Dual battery Voltage Meter
Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 18:29
Member - Alan S (NSW)
Hi, can anyone out there recommend a tidy Voltmeter that can be dash or console mounted. Preferably one that has the ability to read two voltages, (main and auxiliary batteries). The not knowing make me nervous so I am always under the bonnet with my meter checking and I am getting fed up with that.
Oh, and a reasonably priced one too (if it exists) as I'm running out of funds.....
Reply By: Member - Andrew O - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 18:54
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 18:54
I use a Jaycar meter, lcd readout, does the temperature too. Provides alarms when the voltage is over or under a pre-set range. I've wired it to the 2nd battery, but 10seconds after starting they are running in parallel and therefore both batteries have the same voltage. Jaycar have a good range of meters available, all at good prices.
Mine was about $35.
Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 19:49
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 19:49
Just installed in the cab the device that Andrew describes above with a switch to flick between the two batteries.
In the back of the ute I have a little wooden
junction box which includes a fuse box inside and have installed a LCD panel meter available for $10 from Dick Smith. You'll need to be handy with a soldering iron as it involves installing two onboard resistors and soldering a jumper wire. It can't power from the supply it is measuring without adding further electronics but can be powered from a 9 volt battery, draws only 1ma so it will last a long time. Then it's just a matter of calibrating the device. This option may or may not be for you.
DSE cat no is Q222O
Jaycar have a LCD panel meter that is all setup as a volt meter out of the box. I think it was between $30 and $40... I didn't take this route as the previous was cheaper for me.
Reply By: John - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 21:15
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 21:15
Dear Alan
I added a 3 LCD display to the T-Van showing current into / out of
the battery, battery voltage and car battery voltage.
I will post a photo If someone can suggest where It can be placed.
I has turned out
well and the digital display makes it much
easier to keep track of what's happening with the batteries.
It was constructed to with 3 digital panel meters from Dick Smith,
scrap aluminium and teak.
I will post a photo If someone can suggest where It can be placed.
Cheers John
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 22:22
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 22:22
Send it to me if you want John, I'll put up for those interested.
desertdust@yahoo.com
Reply By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 07:41
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 07:41
Alan,
I use one of the Jaycar jobbies. Only reads one voltage though.
Unit comes with a ciggy style plug. As I have a socket in the cab from my second battery to run the GPS etc. from, all I do is swap the plug from one socket (main battery) to the other (second battery) as required, to monitor one or the other.
I don't usually bother with the main battery while traveling as I trust the isolator to do its job, but the option is there anyway.
I mounted the meter to the console using adhesive backed velcro so I can remove it if I desire.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:03
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:03
Have you got a part number or link for the Jaycar voltmeter, I could only find an Ammeter on their website.
Thanks.
Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 08:01
Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 08:01
Shaker,
Jaycar list a Voltmeter/In-Out Themometer/Clock for $39:95
Part Number is xc0116
This is what I have but I haven't bothered with the outside thermometer probe. (i.e. both will read the same temperature)
They also have a Voltmeter/Clock/Stopwatch (xc0118) for $34.95 but then who needs a stopwatch? (unless your into Rally driving He!He!He!)
Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 09:09
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 09:09
I bought one of those 12V battery testers from Dick Smith ~$19, which has 5 different coloured LEDS that show the state of charge. It comes with aligator clips. I cut these off & installed a small slider DPDT switch into the unit. Then I wired both batteries to the unit. I just move the slider switch between Main & Aux battery. I mounted the unit under on the ventilation ducting.
Sparky
Reply By: Member - Melissa - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 10:23
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 10:23
Alan,
We use the Jaycar voltmeter/clock/indoor-outdoor thermometer referred to by others above. I bought in online from Jaycar for about $40. It's a great little gadget and apart from monitoring your batteries, the thermometer provides a bit of interest as it not only gives current indoor and outdoor temp, it also stores max and mins for previous 24hrs so you can see exactly how hot or cold it got.
The gadget is really designed for monitoring your main battery through a ciggy lighter plug. Following the suggestion of many others on this
forum, we cut off the ciggy plug and hard wired it to a 3-way switch direct wired to our batteries. With the flip of the switch we are now able to monitor our main, aux and trailer batteries.
:o) Melissa
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew R (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 10:55
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 10:55
Hi Melissa,
I am interested where you mounted your outside temp sensor. I mounted
mine inside the front door space but outside the sealing rubber. I find it gives inaccurate readings because the sun heats up the body of the car and whilst driving the heat of the engine probably heats it up also. I wonder where the car manafacturers fit them?
thanks
andrew
Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 11:27
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 11:27
Hi Andrew,
We mounted our sensor in the space near the front door hinges so its kind of tucked in at the back of the front right panel. Like you I think the accuracy of the reading is affected by the sun heating up the panels but we are mainly interested the overnight minimum which we are confident is pretty accurate. We have considered moving the sensor into the cavity of the lower bullbar (the section that replaces the bumper). Here it would be out of the wind, forward of the engine and subsequently engine heat and being an alloy bar would be less prone to sun temp variations than the panels. We really couldn't come up with anywhere on the vehicle that wouldn't be affected by one or more factors so I guess it's just trying to make the best of it. Anyway, we haven't got around to moving the sensor yet and will have to extend the wire to do so.
:o) Melissa
Follow Up By: joc45 - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 12:58
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 12:58
Rather than using the temp probe to measure outdoor temp, some people use it to measure the fridge temp. Not a bad idea to keep tabs on how the fridge is running.
Gerry
Reply By: Member - Alan S (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 10:33
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 10:33
Thanks everyone for your replies, I'll go away and investigate some more but I am a lot closer to a workable solution now.
Great
forum,
Reply By: Groove - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 12:06
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 12:06
Here is pic of one I made from a jaycar kit. The kit is for a led bar graph voltage meter. It costs about $14 and is very simple to make (about 6 components). I simply squeezed two of the kits into a small case, instant dual battery monitor!
Link here
Follow Up By: joc45 - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 13:08
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 13:08
I've used the bar graph generator for a voltmeter in the past. Works nicer if you can get a display with both red and green leds to warn when you're getting low on volts. Jaycar flog these displays as
well.
STOCK-CODE: ZD1702
I'm currently assembling one of these for an oil pressure guage.
But now that LCD displays are now down to about $10, this is a better and more accurate way to go for a voltmeter.
Gerry
Follow Up By: Groove - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 13:48
Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 13:48
I did use different colour LEDs for the display. Actually I callibrated the display to suit my specific needs
RED indicates battery is charging
GREEN Normal range
Yellow less than 11.5 volts
With this setup I can tell at a glance (without having to read the actual value) if both batteries are charging, ie the rotronics is working)
The unit was calibrated when I first built it quite accurately and I check it every now and then and it is still very accurate.
I dont use a deep cycle anymore for my Aux battery, they never really lived up to expectations for me, I use exide extremes now.
Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:10
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:10
May I just drop in a word of caution regarding battery voltage measurement.
It's fine for starter batteries - but can be close to meaningless with deep cycle batteries.
The charging and discharging process of lead acid batteries is an electro-chemical reaction between the lead plates and the water/acid electrolyte. Because deep cycle batteries have very few but thick plates there is much less surface area than the multiple, thin plates of starter batteries - hence there is one hell of a lag between charging or heavy discharging and that charge being absorbed or offered up by the electrolyte.
Thus, when one takes a voltage measurement all you are measuring is the 'charge on the plates'. This can be hugely misleading (as the time lag is 24 hours or so.)
An almost flat deep-cycle battery will show as close to fully charged after a couple of minutes on a fast charger (but will still be only barely charged). A fully-charged deep cycle battery that has run a microwave for a couple of minutes (typically 110 amps at 12 volts) - will show as close to flat - when it's still
well charged.
Because of the above a great many people draw totally wrong conclusions about their battery's state of charge.
Summarising - fine for starter batteries, but for deep cycle batteries almost meaningless unless the battery has rested for many hours - at least overnight.
If you are interested there's a heap more about this on my website.
Collyn Rivers
Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:35
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:35
Hi Alan. I went the Jaycar route and as others have said use it to measure aux and main battery by swapping plugs. I use the outside temp guage to measure the temp inside the engel. It serves me
well as insurance against loosing a couple of weeks of tucker if the fridge power fails or temps get higher than I want. Cheers
Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 11:32
Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 11:32
John send me a
pic of his metering system he built for the T-Van...as discused above.....nice work
Meters
Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 23:59
Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 23:59
John,
I liked the idea of the digital LCD display rather than LEDs, just cos I'm pedantic and can read the voltage to two decimal points, so have bought a Q2220 from Dick Smith for $9.98 - shelf price $24 (don't get caught out) and a rotary switch for a few dollars.
John, how did you set it up so it measures the AMPS?
Tim