The Jackaroo & Ryco Filters

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 12:35
ThreadID: 17873 Views:3103 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
Re after market filters for the 98+ 3.0 TD Jackaroo – fellow owners might be aware that Ryco have th Z79a listed for the small oil filter on the Jack – the last one I bought would not fit – the one bought prior (my first) just made it on – the issue is that the outer rim of the filter snags on the engine frame, before the seal contacts the engine face. One cannot of course see a damned thing in there to see exactly what is the problem. The OME version must be a whisker smaller in diameter - I have advised Ryco and they will pick up my last purchase and intend to get onto the issue.....will advise on any outcome. For now, I'm going back to OME unless Jack forumites have a suggested alternative.

Reply By: Savvas - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 13:25

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 13:25
Have a chat to the guys at www.sydneyfilters.com.au.

They can access a number of different filter brands such as Baldwin, Racor and Wesfil.
AnswerID: 84707

Follow Up By: Banjo (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:54

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:54
Have done Sav - even got a reply already - all noted - thanks for the tip.
FollowupID: 343470

Reply By: phantom - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 13:39

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 13:39
Why go through all these dramas when GENUINE parts are available that are actually made for the vehicles?
AnswerID: 84709

Follow Up By: Rick Blaine - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:58

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:58
Have you ever priced the genuine ones?
FollowupID: 343471

Follow Up By: Banjo (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:04

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:04
Filters are obviously very cheap to produce - just look at the super low prices that some vehicle owners can get them for (even some OME's are dirt cheap). I simply refuse to be ripped off for OME if there is a quality alternative. I reckon the mucking about is worth it, in order to send these marketers a message. They obviously think we are happy to suffer just because there are not many Jacks in Oz. For the volume brands of fourby, the savings are huge with Ryco and the other non-genuines I'm told.
FollowupID: 343473

Reply By: Will - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 14:20

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 14:20
Hi Banjo, I use the ryco and sometimes the valvoline one without any dramas.
One thing I have found is that sometimes a small stone or other debris can get wedged between the filter and block.
I always give it a good clean around that area.
Will
AnswerID: 84717

Follow Up By: Banjo (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 16:05

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 16:05
Indeed - I did give it a good blast with water a day or so prior to this work - that is an idea though....trouble is its a bugger to see anything down there and I dare not try and do anything in that region with the filter off ! A bit of grit in there could spell disaster ! Might try a bit harder to have a good look down there.
FollowupID: 343441

Reply By: D-Jack - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 18:26

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 18:26
On another thread someone mentioned that the internals of aftermarket filter (ryco) was quite different to the genuine part. Put me off given oil is so important in TDs.

D-Jack
AnswerID: 84757

Reply By: Rick Blaine - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:01

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:01
Try Jackeroo World for genuine parts at much cheaper prices....http://jackworld.alphalink.com.au/

but still not cheap.....
AnswerID: 84776

Reply By: Andrew from TrekTable - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 23:09

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 23:09
Banjo,

How often do you change your bypass filter? Do you always do it at the same time as your main filter? Or say very 40,000km?

AnswerID: 84947

Follow Up By: Banjo (SA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 16:55

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 16:55
G'day Andrew - the manufacturer says only change it IF you have to repair the donk ! My mechanic of many years experience says bulldust - if its a filter, change it. At around $7.50 for the Ryco Z79a my plan has been to change it every 10k - the mainfilter and the oil get done every 5k - might be overkill, but I keep cars until I want to change my camping formula - even if that takes many years !
FollowupID: 343697