Goodyear Wrangler MTR's...and surprise warranty claim!
Submitted: Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 15:45
Member - Chris M (QLD)
Gday all once again,
I rotated my tyres last night, trying to be a little more responsible with my tyres this time.
Goodyear told me to rotate every 5000 k's and balance and align every 10. So last night having done around 5,500 on the MTR's, I swapped them over, just back to front and vice versa. On my way to work this morning I was a little surprised to see and feel the steering wheel shuddering side to side in my hand. Very uncomforatble and offputting.
So I gave the local goodyear tyre centre a burl (Goodyear Strathpine) and asked if they could squeeze me in today to have a balance done. To cut a long story short, the manager came out and took me out to see what needed to be done to stop the wobble. 5 weights were on the front left passenger alloy. He said that many other shops may just leave it at that, but he wasn't happy. During the construction of that one tyre, it had binded in one spot and caused a 'heavy' spot in the tyre.
Not only am I getting a new 285/75/15 MTR tomorrow under warranty, but todays balance was free of charge! Now hows that for service! Not only an awesome tyre in all conditions, but great service as
well.
So if your out this way, and up for a set up tyres, shoot out and see Shaun, he's the one that helped me, so I have no troubles in recommending them.
On a side point, the change over took 20 minutes, used a 12 volt wheel nut tool, simply awesome! I picked
mine up for $60, reckon it saves alot of time and energy.
Chris.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 16:16
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 16:16
That's great news Chris,
I'll be picking your brain in 12 months or so to see what sort of total distance you are getting from the MT/Rs, cos I reckon that's what my next set will be.
As for the 12v tool....I got one at a 4x4 show in
Adelaide a month or so ago. I thought the price of $65- that I paid was okay, but you managed a better price. Actually there were 3 different "shops" at that show all selling the same (Shen Tai....spelling????) unit and the prices ranged from $85- to $75- to $65-. The dearest ones were at the
shop closest to the front
gate and the further we went in, the cheaper they got!! Just goes to show, don't buy the first thing you see.
Cya mate.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 16:21
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 16:21
Thanks mate.
Second set of MTR's now, had 33 x 12.5's and they were great. On the GQ I got 58,000 k's and had approximately 35% tread remaining. Was expecting about 80-85 thousand k's out of the tyres. And that was not rotating them regularly.
As for paying money, I have been nicknamed "never pay full price" by my mates for the last 5 years.
Don't hesitate to contact me when you need the new set and we'll see how the newbies are going.
Cheers mate,
Chris.
Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 17:40
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 17:40
evenig
for those in melb looking for 1 of these 12v impact wrenches Repco xmas catalogue $49.95 save $20
might have to invest myself
sorry brand AC PRO
Reply By: Member - Clive G (WA) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 18:10
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 18:10
Yep, Im not surprised, Ive been going to to goodyear around the corner from me for quite sometime,as I have 2 4wd and recently had tyres put on both , Im very pleased with the service, the discounts they give me and the follow up
services that is always offered to me, they even rotate my tyres at no charge,
dont think I would go anywhere else
Clive
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 18:13
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 18:13
The other interesting thing Clive is that Goodyear will do the logbook service as
well for less than half the cost...and they do repack the wheel bearings! Stamp ya book and your away to the nearest dealer to spend the money you saved...seriously thinking about changing.
Reply By: Top Cat - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 18:35
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 18:35
Its pleasing to hear that they appear to have done the right thing by you..........however you now have a problem..............You see I believe they should have given you 2 new tyres as the 2 on the front have differing amounts of wear on them..........and that is something that would annoy the hell out of me.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 09:26
Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 09:26
Thanks mate.
It's a known fact that the left front passenger tyre cops the most beating out of any tyre on the vehicle.
Just means I'll have better traction on that one side! ;-)
Reply By: Bryan (WA) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 23:34
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 23:34
Hi Chris,
great to hear the excellent warrenty support.
I am due to replace my BFG AT's that have done over 100K with still about 10-15% tread on them..
I was thinking of putting on Cooper ST's or the ST-C's as a friend has them and off road they are excellent..
What sort is your driving pattern like?? 70% road 30% off road? and what are they like for self cleaning mud from the grooves??
It sounds like the MTR's might be worth a look..
thanks for your feedback
Bryan
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 09:45
Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 09:45
Gday Bryan,
As I said to Roachie above, did about 58 thousand k's in the 33 x 12.5 MTR's and had around 35-40% tread remaining.
The car is 8 weeks old, it's in for it's 10,000k service today. That gives you some idea at least as to how much driving I do. 250k's a week is city, the rest if mainly highway and offroad. I investigate and take photographs of accident sites as part of my business, so I have alot of accidents where there is a dispute in liability and occur offroad ie. my last one was in the
Byfield Forestry at Yepoon in the massive sandhills.
I've had both MTR's and BFG mudders. Would not go back to BFG's again, soley for their wet road performance and braking. The tyres seem to clean quite
well when in the mud, and are great in the sand (as any lowered pressure tyre is).
Good luck mate.
Chris.
Follow Up By: Bryan (WA) - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 18:46
Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 18:46
Hi Chris,
thanks for the extra info.
What is the load rating for them as it isnt listed on the goodyear website?
I do like the fact they are a triple ply side wall like the BFG's,, I'll ahve to do some ringing around and compare prices.
bryan
Reply By: Joe - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 13:49
Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 13:49
I have just swapped Cooper STT for set of MT'R's on my 120 series prado and it;s like I have a new vehicle. Noise level is very minor issue where the coopers was like driving on cattle grids, handling is also far better.I only trust that they are not a compromise in muddy slippery conditions as STT did perform in those condtions
Good to hear that service is of high standard.
Joe