate compartments and it's the duck's guts, IMHO.
I have owned a number of fridges, do regular comparisons with friend's fridges and still also own an ageing 3-way, which still gets occasional use.
Confused? You should be. Cheers
Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 17:03
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 17:03
I still cant find a real good reason to have a freezer. But I supose I'm only away from supplies for a week or a bit more. I have found that if I place frozen meat at the bottom of the fridge (Engle) it stays frozen for a few days before it starts to thaw. I'd cryovac if I had to keep it longer. I just think the fridge freezer in the 60l engle leaves too small a fridge space and the Waeco are quite large and take up a bit of room. The 40l Engel I have is a good size or the Waeco 40/50l. You just have to remember to start with 4-6 beers in the fridge and put a warm beer in when you pull a cold one out and not try and chill the whole slab.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 10:00
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 10:00
I must admit that I thought that having a freezer while
camping was just a bit of a gimmick. However it's fantastic to be able to have an ice-cream on those hot days on
the beach. Just think that once people thought that taking a fridge instead of an esky was too much. Same as having an auto 4wd or auto hubs or air conditioning or off road campers and caravans or GPS and laptops. These are now common fare so I am sure that freezers will be too.
We can fit enough food in an Engel 80L for 8 days plus drinks for 2 people. You could last a lot longer but we don't go without when 4wd
camping. If you don't need the freezer for a particular trip you can just not turn the dial up as far and then use the thing as one big fridge.
I reckon freezers are a great extra.
Reply By: pjd - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 19:50
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 19:50
Trialblazer do & they are thr ducks guts [very good] aussie made & aussie tough
Reply By: Jagg - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 19:54
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 19:54
National Luna do a fridge with seperate compartments and dual thermostats. This fridge has seperate doors which is more efficient than opening up the entire fridge and is high quality in relation to construction / components. Insulation is excellent and fridge cylcle times very good which directly relates to overall power useage. I have had several fridges (Finch, Engel & Autofridge) and rate this as probably the best. Downside is the are fairly big and heavy but if you have the room I can recommend one.
cheers Jagg
Reply By: Gossy - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 10:00
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 10:00
Before you buy just be aware that as of very recently Engel will not sell individual parts for their motors. That means that if a $10 part fails out of warranty, you need to buy a whole compressor!
Waeco have increased their warranty and still sell individual parts and are easy to obtain.
These fridges should last many many years so you will have the fridge alot longer out of warranty than in warranty so this (to me) is a major change by Engel and will probably affect sales for them. The Waeco guys must be rubbing their hands with glee!
Good Luck with whichever one you go for.
Reply By: DiesAl - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 13:33
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 13:33
Thanks All, for the advise much appreciated (and just when I thought I was narrowing the field LOL) looks like I've still got a lot of work to do.
S$%t this is harder than choosing a 4WD.
Al
Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 19:10
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 19:10
You may find it worth looking at the Australian-made Autofridge.
It has a Danfoss compressor but works on a different principle (eutectic) than almost all other fridges.
If used in so-called 'pump-down' mode (run initially flat-out for about 10 hours and then twice a day for about two hours a time for each) it uses about half the energy of the rest.
Mine will hold -14 degrees in +40 degree heat - and runs comfortably from a 120 watt module. Have had it in our OKA for about seven years.
Costs more than most - about $1850 for 40 litre and about $2200 for 70 litre - and worth every cent.
Collyn Rivers
Reply By: Member - Russell S - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 21:19
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 21:19
Like I said above, I have an Explorer, and am happy with it. It has a main lid, then another aluminium lid on the freezer compartment. Separate controls for fridge and freezer seem to work fine. Keeps the meat, icecream, cooler bricks etc frozen until you need them, and having had a fridge and freezer section, would aim to keep it that way in the future. I don't know what the others are like, but the Explorer is good.