100 series Cruiser
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 20:43
japmel
I am looking into buying a 2001 100 series cruiser because I want to tow an 18 foot caravan around this very large country.
What I would like to know is would I be better to buy an automatic or a manual.
The reason I ask is because the dealer I am buying it off is pushing the auto.
japmel
Reply By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 20:56
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 20:56
Petrol or Turbo diesel , does he have both for sale or just a auto ?
Follow Up By: japmel - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 21:58
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 21:58
G'Day Eric,
The dealer here has a turbo diesel witch is what I want.
I'm just not sure what is best for towing auto or manual.
japmel
Follow Up By: Member Eric - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 08:25
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 08:25
if its a 5 speed auto , you would be mad not to buy it , if its the 4 speed auto , get the manual
Reply By: Member - Graham P (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 21:14
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 21:14
I bought a 100 ( 2000 ) gxl in may to tow an 17'6" van and have a manual. I have driven a new turbodiesel auto and found the cruise control quite alarming as it surged over the hills. You may get used to it but I am happy with the manual.
Mine is a petrol and it drives beautiful. When I picked it up in Mt.Isa I left at 6.30am and arrived in
Gladstone at midnight. I did not feel the least bit tired so just kept on driving. I have had no problem driving 600k per day towing the van.
Have fun - Manual or auto - your choice whatever you get you can't go wrong.
Graham
Follow Up By: japmel - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 22:07
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 22:07
Graham,
Was it a manual or an auto turbo diesel that surged over the hills
japmel
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 22:43
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 22:43
Japmel,
He said it was an auto......
Mate, I prefer manuals myself, but I can certainly understand that autos are fast becoming the way to go. They are apparently great for towing and also when driving in sand, mud and up steep hills. The only area where a manual is preferrable is on steep decents in rougged country where you want to use the significantly better engine braking capabilities of a manual. So in your case I'd say go for the auto, no worries.
As far as petrol or diesel is concerned, it's a personal choice IMO. You need to be doing a lot of klicks to be able to justify the extra price of the diesel version's fuel economy benefit and also be intending to keep the vehicle for quite a few years. The petrol version is several grand cheaper and those savings can buy you a fair amount of petrol to offset the diesel's benefits.
Your choice, you can't go wrong either way (but I'd be buying a Nissan personally).
All the best,
Follow Up By: japmel - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 22:45
Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 22:45
sorry I should have read your reply better my wife has just pointed out it was an auto, now I feel like a dummy
Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 00:52
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 00:52
Most cruise controls will surge over hills to some extent. As when you approach the top of a
hill (unless your vehicle is gutless) you lift your foot on the accelerator. A cruise control doesn't know where the top of the
hill is and effectively keeps on going. An auto could surge more (my Dad's Fairlane does) as it can kick back a gear. Petrols might do it more as they need to rev up the
hill I suppose.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham P (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 10:36
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 10:36
The reason for the surging is that the control is most likly proportional only control and therefore only reacts to an error between dersired speed and actual speed. If you observe closely as you drive without cc that your mind is anticipating the reduced requirment as you go over the
hill. The control system cannot "see" the
hill - though some improvment could possibly be achieved with derivitive control added, another possibility would be to look at the power requirment of the engine and use this as feed forward.
CU
Graham P
Follow Up By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 13:08
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 13:08
I find the CC on the LC100 T/D 5spd Auto to be a bit twitchy too. As mentioned above its to do with the CC wanting to stay at speed and it just keeps putting the foot down until it gets there. Auto drops back and off she goes. With the CT on I normally manual drop back to 4th nearing the top of the
hill to maintain a bit of control over the gear shifts. I've found this limits the time the torque converter is unlocked. Dunno why just is better.
I reckon the Petrol V8 might be better but would need to try it under similar conditions. (And have a deeper wallet for the fuel bill)
Gaz
Reply By: Tellem Bugrem - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 08:14
Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 08:14
G'day Japmel,
We have had 6 Cruisers since 1980, the latest being our first petrol.... a GXL V8 Auto (It's also our first Auto). Opinion? I want my manual Turbo Diesel back!
The auto does surge in CC and I find it is best to use the gears in anticipation, just as you would in a manual. The V8 is no doubt a better tower than the DTS turbo (After Market) we had in the 99 model, except, when you are going down steep hills. As the compression braking is no where near as effective in the V8, we are using the brakes on both LC and caravan a lot more. Therfore, we can expect the brake maintenance costs are going to be higher and this will offset the petrol v diesel equation in favour of the diesel. The other aspect is fuel consumption. With the Turbo diesel youll'll get about 13l/100km without the van and around 19l/100km with the van. The V8 petrol returns around 17 without the van and 25 -26 with the van. In the end, it's a matter of personal choice. I'm waiting for the 5.7 litre twin turbo diesel V8, 6 speed manual to arrive.............
Cheers........Rob