NATIONAL GET-TOGETHER

Submitted: Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 09:41
ThreadID: 17818 Views:2134 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
Below is a post on the idea of a national get-together if you are interested register so as to get an idea of the numbers and whether it can be done.

If you think 06 is better then say it when you register.

Reply By: Well 55 - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 10:20

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 10:20
G'day Baz, it's a good idea to have a national gathering, but I was wondering whether it would be better to lean a bit more towards the west, say the Alice, that would give it a more of a central meeting point.

Otherwise a great idea.
AnswerID: 84401

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 10:35

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 10:35
I thought of that maybe birdsville would be easier for WA and Tassie members & visiters to get too but it is a draft so to speak at the moment and any suggestion would be greatfull in in a definate date and location.
FollowupID: 343186

Reply By: Noosa Bushtrackers - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 17:34

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 17:34
Having been involved in choosing the location of where we would hold our Bushtracker Caravan rallies for the last 2 years, the 1st was at Cania Gorge QLD with 23 vans, and the one this September was at Copeton Dam, near Inverell NSW with 67 vans. (Able to handle a large number of camps, and staff are very helpful with group booking discounts.)

I think that any rally has to be at a caravan park so as to be able to handle Hygiene needs of a large number of people. We had considered outback locations but there are not many places that can handle large numbers of people. At Birdsville they would have everything well organised for September Races, but may not be able to cope the rest of the time. 4WD organisations promote the Tread Lightly theme and a group like this would want to promote our respect for the outback as well.

Just something to keep in mind.
Doing it tuff, Towing a Bushtracker.

AnswerID: 84463

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 19:25

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 19:25
As a carry on to the post above, perhaps check with Ruth at Birdsville to see how many in July the caravan park can handle???

Baz, I have replied on the trip gathering page, 05 suits us at this stage although work committments msay come into it. I will know definitely way ahead of time though.
AnswerID: 84482

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 08:42

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 08:42
I mem msg Ruth yesterday at work to see if it would be plausible if anyone else can contact her it would help as i don't have her personal number failing this another place that could handle alot of campers and vans and has to be as central as possible of coarse as Mad Dog said it can be held at different places and if you miss out this year always next year after all i'm hoping this could be a permanent yearly event.

FollowupID: 343267

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 20:23

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 20:23
Baz,

Love the self portrait mate behind the Gatling gun. The date you give us is difficult at financial year end and start.............
AnswerID: 84491