Wobbly wheels - Do you have trouble getting your wheels balanced?

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:25
ThreadID: 17852 Views:2885 Replies:3 FollowUps:7
Gday all,

This is further to my previous post regarding a warranty claim on one of my goodyear wranglers (front passenger).

Took it down yesterday to replace and they discovered it wasn't the tyre at all. It appears that the alloy rim has a defect. So, the spares on, and the rim on it's way to ROH over the other side of town to be checked.

The only reason I found this out was due to my sudden urge to rotate the tyres after 5000k's. The dodgy wheel was on the rear, hence the reason why I could not feel anything of concern.

So for all of you who may have trouble balancing a wheel, it may be something further to look at.

Cheers!

Chris.

Reply By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:29

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:29
This was a common problem I experienced with steel wheels on earlier model Holdens & Fords. Found a guy in my town that specialised in "straightening" wheels and the problem was fixed but not before lots of visits to so call tyre experts who either just did a balance or said the tyre was faulty - buy a new tyre from me.....
AnswerID: 84588

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:31

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:31
No buying new tyres for me, spend enough on tyres and rims to make me go a little dark shade of red when the problem arose. However, thus far it has been dealt with in a very professional manner!

Chris.
FollowupID: 343326

Reply By: Bryan (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 17:21

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 17:21
Hi Chris,
another interesting thing I found is that most tyre places dont balance the tyre by the wheel stud holes as they should do to make sure they get it as close to a central roll as possible. Most places use a cone that goes thru the middle of the tyre and they balance it from this. This method can allow the rim to appear to have a buckle and not balance correctly.. when rims are made regardless if they are metal or alloy, it doesnt mean the central hole is perfectly in the cente or machined flat, the only way to ensure you are getting it balanced as perfect as possible is to have them balance the tyre by using the wheel stud holes as there are made to be truely in the center, and thats where they ensure they are machined to be correct.....
If my commodores 17'' alloys with low profile tyres are balanced by the central hole cone method, they appear to have a buckle and dont balance propoerly, when done via the wheel stud holes, they come up perfect.. It took me a while to find a decent tyre place that explained all this to me and showed me the difference of the balancing methods make. it is almost scarey watchcing an alloy appear to have a buckle and then watch it not be there when balanced correctly.

something whorth checking with where your getting them balanced..

Bryan

AnswerID: 84594

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 17:58

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 17:58
Gday Bryan,

Yeah, I see where your coming from and he was doing it with the centre cone yesterday. To make matters more interesting, ROH have just contacted me and said that there is basically nothing wrong with the rim. They feel it may be his balancing equipment. So they want the tyre now to do there own testing.

What a debacle! Long as I come out on top, I don't care!

Thanks for your help mate, I've printed out what you said, and will take it with me tomorrow.

Chris.
FollowupID: 343342

Follow Up By: Bryan (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 23:49

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 23:49
Hi Chris,
One time I went to a different tyre place to get my patrol tyres balanced and wheel alignment done, as I couldnt get it done at the place I normally take both my cars (wheels of Wanneroo if your in Perth), this was tyerpower 2 doors down. I drove it out the door and the balancing was F&^%#ED, waited a week to give it a chance, but no better so i went back and complained, they re-balanced the front tyres and found them both to be 10-20 grams out....... I drove away and instantly it was shuddering again at a different speed.... F&^%$Ed balancing again, took it back the next day and they tried again.. still they F%$Ed it up.... I was reallybleepof by this stage as I had wasted so much time having to go back to them as I had paid to have it done, and i didnt want to have to pay again... but I stopped in at the usual place 2 doors up, explained my fustration, they squeezed me in straight away,, balanced the tyres correctly, and I drove away with NO shudder.... So I always take my car and recommend Wheel of Wanneroo to people as they do it correctly.. I am there thrusday morning have new tyres fitted to the commodore, and confident it will all be done correctly the first time :-)
Unfortunately they couldnt get any new tyres for my patrol as there are no wrangler MTR's available in the WA goodyear warehouses :-( the next shipment into Aus is early Dec and 200 already on back order around the country, so i rang a goodyear shop who luckily tracked down a set at another goodyear shop, so unfortunately they will get my business - same price ($300 each -265/75R16). but Im anticipating the balancing will be stuffed and will have to take the patrol to the normal place to be balanced correctly :-( and Im sure the guy there will give me heaps about it.. :-)

anyway hopefully you will get yours all sorted out.

PS my mate just had his Coopers balanced at a different place - balancing was stuffed up, so he is off to Wheels of Wanneroo now also :-)

take care
Bryan
FollowupID: 343367

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 08:52

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 08:52
Fair dinkum, bit of a worry mate!

I'd buy the tyres from that place and have them fitted at the other place, blow giving them anymore money then you have too!

Their stinging you over there for MTR's at the moment, sounds like they've really taken off! I picked up my 285/75/16 MTR's for $279 each and according to someone on this site, that was still expensive!

Good luck to you mate, hope it all works out and I'll let you all know what the outcome is!

Chris.
FollowupID: 343382

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 10:08

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 10:08
Bryan,

Go back to the shop and ask their quote for supply only. Take em to Wheels and get them to fit and balance. See what happens, and tell them why you want to do it this way.

FollowupID: 343391

Follow Up By: Bryan (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 16:16

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 16:16
Hi Chris,
How did you go with getting your tyres sorted out??

Mine are all done on both cars.
The MTR's were put on the patrol at the Goodyear centre in Wanneroo, and I must say they did an excellent job. i asked about the balancing and they do it the correct way, also got the wheel alignment done, which was out. over all, a very good experience. :-)

The tyres arnt very noisey either, only slightly noisier than the BFG AT i had on, so im happy about that also.

bye for now
Bryan
FollowupID: 343691

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 19:25

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 19:25
goodday chris
I had new tyres put on 3mths ago before our last trip went back 2 days later not balanced right differnt bloke was dealing with me and when i explained, they used a different centre may be with wheel studs but he said it also compesates for disc brake weight etc no more problems when i asked why not do it the first time didnot get an answer but it took him about 15 minutes to find the gear and put it to gether

AnswerID: 84610

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 08:49

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 08:49
Fair enough...I'm guessing I'll know by the end of this week! thanks for your reply mate.

Chris.
FollowupID: 343381