ARB Locker Compressor Warranty Issue

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 15:13
ThreadID: 17733 Views:2896 Replies:3 FollowUps:3
As I mentioned in our outback trip report we had a problem with our ARB Compressor where the tank blew off it taking some of the thread from the holding bolt hole with it.

When we got to Alice Springs the local ARB reseller couldn't help me (The ARB network isn't set up to handle these types of issues). So after calling my ARB installer I took a punt and bought a new compressor (they only had the one in the 'tool box') from the Alice dealer in the hope that ARB would honour the waranty when we got back home.

Well we finally heard back from ARB and they have agreed to fully refund the purchase of the new compressor.

Even though I thought it was pretty poor that the Alice dealer couldn't speak for ARB corporate on an obvious warranty issue (like give me a replacement compressor and claim it back themselves through ARB). ARB's final response has been very fair indeed. On balance a good result.

Thanks ARB

Gaz

Reply By: beatit - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 15:31

Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 15:31
G'day Gaz,

Good result but was wondering if the guy in Alice couldn't ring ARB to do the fix?

PS Like the Squid pole am looking for one right now (not as common in Brissie it seems)
AnswerID: 84011

Follow Up By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 15:44

Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 15:44
The ARB warranty system requires them to approve each warranty claim. In this case they wanted to see the compressor which, in the middle of a trip, wasn't going to help me.

I was taking a bit of a risk because I thought ARB might knock it back or reduce the refund on the basis that the new compressor wasn;t exactly the same. eg. had the hose and clamps and box etc..

But they were more than fair - so I thought they deserved a small plug.
*grin*

- The Squid pole worked really well. 30 bucks and very easily stored - packs up to 1m long - extends to 5m.

Gaz
FollowupID: 342897

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 19:18

Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 19:18
Beatit,

For your squid pole try Compleat (yes it's spelt that way) Angler. Don't know if they exist in QLD but maybe call the Dandenong Store in Vic and find out who distributes, call the distibutor and find out who they supply in QLD.

The one from Compleat Angler is $30 for a 6m and $40 for a 7m. Beware of cheapies, under the load of swinging in the breeze they crack at the telescopic joins. Not worth saving $10 or $15.

Perhaps CA can do you a mail order?

FollowupID: 342916

Follow Up By: beatit - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 09:42

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 09:42
Thanks Jim, will give them a call.
FollowupID: 342951

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 16:28

Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 16:28
Good result mate. Along with my success today, my belief in humankind has been given a nice little boost!
AnswerID: 84014

Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 12:03

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 12:03
I got the toolbox with cutout switch and gauge ARB compressor. The first one I bought failed straight out of the box. It would blow the fuse straight away. However if you removed the black inspection plate and moved the internals by hand (freeing it as it seemed to be siezed) it would work fine. However you had to do it each time you wanted to use it if you let it cool down between uses.

I rang my usual ARB store (closest to me) and they said the best they could do was to return it to Head Office (or the factory or wherever) to be checked but if I took it back to where I bought it from they could swap it over the counter.

So I went back to the place I bought it from (bit of a hike but they had them for an absolute steal) and they swapped it over the counter. No questions asked and didn't even want to see the receipt. They also tested the new one for me.

I was happy.
AnswerID: 84105