Diesel Prices vs Petrol

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 22:22
ThreadID: 17748 Views:5369 Replies:15 FollowUps:26
Hi Guys,

I don't want to start more arguments (discussions ;) but I'm on the verge of buying a new Patrol. I had not given the slightest thought to a Petrol unit, until a couple of days ago. (Thanks Go-offroad for making my decision difficult ;)

I have read the major thesis on the topic linked below - all 34 pages.

34 page discussion on Petrol vs Diesel

I've also read the NRMA report that states a 4.8 Petrol Patrol costs $3 per week more over 5 years than a 4.2 TD Patrol. (Assuming 15,000km year. Petrol $253.46 p/week vs Diesel $250.49 p/week) Note: both these vehicles cost about $38 per week more than the 3.0TD at $212 p/week.

For links: NRMA Vehicle Operating costs over 5yrs.

For me the main advantage of the Diesel has always been the fuel efficiency, but if the overall costs are almost the same, then the vastly more powerful (and torquey) petrol engine would be preferable. (Not to mention the slick 5 speed auto, that can handle 3.5 tonnes)

Now to my question finally - what the heck is going on with Diesel prices? Over the last few days on the Gold Coast the price difference has been around 17c per litre. ULP 91c Diesel $1.08. Tonight this was the price (give or take 1 cent) at 5 different stations. It was also the price a couple of nights ago when I filled up. (ULP ;) The difference is often 10 or more cents per litre around here.

Can we expect this to continue, or will Diesel come back to similar rates to ULP again? This issue will effect to some degree my purchase of Petrol or Diesel.

Thanks guys, I seriously appreciate all the helpful info. you've been providing.

Aaron.

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 23:40

Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 23:40
It is a very complex question....Petrol or diesel?

The new digital vehicles(as I call them) are far more superior to the vehicles of the the last century. They are more fuel efficient, more powerful and more complex. There are virtually no more quick fixes on the side of the road using bush mechanics techniques.

In the past petrol engines had a normal running life of under 400,000km before a rebuild was necessary whilst diesel engines could surpass the 500,000km mark before needing attention. Petrol engines were easier to rebuild at a relatively low cost whereas diesel engines cost a lot more to rebuild.

My reason for driving a diesel vehicle is that diesel is more readily available in remote parts of this country and that with a diesel engine under stress in remote and difficult terrain the fuel consumption should be better than that of a petrol engined vehicle.

The fuel prices are unexplainable. I read somewhere recently about the breakdown of the price of Unleaded fuel at 97c/l:
9c GST
5c Reseller margin
38c Govt Excise
45c Oil producer

So if diesel is an average of 10c more expensive only the government and the producer wins. The resellers margin will probably still remain at 5c. It is difficult to figure these things out. LPG has also gone through the roof and considering that gas is the last item to be produced from 'refining' a unit of crude oil one has to wonder why. Some years ago the oil producers were burning the gas to get rid of it. In 2006 the government is going to increase the tax on LPG.

AnswerID: 84063

Reply By: sean - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 06:47

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 06:47
Aaron.
It is a difficult question and one that many people would not even consider. But I know people that after having owned diesels would never own another.

With the wide availability of petrol in remote locations, and the high cost of diesel, I think it is becoming very difficult not to consider the 4.8 given that the TD6 is such a dog. But if running costs is important, then the 3 litre is a clear winner I think.

At least when you do make your decision, you know you will have considered all options.

Sean
AnswerID: 84070

Reply By: Billy - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 07:24

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 07:24
Hi Fusion,

Yes, interesting question..IMHO it depends a lot on your intended use.

The Economy argument is one that the 3.0Di should win hands down these days with 10K service intervals and no need for regular tappet adjustments like the older diesels. I'd find it hard to believe the service costs are greatly different to the 4.8. even if there is a reasonable price differential in the fuel. I have seen highway economy of low 10L/100Km in mine even with slightly larger tyres.

On the other hand a diesel is noiser, smellier and generally less refined to drive than the Petrol around town and on the highway.

For mine the difference comes down to fuel availability where you want to travel and more importantly fuel RANGE. Obviously a 3.0Di will go a lot further on standard tanks than a 4.8, but if you have the ability to carry exta fuel or it's available in the places you go then it's not a problem.

Then there are the isses of power and Auto towing capacity.

Really, if you don't need fuel RANGE or have availability concerns, want more power and Auto towing capacity, it's pretty hard to go past the 4.8.

Regds

AnswerID: 84073

Follow Up By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 08:38

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 08:38
With one big exception Billy - the 4.8 fuel consumption skyrockets when towing. A couple of months ago 4WD Monthly did a write up on a trip they did on the black top between Sydny and Melbourne towing a car trailer with a Suzi on it. The big 4.8, while doing the job effortlessly, returned (I think) and average 30plus litres per 100. In sand it uses up to 39L/100km - I don't know of any diesel that will more than double its normal consumption rate like the 4.8 petrol (and for that matter most petrols) does.
FollowupID: 342948

Follow Up By: flappan - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 09:20

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 09:20
I don't dispute the figures , cause I have a 4.5 Petrol , and I know what it "Can" do , but , when the mags start putting up these sort of figures as though they are normal , and happens everyday . . . I wonder.

I have seen mags report fuel use in sand of 50l per 100k's.

I would suggest this though.

Firstly , they DONT pay for their own fuel , its not THEIR vehicle , and so they aren't interested in keeping costs down.

My 4.5 gets about 15 or 16/100 highway , and between 18 & 22/100 towing my CT. That is at the legal limit always.

I can back off 10 kmh , and reduce fuel costs substantially . . . but I don't.

I dont for one second suggest that the Petrol can be us frugal on fuel as the diesel , but , just dont take Mags fuel figures as gospel , check with the owners of these things that DO pay for fuel.
FollowupID: 342949

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 10:25

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 10:25
Hi Patrol 22 ,in a petrol you can at lest get out of the sand .go for the petrol patrol
regards uppy
FollowupID: 347167

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 07:28

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 07:28
diesel is $1.15 in SA
AnswerID: 84074

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 08:07

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 08:07
diesel round here has been 10c a litre dearer than petrol the last few weeks.......

And crackles from here ran a big desert trip recently, and had a V6 prado 120 series grande on the trip, which averaged 13lt per 100km driving in the sand.

A caravan mag did a test recently also on petrol and diesel prado for towing, and found the V6 would be cheaper by about $2000 over 100,000km to run.

Having said that, money isnt everything, and the petrol is certainly much more pleasant to drive, fill at the servo, etc.
AnswerID: 84078

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 21:09

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 21:09
Darren,

There is in my mind no question that Petrols work out cheaper in the long run when ALL factors are taken into consideration. The bonus of more power and torque, driveability etc is a boon.

Now I don't want to call Crackle's mate an embellisher, but 13l/100km on sand? Can't wear that.

My vehicle is similar size, power etc to the Prado and it chews way more than that on sand. The only way I could achieve that on sand would be touring along the hard packed stuff near the water at 60 kmh.

FollowupID: 343011

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 21:47

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 21:47
Cant wear it?????

The fact you must of got the wrong vehicle you mean?

There was the whole convoy at the servo when they filled to compare figures, so perhaps you should take it up with them, rather than accuse me of lying Jimbo.......

Oh, and just so you know, i dont think there is any hard packed sand near any water........ in the desert............
FollowupID: 343012

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 21:57

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 21:57
There's been lot of rain in Big Desert recently.
FollowupID: 343014

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 22:18

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 22:18
Darren,

Read it again, I never called you an embellisher (have a careful look at my response).

I never suggested there is water on the sand in the desert, simply said you could only achieve those figures on hard packed sand.

I think you mean "you must HAVE got the wrong vehicle". Don't understand your issue with other people's choice of vehicle. Anyway, that's up to you, and always you keep us entertained.

FollowupID: 343018

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 06:23

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 06:23
Good to see your getting the hang of this Jimbo ;-)

FollowupID: 343026

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 22:54

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 22:54
Darren,

I love the "hang" of a 5 year, 130,000 km warranty.

Gives me immense peace of mind.

I guess that's why I chose the "wrong vehicle".

I'm happy.

FollowupID: 343080

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 23:00

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 23:00
I can see how "happy" you are, by the way you couldnt possibly believe another make of something you call "similar" to yours could actually perform better in some way, over your vehicle, which costs half as much.........

Minds are like parachutes, they only work when they are open.
FollowupID: 343081

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 15:58

Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 15:58
Never suggested it was better or worse than anything else, just said I was happy with it.

As for open minds, your belief that if it's not a Toyota it's no good, is a lesson for us all in open mindedness. As always we can learn from the Great Teacher.

I sincerely apologise for not buying a Toyota, and will correct this sin in future. Furthermore I will never again suggest that my car suits me, you know far better and I will never question you again, Oh Great One.
FollowupID: 343103

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 16:17

Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 16:17
Nice try Jimbo, but again youve tried a chubby checker by twisting what is happening, and forgetting what you have posted in the thread already

"Now I don't want to call Crackle's mate an embellisher, but 13l/100km on sand? Can't wear that.

My vehicle is similar size, power etc to the Prado and it chews way more than that on sand."

If thats not comparing your car to others, regardless of price, then I dont know what is....... but not only are you saying yours should get the same fuel economy as a car worth twice as much, you go as far as to brand people as liars, because your car, in your opinion wont do the same thing.

In future you may do better to take on some factual data from others, rather than set the world by your own thoughts and standards which seem to be inconsistant from post to post.
FollowupID: 343104

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 16:41

Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 16:41
I've already apologised to you Your Mightiness.

I will never question you again, you are the font of all knowledge. It is not possible that you could ever be wrong.

All hail The Great One.
FollowupID: 343108

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 16:57

Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 16:57
And your still twisting the thread away with what has been said "chubby jimbo checker"

All you apologised for was not buying a toyota, and as we all know, that apology should be to yourself, for that....................
FollowupID: 343110

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 17:17

Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 17:17
Darren,

I will put it to you a simply as I can. My budget ran to $40K and I wanted a new car with some nice stuff included, it needed low range, reasonable off road ability, mid size, petrol engine, auto trans, good performance, ability to tow a reasonable load etc.

This narrowed the field down to Kia Sorento, Suzuki XL7 and Terracan. I chose the Terracan. I didn't even bother to drive the Prado because in the form I wanted it was $60K. At $40k I would have been looking at a Prado or Patrol around 3-4 years old, plenty of km and out of warranty. The Terracan offers me a 5yr 130,000 km warranty. At the end of my 4 year lease it will still have a year to go.

All independent information is that the Prado IS a better car than than the Terracan and I have never questioned that.

The Terracan suited my criteria and has served me well. The only reason I report on it is to let people know that there is a cheaper alternative out there which is actually a lot better than it is perceived to be.

I don't want to bicker with you anymore, it serves no purpose. All jokes aside it is clear you do have considerable knowledge and experience. I would rather engage in constructive conversation with you in future. It is clear we have personalities that have a tendency to clash but that does not mean we have to in the future.

Life is too short to fight with people we don't even know.

Best Wishes,

FollowupID: 343111

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 17:21

Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 17:21
Its OK chubby jimbo checker, you dont have to explain.................

All you have done is made what you do even more obvious, if thats possible.

And I certainly didnt see this as 'fighting' as you put it, it was simply a discussion from this side.
FollowupID: 343112

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 17:34

Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 17:34
Well at least I can be happy in the knowledge that I tried. I thought it would probably be a waste of time, and it was.

Your pleasure gained from being in constant conflict eludes me.

Anyway, that's your choice.

FollowupID: 343113

Reply By: D-Jack - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 11:30

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 11:30
I have noticed in Adelaide over the past 6 years (up until recently) that Diesel and Petrol were roughly the same price, but at different times. By that I mean, petrol may be up to say 98c one week, and Diesel $1.10. Then over the period of a couple of weeks, petrol will rise to $1.10, and diesel down to $1.00. Seems to me that Diesel prices follow petrol prices by a week or two, a time lag if you like. I noticed this regularly as I said over the past 6 years. But recently with the skyrocketing price of both, the diesel is consitantly at least 10c over the petrol. Given diesel is easier and cheaper to refine, I would love to know how much the governement pockets out of it.

Made me think too, if diesel stays at least 10% more expensive, that would maybe be the minimim extra fuel economy you would get out of a diesel of the same car (eg v6 vs 3.0 4cyl TD jackaroo), and given the extra initial costs of a T/D (Just look at landcruisers!) then may have to rethink next vehicle.

D-Jack
AnswerID: 84104

Reply By: Des Lexic - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 12:06

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 12:06
I have no idea why the price of diesel is so high at $1.16 here at present but when you consider the production cost is substantially cheaper to produce than ULP, you must wonder if we are being ripped off or not. I can guarantee one thing though. The government will do Zipp about it as they are creaming in the extra revenue. It may have something to do with the fact that trucking companies and primary producers get rebates and claim back GST so their costs are tempered a bit while the 4WD fraternity who use diesel get screwed again.
Just my cynical opinion.
AnswerID: 84106

Follow Up By: Member- Peter & Mrs Peter, Lez - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 16:32

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 16:32
Not cynical at all, just the plain TRUTH.
FollowupID: 347200

Reply By: Tellem Bugrem - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 12:13

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 12:13
G'day all,

Refer to Japmel posting on this site "100 series Landcruiser" for more discussion on this subject. The main advantage in a diesel as I see it, is the effectiveness of using gears for braking going down steep hills, plus they have more torque and are more fuel efficient. Further, fuel handling/transfer is safer and you're not likely to be stalked by sniffers in the outback.

What I want to know is why diesel is only 75% of the price of ULP in every other country bar Australia??

Mr. Howard may have the answer.

Cheers....................Rob
AnswerID: 84108

Reply By: beatit - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 14:40

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 14:40
Coming fron another angle here, in a previous working life I had dealings with a fellow who was involved in the oil industry (actually owned a well) - he told me that diesel is more expensive due to opportunity cost. That is, the crude oil being used for diesel requires very little refinening and therefore produces less by-products that can be sold - meaning they have to charge more for diesel to make the same money. Now this guy was no idiot but I'm open to corrections.

AnswerID: 84118

Reply By: LPGPete - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 15:59

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 15:59
G'day Fusion,

Recently on the msn caravanners forum there was a diesel Vs gas "discussion", where I was able to extract some real numbers (from www.justcruisin.bigpondhosting.com) over an 18,000 Km trip from Adelaide to Darwin, over to Broom, Perth, Albany and back to Adelaide - from June to October this year with a 4.5L ST Patrol converted to LPG towing a 21Ft Jayco Heritage van. See the calculations below - the vehicle choice being considered was a 4.5L Patrol dual fuel at $40K Vs 4.2L TD at $55K ...

"G'day again Baygypsy,

This is fascinating - and I read with interest Mick & Sally's (JustCruisin) response as I was an avid follower of their recent "Big One" - especially as I bought a '99 4.5 Patrol Ti at 88K Km to pull my (ordered) Jayco Heritage like theirs, and had it converted to LPG, but unlike JustCruisin, had a long range petrol tank (75L) added to keep me out of trouble, rather than keeping the 37L sub tank. $36,000 converted, including electric brakes and HR WDH.

If you go to the web site and look at JustCruisin Trip Costs and Fuel Costs everywhere along the way (Adelaide/Darwin/Broome/Perth/Albany/Adelaide), you will see:
Avg LPG: $0.685/L
Avg Diesel: $1.19/L (and for interest, ULP $1.181)
Distance travelled on LPG 18,178 Km at average of 3.19 Km/L LPG at a cost of $3,988.
Diesel Km/L to equal this cost gives 5.4Km/L (3351L at $1.19)
NRMA road test on Patrol 4.2 TD (April, 2003) shows avg test diesel usage at 7.75 Km/L (12.9L/100Km) - unladen.
It is not unreasonable to assume with a 2T van on the back that consumption might drop to say 6.75Km/L.
If this were true, then over the 18,178Km, 2693 L of diesel would be used at $1.19/L equates to $3204 - a saving on the LPG of $783 for the trip.
BUT the diesel costs (as you say) $15,000 more to buy - so you will have to travel
(15,000/783) x 18,178 = 348,000 Km to get a payback!!!

The numbers tell a story, presuming the asumption of 6.75Km/L diesel with van is correct! If they were worse than that, the payback would be even longer. Interesting what?

When I purchased the Patrol Ti (and I like the comforts it offers over the ST) I calculated I would need to drive 28K Km normal driving or 17K Km with a van to pay back the LPG conversion and long range petrol tank cost of $3,300 - and anything above that is money in the bank!"

While "JustCruisin" had to use petrol on a few occasions, notably when it got too hot for the LPG to load(!), LPG would seem to offer a level of fuel economy - and in my own Patrol Ti, I really can't notice the difference when driving - and as mentioned, I've added a 75L Petrol tank in place of the sub tank to give extra range when needed.

What do you think?

LPGPete
AnswerID: 84123

Follow Up By: Fusion - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 16:25

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 16:25
LPGPete,

You're killing me. Just when I think I'll go Diesel, you come back at me with a real beauty. I've been looking into Petrol with LPG conversion for the last couple of days. I'm leaving right now to go and test drive the Petrol, which I haven't driven before.

I'll let you know how I go.....

Aaron.
FollowupID: 342992

Follow Up By: gonebush - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 17:41

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 17:41
"BUT the diesel costs (as you say) $15,000 more to buy - so you will have to travel
(15,000/783) x 18,178 = 348,000 Km to get a payback!!!

That is true assuming that the petrol and diesel have the same residual value some time down the track, and therefore you have lost the $15,000 price difference. That is not necessarily the case because if both vehicles were looked after equally, the diesel would be worth more than the petrol, and this is how it happens in real life Therefore the 'break even' kms are a lot less than 348,000.

Servicing costs also come into it (higher for the diesel normally) so a 'whole of life' costing is the only objective way to make a relative and valid costs comparison.
FollowupID: 343001

Follow Up By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 09:25

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 09:25
Don't forget to factor in the "availability" problem for LPG and now increasingly ULP in many outback places. It is one thing if you are staying on the black top towing a caravan - most larger towns will have LPG but don't expect to get LPG on Cape York and other like remote places.
One other thing (and I may have misread some of these posts) but the big benefit of diesel is that your maximum torque is available at much much much lower RPM.
Pete
FollowupID: 343034

Follow Up By: LPGPete - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 11:04

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 11:04
G'day Gone Bush and Patrol22,

You both make very valid points indeed ...

If the difference in re-sale was say $10,000 i.e. a cost difference of only $5,000 (rather than $15,000 in my example) after taking off the extra service costs of the diesel (and I'm being fairly generous here), the payback would require only 116,000 Km.

It's a pity, but for some reason the comforts of the Ti (for old bones - and the same goes for Cruisers) are not offered in the diesel models, but if they were and money wasn't an option, then it'd be diesel every time - but second hand diesels are a bit hard to find, 'cause mostly those who have 'em love 'em.

Cheers to all.

LPGPete
FollowupID: 343189

Reply By: madlee - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 19:54

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 19:54
aaron. I have had my diesel 4runner for 12 mths.went for diesel for economy.Living in brisbane I know the problem of fuel prices.We get variations of over 15 cents per litre more for diesel(why????).with that,for comparison from my vehicles,my previous car was a toyota bundera,2.4 petrol,(they have almost full hilux running gear).city driving consumption was 430km on 70litres.2.8 diesel 4runner is getting 530km on 55 litres.With the increased fuel prices it still costs me on average $55-$60 per fill. As for NRMA or anyone else,running costs of a vehicle
take into account servicing cost,which for most diesels are every 5000km,petrol every 10000km.Because diesels are serviced more often obviously running costs are going to be higher.As for choosing what to buy,that depends on whether you want quick acceleration or strong pulling power.example,my bundy was very fast but I did trip across the Simpson Desert with a troppy.On the way up the Toowoomba range from bris I could not keep up.Hills really killed it,particularly with loads.
To fuel prices I think you will have to talk to Little Johnny about that one.
pete.

AnswerID: 84151

Reply By: Chaz - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 20:37

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 20:37
Hi Fusion,

Just something to consider, but I've found the price of diesel doesn't increase so much out of town and in some cases it's been cheaper. I have seen LPG almost double in some remote areas and ULP increase by almost 50%.

My last 4by was on Gas with 5.2 litre V8 motor and now I have a 3.0 litre Patrol. Running costs around town are almost the same, but in remote areas the diesel wins hands down.

Chaz
AnswerID: 84154

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 21:49

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 21:49
Did you work out a % of "out of town" km?

Then its a simple sum for the extra cost.
FollowupID: 343013

Follow Up By: Chaz - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 22:16

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 22:16
No,

I was just refering to the percentage difference in the price of fuel between the city and country servo's. For instance, Iv'e seen diesel in Adelaide for 97c/L and on the same day it was 93c in Yunta, when ULP was 94c and 99c in Yunta. But this is not always the case.
FollowupID: 343017

Reply By: Fusion - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 01:10

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 01:10
O.K. - so I took both the 3.0TD Auto (again) and the 4.8 Auto for a drive this afternoon.

Oh boy, that petrol engine is a thing of beauty, the acceleration is fantastic. I've read somewhere under 11 seconds to 100km/h and I'd believe it. In one run through reasonably heavy traffic, I used that power 3 times to get into or out of the traffic when I wanted to, rather than when I was 'able' to.

The 3.0TD is another beast altogether. I described it as a more sedate way of life to the Nissan guy with me. They are both very smooth, with little noise in the cabin. Based on engine noise in the cabin I'm not sure you could tell which version you were driving. It only became obvious when you touched the go pedal. (very obvious!)

Even though I looove the power of the Petrol, I'm leaning towards the TD. With a D-Tronic in the Diesel they both produce the exact same about of Torque. 420Nm - 4.8 at 3600rpm, 3.0 at 2000rpm. So I expect the TD to perform offroad, even if it doesn't on the road.

The range and fuel efficiency is what is tipping me towards the TD. (The TD also costs much less over 5yrs according to NRMA - but that didn't include converting it to LPG) We hope to get outback fairly regularly (maybe twice per year for 1mth at a time) and we do some decent KM's up and down the east coast. I love the thought of being able to drive 1200+ km without refueling. Using LPG in the Petrol would require a stop every 400k's on the highway, much less off it.

Latest deal I have from Nissan includes everything from my last post +
Hard spare wheel cover (stainless steel)
rear floor tray (plastic)
Cargo Barrier (Milford) about $1150 worth RRP all up.

Patrol ST-S 3.0 TD, Auto - $53,788 on the road.
Inc. Cruise control
Tow Pack,
Carpets front and back
Headlight and bonnet protector.

Silver with black interior in Alcantara - a new synthetic suede type material. (supposedly dirt and moisture resistant, and won't wear like natural material)
I also plan to trade the bridgestones for Cooper ATR's right away. (90,000km warranty). The rest of the mods will have to wait until next year when we plan to really get away.

All up about $10,000 less than RRP on the road.

I'm still not decided but I hope to be by next week. I've been leaning this way and that on the TD vs Petrol all week. Thanks for your help so far, and I'll keep you posted.
AnswerID: 84182

Follow Up By: Savvas - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 15:54

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 15:54
"Oh boy, that petrol engine is a thing of beauty, the acceleration is fantastic. I've read somewhere under 11 seconds to 100km/h and I'd believe it"

3.5 Petrol Jackaroo ... 9.8secs to 100k. Fantastic in traffic.

But unlikely to tow as well as the 4.8 Patrol.
FollowupID: 343054

Reply By: Wazza (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 12:00

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 12:00
Wish we had the fuel prices that they have in Venezuela. Only 3c per litre (yep, three US cents). You can't find many diesel cars over there. Just cheap fuel and beautiful women.

Global Fuel Prices
AnswerID: 84205

Reply By: Kata - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 02:15

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 02:15
Fusion,

I was reading the discussion on your choice between diesel and petrol..

Very interesting responses

So what did you choose???

Kon
AnswerID: 88292

Follow Up By: Fusion - Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 09:28

Saturday, Dec 11, 2004 at 09:28
Hi Kon,

I finally chose the 3.0TD. As I mentioned in the post the significant difference in TCO (Total Cost of Ownership) between the 3.0 and 4.8 was important, as was the touring range, and fuel consuption, expecially when towing.

When I added it all up, those features were more important than the power of the 4.8 when I put my foot down, and my towing needs won't go beyond about 1.5 tonnes, well below either vehicles limit.

So my new Silver ST-S 3.0TD should be ready next week.

Aaron.
FollowupID: 347162