40 series diesels

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 11:57
ThreadID: 17870 Views:2130 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
GDay all
Wondering if anyone could tell me what the originol diesel engines were in the 40 sreies landcrusiers, ie shorty, cab chassis and troopy. Particularly between 1975 and 1984. Much appreciated

Reply By: haysie222 (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 12:12

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 12:12
i reckon the troopy has a 2h and im only guessing but i reckon the shorty has a 3b.if thats not right im sure it'll get the ball rolling.
AnswerID: 84693

Follow Up By: The Blackman - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 12:17

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 12:17
the 2h is a 4L 6 cylinder right? and the 3b is a 3.4L 4 cyl? I know the 1980 shorty 40 diesel came with a 3L 4cyl, curious to know if the troopies, utes were similar for around that time.
FollowupID: 343406

Reply By: bundyman - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 13:35

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 13:35
Blackman,

The utes and troopys (in the early to mid 70's) also had a H or 1H motor which was a 3.6L straight 6 diesel. Not much power and getting hard to find parts for them now.

Hughesy
AnswerID: 84708

Reply By: TonyH - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 15:20

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 15:20
http://rustybrain.com/cruisers/faq.txt

Link might help you with specifics

"H" motor was used up until 1980 then the "2H" till 84, was also in the Hj75 till 1Hz was used.
AnswerID: 84725

Follow Up By: TonyH - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 15:23

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 15:23
hope this works
FollowupID: 343436

Follow Up By: TonyH - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 15:26

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 15:26
sorry my technolameness prevents me from hyperlinking :-(

Tony Harding
FollowupID: 343437

Reply By: The Blackman - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 15:43

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 15:43