Service for a 100 series land cruiser

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:15
ThreadID: 17851 Views:4277 Replies:12 FollowUps:11
I am gettiung sick of paying top dollar to Toyota to do an average job in servicing my car. Can anyone recommend a decent service center in Nth Syd to get my vechile upto speed for the up coming break?

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:34

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:34
Gday mate,

I've just converted as well. Nissan did a fairly dodgy service on the Patrol last round, so I went and saw Goodyear. They do the log book services for half the price and guarantee their work. I will be taking mine there from now on. Nissan will still warrant any issues.

Chris.
AnswerID: 84578

Follow Up By: Swaine - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:58

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:58
Thanks Chris.
FollowupID: 343316

Reply By: TD6 - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:46

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:46
Swaine,

Petrol or Diesel ?
AnswerID: 84581

Follow Up By: Swaine - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:57

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:57
Sorry, Petrol
FollowupID: 343314

Reply By: Swaine - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:47

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:47
Petrol.
AnswerID: 84582

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:54

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:54
This club of people who are no longer paying first rate prices for fourth rate servicing (or first rate fraud) must be huge now - welcome !
AnswerID: 84584

Follow Up By: Swaine - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:56

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:56
Thanks Banjo, I agree it is "First Rate Fraud!"
FollowupID: 343313

Reply By: TD6 - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:55

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:55
Sorry can recommend Diesel only
AnswerID: 84585

Follow Up By: Swaine - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:57

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:57
Thanks anyway.

FollowupID: 343315

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:01

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:01
How's your beast going mate?
FollowupID: 343318

Follow Up By: TD6 - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:09

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:09
Briliant, no issues other than the console lid which Nissan replaced with a leather one. Couldn't be happier.
FollowupID: 343320

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:12

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:12
You too hey! Mine was replaced last Friday with the ST jobby. Apparently their in the process of reaching a figure with local businesses to repaint the lids with a warrany of 10 years.

I didn't even get halfway into my sentence when I rang Nissan..."Gday, just wanted to include in my service for someone to look at the centre console l..........................WE KNOW OF THE PROBLEM, WE'LL REPLACE IT! Oh....Ok....thanks....I think.

Must admit, nice and comfy to rest your arm on!
FollowupID: 343321

Follow Up By: TD6 - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:17

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:17
Yep, I went through 4 in 12 mths. They kept telling me that they had a new system of paint etc etc. In the end the local dealer ordered the leather one saying from now on this standard practice for Nissan.
To be honest this is the only "issue" I've had in 50,000 k. I guess I shouldn't be surprised considering I got 550,000 and 14 years out of the old GQ 4.2 :)
FollowupID: 343322

Reply By: Member - Alan S (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:34

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:34
Toyota quoted me $1300 + for a 40,000 Km service, time to shop around I thought.
I did plenty of research and talked to lots of people and can highly recommend:

http://www.4wdservice.com.au/frame_contact.htm

Ask for Michael on 9526 1881

Service Centre

Don't know of any northside but these guys will drop you to the train station or give you a rental car for $20 for the day.

Hope this helps...
AnswerID: 84590

Follow Up By: Swaine - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:36

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:36
Alan,

Great feed back thanks I will give them a call.
FollowupID: 343328

Reply By: ginga - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:49

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:49
Hi Swaine

I have a Prado VZJ95R that has now done 90000k's. I have had it serviced at:
Northshore 4WD at Artarmon - (02) 9439-3585 &
Traction 4 ARB also at Artarmon - (02) 9438-4404.

Both are well regarded (Traction 4 is much bigger); I use Northshore 4WD
AnswerID: 84591

Follow Up By: Wisey (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 19:15

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 19:15
Hi Ginga

A nth shore 4wd, being serviced at a 4wd service center???
You are definatley one of a kind. lol. on the nth shore, lol
FollowupID: 343346

Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 20:30

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 20:30
have you given ultra tune a call, ive never had a prob. very reasonable i use the one at alexandria.
cheers steve
AnswerID: 84617

Reply By: Noosa Bushtrackers - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 21:15

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 21:15
Up until 2 years ago I have owned a number of Landcruisers since 1981. In 1983 the Toyota dealer ripped me off by over charging for a service and from then on I only ever took them to Toyota for their first (so called) FREE services.

I cannot understand why anyone takes their vehicles back to Toyota, they charge like wounded bulls.

I had a friend who took his Landcruiser in to Toyota for an 80,000 km service where they charged him a fortune to repack the front wheel bearings, but it had been marked before going in and they never took the hubs off, or even cleaned the mud etc off.

With the F250 on the other hand, I have found Ford to be much cheaper than Toyota. The F250 usually costs just over $200 for all the services, and that includes 14.5 litres of oil and a $55 oil filter.
Doing it tuff, Towing a Bushtracker.

AnswerID: 84630

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 10:00

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 10:00
Brian,

Did you guys go to the Boggers function this year? You would have met Pam and Alan with a F250 and bushtraker too. Good friends

FollowupID: 343390

Reply By: Member - Peter A (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 00:22

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 00:22
Mate, I have had 160,000 klms of trouble free driving by taking my vehicle to toyota dealer and have no worries with them, if you want a good vehicle then doesn't it deserve the best, there not all bad out there.
AnswerID: 84659

Reply By: Member - Bob et Joëlle (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 12:26

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 12:26
Artarmon Automotives
AnswerID: 84695

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 18:27

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 18:27
I am having this issue as well.

I took mine back to Toyota dealer for that 1st FREE service only to find out it was an inspection. They don't actually do anything - just look at it!

He said "do you want it washed?". I said NO and was out of there in under 10 minutes.

I have had two services at an independent workshop and have been very pleased with his service but my car is a leased vehicle with a prepaid salary package maintenance agreement. Toyota Finance will only pay direct if you go to a Toyota Dealer for the servicing. If you use an independent then you have to pay them yourself and claim it back which is a hassle. All designed to keep you using the dealer network.

Have tried a new Dealer on my last service to see how they stack up to the indepenent bloke. Have not seen the bill yet so can't comment on the cost comparison.

Am in Adelaide so can't really help with recommending a good workshop - sorry!

Muddy
AnswerID: 84758