Off the air...why???
Submitted: Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 22:33
Member - Roachie (SA)
EO seems to have been down for a while....any ideas why???
Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 22:35
Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 22:35
It was broken
Reply By: The Explorer - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 22:47
Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 22:47
Seems pretty happy to me:)
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Reply By: fisho64 - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 22:51
Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 22:51
Flat battery
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 23:22
Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 23:22
Bill was not you alone, I had problems for awhile also.
Must have been broke and now it's fixed. NFI why.
Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 23:27
Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 23:27
It would appear that the Database went Kaput. (Technical term!)
Any parts of the site powered by a database such as
Forum or Trader or
Members list were returning no records for a while.
Muddy
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 23:34
Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 23:34
David must be trying to run it on Toyota parts
Reply By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 00:36
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 00:36
The problems obviously in your computer (or mobile phone)
at least thats what optus or telstra would tell you! even when Bigpond crashed and it was in all the papers, it wasnt their problem!!
Reply By: Moneypit - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 02:01
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 02:01
I think that what the issue may have been was the isolator for the battery was kaput. There have been so many links about ways to wire up the dual battery system that the brain of the auto sparkie exploded.
the rapid movement of his turbo charged right arm and hand in an attempt at catching the exploded mass was unsuccessful; the
grey matter just slimed through his fingers and fell to the ground. He nearly made it but the turbo fitted to his right arm was from a Series II GU Nissan and it just suddenly blew out a bucket load of white smoke and stopped. No warning.....nothing!!
He then had to climb down from a height not much lower than Ayers Rock [yes it is still Ayers Rock] to collect said exploded brain.Why so high you say; he was so bloody high up off the ground because the fourbie had the 6 inch lift, extended shockies and 38in Muddies fitted by ARB. Isn't that essential.
He had so far to go that to reach ground level that to get back up to the top he needed to fuel up his long range
tank with diesel.
To pay for filling up his long range he had to work for 3 hours [at 100 bucks an hour] for the garage owner [fitting 5 hiclones to the garage owners Landcruiser to make the 100 series petrol donk start PRODUCING fuel, not use it].
3 hours paid for his 230 litres of diesel and he returned to the task of collecting his exploded brain, put it together again with a piece of fencing wire and chewing gum provided by Willem, climbed back up the ladder and refited the isolator for the second battery. Once that had been done he attached the 3 phase charger to his battery, with an inline fuse and solar charger backup and provided sustenance to the power source for the
forum page.
2 hours later and we were all underway again, heading off to get a new deep cycle battery for the accessories we all have to have!!
Can't see what you blokes are concerned about. Bloody obvious I reckon!!
Well done Dave, amazed at how quick you got us back on. These blokes just don't understand!!
Dave B
Follow Up By: Yeah Mate - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 06:17
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 06:17
Top post, got a good giggle outta that one Moneypit
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 07:24
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 07:24
I like the way you think !!
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 09:15
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 09:15
Good one Dave! I believe it was a Server problem.
Wire and chewing gum............hah! But essential items to carry LOL
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 09:35
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 09:35
Dave, sounds a pretty viable explaination to me too and another Dave told me short hand that the server was down. You were obviously right but with a bit of a Bonz too of Toyota parts put in backwards. My server clogs up a couple of times a day from
Forum access to stands to reason
I hope the chewing gum was chewed first by Willie to get the right consistency............. Bit of the Top Hat too for additional choccy flavour.