Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 09:03
KARP
I have 2001 3lt turbo Jackaroo that i would like to lift. Can anyone tell me the best method and price of getting more ground clearance?
Also i have an issue with motor oil type and cost. What's the oil to use and what price per Lt
Reply By: Member - Nobby - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 09:18
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 09:18
Karp.. have a go on the jackaroo site(
http://wwwaustralia4wd.com). I'm sure you will get the answer you are looking for.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 09:19
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 09:19
Errr....yeh...no chance finding the answer here :-O
Leroy
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 09:37
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 09:37
Depends what you are trying to clear. It's no use putting in 3 inches of lift if you are hitting the diffs all the time which is what alot of people forget about. You can have as much lift as you want, but if you diff out, you are pretty much not going to go any further.
I'm no expert on Jackaroos, but I'm pretty sure ARB/TJM would do a nice lift of say 2 inches. Combine that with a larger tyre and your
well on your way to clearance. With tyres comes the need for compliance with QLD Transport laws (should you so deem that necessary), and the TD motor may suffer from asthma once the larger rubber is fitted, albiet that those 3LT Jacks are pretty quick. But this setup will cost you a pretty penny and don't expect too much change from $3,000 including tyres.
Oils, best talk to Holden and then
shop around for the best price.
Chris.
Reply By: flappan - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 10:11
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 10:11
From memory , On the Jack , its the gearbox that is the lowest point.
You can crank up the torsion bars to provide a bit of extra lift at the front , and or put new torsion bars in , and put lifted springs in the rear.
The only way you will get a decent amount of extra cleaance is to put bigger tyres on it, and the new/cranked torsion bars and new springs will help.
I think you can get the whole lot done (shocks, springs and bars) by OME , for around $1000 or so fitted.
Reply By: Savvas - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 10:41
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 10:41
Click here for a guide to oils in the Jackaroo TD 3.0.
For a lift, I spent about $950 getting an OME setup fitted which got me a 35mm lift at the front and about a 40mm lift at the rear. This is on a 2000 V6 Monterey. Include 4 shocks, 2 coils, cranking the front bars and a wheel alignment.
Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 11:09
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 11:09
Hi Karp
It depends on how much lift you want to get. New tryes like 265/75 will give you roughly 1.5 inch lift, but you might not need tyres. Lifts kits are as mentioned above, start at about $1000 to what ever you want to spend.
Adam
Reply By: damien - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 12:23
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 12:23
As has been mentioned, a lift of around 2 inches is easily attainable at a reasonable price. I've got a steel bar on the front of my Jack so i replaced the standard torsion bars, but you can just crank up the original bars.
Larger tyres will certainly help. Standard tyres are 245/70/16 - i run 245/75/16 but i believe 265/75/16 will fit (check your insurance though as this is a larger increase than is legally allowed).
As for the oil - go for 5w/30 or 5w/40. Holden originally recommended 15w/40 but then amended this to 5w or 10w. I run
Mobil Delvac1 fully synthetic - it costs a bit more ($200/20L) but imo is
well worth it
Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:26
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:26
Re the clearance Karp - if you have a look at how low the transfer case is, lifting the body seems less important to me than making the
wheels taller. You can clear a lot of obstacles in the Jack, but you always need to consider where that transfer is.
Mine is stock and will probably stay that way - I'm not into rock crawling. The transfer issue on the Jack is a pity - other makers have designs that find the bloody transfer damn near invisible !Re the oil, I use Castrol Magnatec 10W-40 in my 99 SE TD...... has been good to me and is usually $6 / L. The starting on that oil is good here in an SA winter, but I now have a 700CCA battery to spin it over (the aux battery is not invloved). I reckon the thinner oils (5-30 etc) should only be used for very cold climates. An alternative is Castrol Dynamx fully synthetic at 10W-40.....only comes in 20L drums....about $6/L......might be going back to that at some stage - my car was delivered running on that. BTW -I (and others) do the oil changes at 5k, with a main filter then also. The small filter is changed at 10k. Your choice.
Follow Up By: Robbg - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 14:50
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 14:50
Just regarding comments about oil, I'd like to start servicing my 3.5 litre petrol Jack myself.
Where's the dipstick for the auto trans? Can't find it for the life of me.
Also, do the auto and transfer case share the same fluid? I can't seem to locate drain and filler plugs for each.
Special thanks in advance to those who think that if I can't find these items I shouldn't be doing the servicing :-)
Rob.
Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 17:05
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 17:05
rob - the auto dipstick ? - there isn't one, check the oil level at the filler plug on the side of the box, if it ain't leaking underneath then its usually sweet. Trans case has seperate oil, look for the hex plugs 22 or 24 mm i think on the side of the box, depending on your
tools you may need to drop the bash plate off to get at em.
Mate as for your last comment - don't worry you know as much as the 'lube mechanics' the dealers have working for them. In Vic you only have to have one qualified mechanic in the whole workshop, the rest can be apprentices ,bleepekickers etc..
Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:51
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:51
You comment lobbed on my reply Rob - might have been better as a new reply !Re the servicing.......do it.....you have to start somewhere ! .... but sorry......my trusty steed is a diesel manual.
Follow Up By: Robbg - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:05
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:05
Sorry Banjo, didn't know yours was a manual - and you seemed to know a lot about Jacks.
Rob.
Follow Up By: Banjo (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:23
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:23
More like "there's heaps I don't know about Jacks"..... i just know what I've worked on ! .... and that's growing each month.....about to put some airlift poly bags into the back springs - that could be fun.
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 17:18
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 17:18
Alright, i have just done the said job to my jackaroo, Got a full EFS kit from Carrols springs at Campbellfield in Vic. Heavier rate coils-40mm longer , 4 shocks , 2 2.5mm thicker torsion bars. The rear came up exactly 40mm and the front bars were tensioned up to the same 40mm increase, leaving plenty of down travell in the front end. Cost me $1300 supplied and fitted , took them 3.5 hours , bit of stuffing around getting the bars right. Rides fantastic. I have a steel bar on the front and have had to tension up the front bars in the past so i knew they were going soft and wouldn't handle lifting it any higher, so i had to fit the torsion bars. otherwise you could knock off about $400 from that price.
The new tyres turned up (finally) and i am getting them fitted tomorrow, 265/75/16 MTR's , which will give about 1.5 inch extra lift as
well. Cost $1400 for the five, but they are trading
mine in for $200 - Sweet....
So extra 1.5 inches under the diff and an extra 3 inches to the trans case and exhaust 'y' pipe, for me -$2500 all up. Add about $280 - 300 for the speedo correction unit if wanted.
This is about as far as practical for a 'daily driver' / tourer, you can get a Calmini kit for the front end to go higher but this will cost $3000 on its own.
cheers Brad
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 17:15
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 17:15
just came in with the tape measure and the latest figures, the
suspension has settled down a little since fitment, as they all do, so these measurements should stay as is for a long time. - Check my latest post for details..