Fridge Storage

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:37
ThreadID: 17887 Views:3214 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
Hi all,just hoping to find someone who may have been in the same position and come up with a solution as to where to put the fridge due to lack of space when on the road. We regularly travel the north west remote and highway and have now decided to go for the big one 12 months. We are about to purchase a cavalier camper trailer being towed by the Patrol. We have 5 children so there is 7 travelling meaning the rear seats are taken, leaving very limited boot space not enough for the fridge. We were thinking of making a compartment on the draw bar of the trailer (behind the spare) to house the waeco 80ltr, has anyone tried this, I,m aware of the dust situation but most driving will be highway with a few tracks to camp spots if not the roof rack is the other option but weight would be a factor getting it up there. In the past we have used a large Evercool esky on a trailer but due to the time away this is no longer an option. Help any ideas.

Reply By: earle - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:54

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:54
transporting your fridg as stated is good plastic bag will keep out dust etc vibration is your main worry advise battery operation only as 240 very dangerous if anything rubs bare
AnswerID: 84785

Reply By: Paulg - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:14

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:14
Much appreciated for the response earle,Thanks for the advice.
AnswerID: 84791

Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:45

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:45
quite common to have a fridge on the draw bar. Mate also has a second batt on the draw bar also. Requires heavy duty wiring form the vehicle via an anderson plug to the trailer.

Leroy
AnswerID: 84800

Follow Up By: Paulg - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:25

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:25
Thanks leroy i will check and the anderson fitting
FollowupID: 343505

Reply By: D-Jack - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:15

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:15
Have seen fridges on the drawbar before, but wrapping it in plastic will work for transporting but fridge will not operate without air circulation. Seen insulated galv box with air vents in appropriate places (drill holes) and drain hole in bottom in case water gets in, lockable hinged lid on top to stop the thieves. Some dust may get in but fridge should be able to cope provided it is sucked out and not allowed to build up too much. Not a fridge mechanic but these if these Waecos are all they're cracked up to be a little dust shouldn't pose too much of a problem. If Waecos have got a super compressor I don't know about that don't require circulation then I take back all I said about the plastic wrap and air holes in the box!

Good luck, I've only got one and straight after the second I'm going in for the snip! If only to allow room for the Engel.

D-Jack

AnswerID: 84804

Follow Up By: Paulg - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:28

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:28
Thanks Jack Ithink this is definitely looking like the option and like you say if there a vents it should help with the circulation. Icould always put the kids on the draw bar to make room he he
Thanks Paul
FollowupID: 343507

Reply By: rlbrooks - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 00:01

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 00:01
Hi Paulg

Even though people and manufacturers place fridges on camper trailers I have seen them come to grief because the trailer shakes thebleepout of the fridge. I also have a Cavalier camper and there is no way I would put the fridge behind the spare, especially as I have a large storage box there. If it was me I would be keeping the fridge in the back of the wagon and putting a storage box behind the spare wheel and putting stuff in there from out of the back of the wagon so that the fridge would fit in the back.

Brooksy
www.40series.com
AnswerID: 84818

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 09:03

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 09:03
Cant put the kids in a storage box behind the spare! lol I don't think he has a choice as there isno space in the back. Check with some of the camper trailer manufactures. The may have some ideas regarding this. Fridges are pretty tough. They wouldn't get a smooth ride in the back of a leaf sprung ute so the ride can't be that much worse in a fully laden trailer. Get an insulated vented custom made box.

Leroy
FollowupID: 343532

Reply By: Paulg - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 18:44

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 18:44
Just like to say thanks to every one for their input
Paulg
AnswerID: 84915