Noise I noticed low in the rpms - GU Patrol 4.2 TDI

Submitted: Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 13:23
ThreadID: 17824 Views:3892 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Gday all,

On the weekend, I was towing my camper through the ranges of Mt Tamborine, Toowoomba, out to Millmerran, back up to Gatton, then out to Wivanhoe, through Mt Glorious, through Samford and home.

When stopped on a hill turning a corner (not even close to full lock) I noticed a noise if I didn't slightly rev the motor to take off from standing start. If the revs dropped below say 500rpms, and I put my foot down a noise that would match a timber chair sliding on a timber floor came through the floor of the cab. I just wondered whether that's the clutch making a noise, or something else? Doesn't last that long, maybe 1/2 to 1 second, once the revs are up, no noise.

With the extra horsies I'm pushing through the drivetrain, do you think the clutch doesn't like it and subsequently getting a noise as listed above? I've given my clutch 20 or 30 thousand before it gives up the ghost and a safari jobby goes in.

On a side point, it's a beautiful drive through the ranges of Mt Tamborine, Mt Glorious etc but watch the hoons through Mt Glorious, WRX's, Ferraris, Boxters and motorbikes, all cutting the corners.

Thanks for your help, look forward to hearing from you!

Chris.

Reply By: Well 55 - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 13:56

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 13:56
It could be the gearbox rattle, same as most GU's in low revs. Mine does it.
AnswerID: 84429

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 14:31

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 14:31
Gday Well55

Know of the ol' noises in the trols, driven and worked on them for a while now, this is one noise though that has me a little miffed.

Thanks anyway mate!

Chris.
FollowupID: 343204

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 14:06

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 14:06
Hi Chris

No idea about your problem, clutch sudder maybe. I love that area too. My folks are up in the hinterland around Mt Tamborine and I grew up out The Gap near mt Glorious and spent many days on the bike on the wrong side of the corner, all the way out to fernwood.... makes for a better drive heading out that way vs the centenury freeway.
Adam
AnswerID: 84430

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 14:33

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 14:33
Gday again Crazie,

That's what I thought, but don't you feel the shudder through the pedal, and a different noise to what I described above?

Tamborine, Glorious, all beautiful spots! Only good thing about the centenary highway is better fuel economy and shorter!

Thanks mate,

Chris.
FollowupID: 343205

Reply By: sevo - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 16:09

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 16:09
Gday Chris,
the noise that you have described sounds to me like a dry spigot bearing. but without actually hearing noise its hard.can you reproduce noise any time or does it come and go?
AnswerID: 84449

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 16:12

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 16:12
Yes I can. By allowing the revs to drop enough and putting foot down and putting the motor under load, it will make that noise.
FollowupID: 343218

Reply By: sevo - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 17:25

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 17:25
Gday chris,
sounds like spigot ,take to nissan for verification.
AnswerID: 84462

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 08:33

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 08:33
Steve,

It wouldn't be the clutch plate seating in would it? As for the spigot, why would it be dry?

Chris.
FollowupID: 343265

Follow Up By: sevo - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 12:52

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 12:52
Gday chris,
The spigot on your patrol is a sintered bush. it is not common for them to fail. Im just offering my opinion , but if i could here the noise i could be more accurate. the clutch should not make any noise unless its faulty in some way, best bet is to pop down to nissan for inspection as its under warranty and no cost to you.
FollowupID: 343294

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:00

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:00
Thanks Steve...maybe not under warranty with my mods!

I'll go and have a chat with them.

Why can't you live in Brisbane! ;-)
FollowupID: 343296

Follow Up By: sevo - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:14

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:14
Chris,
let me know how you go , i my be able to help.
FollowupID: 343299

Reply By: sean - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 17:49

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 17:49
Sounds like the chain in the transfer case. I think the noise you describe is pretty much normal for patrols and more noticeable on the 4.2 at low revs.

Sean
AnswerID: 84471

Reply By: Member Steve & Lorraine Mc - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:10

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:10
G-day Chris Im having the same problem sounds like a dry pilot bearing soon as I drop the clutch in a hurry with a few revs, it mainly happens on a steep hill in reverse also, let me know how you get on??
Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 84563

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:16

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:16
Ok Steve...I'll try and get out there this well!
FollowupID: 343300

Reply By: Austravel - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:36

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:36
As said in other posts sounds like the spigot bush. Just had mine done under warrenty. Mine was grumbly when sitting idling with clutch out, push in clutch or start to drive and the noise went.
AnswerID: 84565