GQ4.2, GU3.0turbo or GU4.2turbo..??????

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 21:17
ThreadID: 17862 Views:3783 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
OK, now I just cant make up my mind...I have read so many posts on this forum about pro's and con's of GU3.0 and 4.2 turbo's which is a real credit to the people who write in here.

Ive got a budget of up to $32,000 to buy new 4by and have a few questions i'm hoping you guys can help me answer (I do a lot of town kms, 110kms/h and also tow a 1ton camper when going out)

1. GU4.2 turbo, I can get one of these for 28-32k(1998+), people have said they use a bit more fuel, doen't rev as hard at 100 but isnt as good for overtaking etc at this speed because its not producing good boost (orwhatever). What power ups are available to fix any slugishness issue, and how much would I be spending?

2. GU3.0 turbo, these seem to be a bit more expensive still as they didnt come out until after the 2.8td was gone. I do a fair few kms on freeway so am not sure about revving at 3000 all day to do 110kms/h (more@115)....surely this would effect the longevity of the motor?

3. GQ4.2 with aftermarket turbo kit. I can get a good GQ4.2 for about 12-15k, spend up to another 5k on aftermarket turbo and maybe have some change left over for suspension etc, all for sub $20,000. (leaving $10 for a couple of good trips) Would the power be comparable to GU-td's? what are people opinion on this, being an older vehicle?

I have looked at the 80 series td and realy like them, but comparable to the nissan they are just over priced for their age, not to mention almost impossible to find.

Sorry about the really long post, any comments appreciated.
Just another quick one to drop in, I really wanted to stay with a dual cab ute as mine now has heaps more room in the back, but I cant find a powerful TD dualcab for 30k which would be very capable off road machine also. If only the new rodeo was live front axle and heaps cheaper.....

NUTS!

Reply By: crayman - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 21:33

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 21:33
I have recently sod my 4.2 TD (aftermarket turbo 2.5" exhaust) GQ ST Waggon and brought a 4.2TDI GU ST Waggon(3" exhaust) not a lot of difference between two vechicles ,if anything GQ tougher unit GU softer smoother to drive ,GU 111 should b ok but be wary GU 11 unless probs been addressed GU 11 can have overheating probs G box probs
Maurie
AnswerID: 84634

Reply By: Chaz - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 22:05

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 22:05
Hi SuzukiSamuri,

In my 3.0L Auto GU, I'm doing 120Kph @ 2,500RPM
A pleasure to drive around town and even better on the freeway.

Good luck with your choice!

Chaz
AnswerID: 84641

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 22:16

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 22:16
G'day mate,
I agree with Mauri... the GQ is a generally "stronger" truck than the GU. I've had both and the GU is nicer to drive, but more plastic (yuk). This is in the same way that (in my opinion) the 60 series cruiser is a stronger vehicle than the 80 series etc.
Anyway, I'm not sorry I changed over to the GU...I have removed a fair bit of the plastic and replaced with steel (eg: b/bar and rear bar with dual spare wheel carrier). My GQ was a 93 RX with Safari turbo (no intercooler).
I never had any dramas with the GQ. The GU has had 5th gear changed under warranty, even though it never actually "expired"; but it was definitely on the way out. The GU has also had some over-warming issues. It's never actually overheated, just got a bit warm, which causes the air-con to switch off (annoying). I've solved this problem by putting in a PWR aluminuim radiator with double the capacity ($1100).
I like the way it only revs at around 2100 @ 110kph; whereas the 3Litre revs somewhat higher.
I actually test drove a 3Litre when I was shopping for a new truck in 2000. The 3 litre jobbie went really well (it was an auto, which i don't like anyway....but went real good), but I didn't fancy a 4 cylinder motor with the same capacity as a medium size family car.....I know there's no comparison, but I've got an old brain (that's my excuse). I also preferred the 4.2 litre engine bay....lots of room for "stuff". Easy to get to various components....no "black box" to fry when you're miles from anywhere.

If you want an auto, forget the GU 4.2....only comes in manual.

As much as I love the GQ, I couldn't recommend you spend too much cash on one, unless it's got low klms (say under 200,000) and hasn't had a hard life. There are some great ones kicking around that have been well looked after.

Good luck, I hope I answered most of your questions.
AnswerID: 84643

Reply By: japmel - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 22:19

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 22:19
Hi Suzukisamuri

There are some good Cruisers around for the right money.

I haven't looked closely at it but there is one here in Gladstone QLD.

It's a 96 turbo diesel with lift kit, winch bar. I'm sure theres more I just can't remember what and it's priced at 26k ono

japmel
AnswerID: 84645

Reply By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 23:25

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 23:25
Hi There,
I would go with the GQ. Tuff as nails and there are plenty of excellent ones still around. definately go the after market turbo and with the change left over spend it on setting up the fuel pump to suit the power up that will make it a pleasure to drive under most conditions. I am on my second one now, the first one had 600,000 kms and was still going strong. But i wanted a tighter one and so i went and got this one. Never looked back. I wouldnt hesitate recomending a GQ 4.2 Diesel to anyone with a properly setup turbo. And with the change...get yourself a front Air Locker installed. Then you have a damn good offroader in my opinion.
Cheers Angelo
AnswerID: 84650

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 09:09

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 09:09
Gday mate,

Depends on whether you intend to keep for long time or short time.

Long term, you'll lose more money on the GU as the GQ's price has pretty much stablised over the last few months...If it was me, and I had 32k, I'd search for a tidy GQ, something with no rust, no scrape marks/dints underneath, probably rust in the window frames. For 12-15k, you may find something sub 200,000k's.

If you picked something up for 13k that was stock (my last one was stock - 15k with 132,000k's TD42 naturally aspirated 91 model - came with genuine steps, and bullbar) I spent exactly $9,000 on accessories. That included 4 inch lift with adj. panhard rods, bushes etc, 15 x 8 blade chrome rims, 33 x 12.5 MTR's, snorkel, 240 Blitz lights, ARB compressor, 40L Engel, stereo system, Uniden UHF, ERPS, aftermarket turbo schweitzer fitted then powered up 3 months later, 3 inch exhaust mandrel bent, custom pipe work from 1st filter box to second filter, front lockrite (yuk), replaced rear windows and tint. The turbo was the main cost which after powerup set me back $5,500.00. I did 80,000 k's in it in 2 years, never ever missed a beat, just before trade did brake master and that was it, traded it for 17k on the newby...sometimes regret and agree with above, the GQ is a tougher beast.

If you spend 13k on a truck and 10 on accessories, you'll have the best truck around! Find an accessory guy, let him know how much your going to need, and stick with him, you'll get some great prices!

Good luck!

Chris.
AnswerID: 84673

Reply By: gonebush - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 10:34

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 10:34
I'll answer your query another way.

For $32K I don't think that you would be able to get a Series III 3.0l TD (Nov 01 on).....you would end up with a Series II.

The problems with the Series II are well documented and, although there are heaps running around without problems, is it worth the risk that the one you buy may have a latent problem......and this would always be in the back of your mind.

I have a Series III 3.0 TD and have found it to be an excellent vehicle.

In your situation I think the 4.2 is the way to go and there is plenty of good advice above outlining the relative merits of the GU/GQ.

Larry
AnswerID: 84682

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 11:46

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 11:46
Some of the series 2 3.0l vehicles are now appearing with new engines on the 2nd hand market. Also nissan appear to be still replacing the engines out of warranty. Doesn't seem so bad now really.

Leroy
FollowupID: 343401

Follow Up By: gonebush - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 11:56

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 11:56
Yep, can't argue with that. Nothing wrong with a Series II with a Series III engine.

Don't know if I'd be tempting fate though regarding the possible replacement engine in the future even though Nissan have a very good track record in that regard.......peace of mind and no futuere hassles would play a part.

Larry
FollowupID: 343402

Reply By: SuzukiSamuri - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 18:10

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 18:10
Thanks for the reply's everyone...

I am thinking the GQ is a better option for now. I had a quick look at trading post after posting the above last night and found a '94 TI TD42 with 180,000kms for $11800, pic looked good and sounds pretty cheap.

I forgot to mention that auto's wont even get a look in my door so manual only.

I do a lot of KMS for work, so can claim a high % of vehicle costs, which includes accessories/replacement of parts etc, so buying the cheaper vehicle and then spending 6-9 thou on parts would be mostly claimable for me......

I really like the 3.0TD but would hate to buy one, have it run out of warranty and then start having problems that cost big $$$$.....

Does anyone have any opinions on the LR Defender dualcab TD5?

NUTS!
AnswerID: 84754