ENGEL vs ELECTROLUX

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:26
ThreadID: 17891 Views:4530 Replies:16 FollowUps:15
Hi guys,

Myself and a mate thought that we'd decided what we wanted (Waeco or Engel)
(im not starting a debate with (Waeco or Engel) ..hopefully)

My question is that we had decided on the Engel until tonight when i was speaking to a buddy of my brother-in-laws who has done in heaps of long trips/camping in the last few years from day to weeks even as far as Arnemland.

That is what my mate and I do is 3-5 camps or 3-7 day hunts.

Hunting isnt the issue, but camping is.

My brother-in-laws buddy says that the Engels will flatten the 2nd battery(dual battery) by the end of the 2nd day.

That is why he went out and bought the Electrolux 3 way fridge/freezer.

We are now totally confused....

Any opinions on the following would be appreciated...

* what the current draw(days will it last) from the Engel is?
* how much gas does the elctrolux use?
* how good is the elctrolux on 12Volts?

P.S. on 3 way fridges/freezers...Electrolux or Bushman...

Cheers Kata
kon_k@iprimus.com.au

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:30

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:30
* what the current draw(days will it last) from the Engel is?

couple of days

* how much gas does the elctrolux use?

Not sure on the portable ones but my caravan 3 way...about a week on a 4 litre bottle

* how good is the elctrolux on 12Volts?

Terrible and will flatten the battery quick smart...about 10 amp draw
AnswerID: 84807

Follow Up By: Kata - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 23:41

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 23:41
Thanks Ray..

how good is the elctrolux on 12Volts?

Sorry I wasnt that clear.. I actuall y meant how efficient are they on 12 volts

Any problems with them running on 12volts...
Do they cool as good on 12volts..

Kon
FollowupID: 343509

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 00:29

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 00:29
I agree with rlbrooks below Kan.
FollowupID: 343513

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:38

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:38
Hi Kata

I looked for a second hand chescold (electrolux) in the metal cases. Went for this one as you can pick them up cheaper and you can modify them by adding computer fans to keep the air circulating and working heaps better on 12v. Once we arrive at our destination we always run it on gas, uses bugger all (technical measurement) and we have to turn it right down to make sure it does not freeze everything. I think it would depend on what you want to run it on 12v or gas once you arrive at your destination. The Engel runs better on 12v and draw less power, from what i understand. Once we set up camp, ours does not go back on to 12v till we travel home.
Good luck mate
Ad
AnswerID: 84809

Follow Up By: Kata - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 23:49

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 23:49
Thanks Ad and Hi

You say you 12volt computer fans?? where are they added(admitedly I dont no the fridge)

How good does it cool on the way to the destination on 12volts.

When you say bugger all.....will a 4kg gas bottle last 4 days or a week?

Sorry to sound so painful...

As in the past over the years we have always used eski on hunting/camping weekend with big iceblocks.

not ideal

but now my buddy and I have decided all fridges are reasonably priced and we should...

Also leaves more time for drinks as there will be no need any longer to sort the fridge and clean out slugey water etc..

Kon
FollowupID: 343510

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 08:58

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 08:58
HI Kon

Yep I added some 12v computer fans, helps the circulate and works heaps better on 12v. We plug it into 24ov before a trip and it maintains the temperature on 12v, this does also create heat, so beware of this in case you have it in the cab with you.We went to kangaroo island from melbourne on a 42 degree day and had to turn the fridge off, air con struggled hahaha I would not say these are best for 12v. We ran ours with a 9kg bottle over 3 weeks and still had plenty of gas left, at least a third of the bottle left, the excel on gas and 240v. I have a 40L. Hope this helps. Adam
FollowupID: 343531

Follow Up By: Bros - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 00:41

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 00:41
Crazie,
Where do you mount the computer fans. I have a metal case 40 lt chescold. Very interested.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

FollowupID: 343600

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 08:40

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 08:40
Hi Bros

They get mounted on the metal tubing on the back of you chestcold. You can take the back grill off and I have cable tied them in and hooked the wires up to the normal 12v.Also need to make sure you are running the fridge on approx 6mm wire. I have some more info at home on how to improve them working better on 12v, I will try and find it.
Ad
FollowupID: 343616

Reply By: rlbrooks - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 23:52

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 23:52
Mad dod is right on all accounts. I have a 3 way Chescold which is hopeless on 12 volts. It will only maintain the temp if it cooled initially on gas or 240v. As well it must be on a level surface and hates the up and down motion in a 4WD. On gas it is great and will freeze stuff real quick if not turned down. Forget about it for travelling. If I am going foe an extended stay in the bush I take my Chescold and run it on gas whilst camping but take my trusty Engel for travelling. Not all of us have the luxury of two fridges however. I only have the two because I found out too late that the Chescold was bloody useless whilst travelling and on 12v and also flattened the battery real quick (matter of hours) when camped.
good luck in making your choice.
AnswerID: 84817

Follow Up By: Kata - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 00:03

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 00:03
hmmm

i think there is no easy way around this...is there...

My wife won be happy...

As I might need to get both...

if so I do...what would be the better option

Get 1 OF THE brand NEW AND 1 SECONDHAND

which one do get new and which secondhand....

FollowupID: 343511

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 00:28

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 00:28
HAHA, mad dad is what my kids call me, you can call me mad dog...lol
FollowupID: 343512

Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 06:49

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 06:49
Three way fridges are great when you are camped for a few days and will, typically, use 250gm of gas a day - or less. However they _MUST_ be LEVEL to work at their maximum. I keep a $2 shop level in mine along with 2 small wooden wedges for this purpose.

In the car, on 12V, they use 7 to 10amps and generally do not cool very well because they are often not level. On 240V at home they work well – good beer fridge.

I freeze all my meat before leaving home and that acts like ice packs in the fridge during the journey and everything stays cold even on 8 or 9 hour trips. On the way home I don't care if the fridge warms up a bit.

If you are on the move every day or two go compressor (Waeco/Engle) if you regularly camp in one spot for 3 days or more go 3 way.

mike_harding@fastmail.fm

AnswerID: 84827

Reply By: Tim (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 08:24

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 08:24
Kata
I have a 40 ltr engel and spend a week at a time on the Murray river during Feb.
My engel will run for three days without a problem off my aux battery with the fridge in the shade then may run the car for a while to recharge the batteries then off we go agin, I also use a evakool esky with some block ice for the rest of food and drink. My mate has a 3 way elextrolux and it will flatten a battery on a car in no time so he runs it on gas, but it doesn't keep as cold as my compressor fridge because it uses a heat exchanger.
You also need to make sure your batteries are in good condition to get the max benifit
Cheers Tim
AnswerID: 84834

Follow Up By: Kata - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 12:19

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 12:19
Hi Tim,

Thanks for the info

What size/type is your 2nd battery

Kon
FollowupID: 343540

Follow Up By: Tim (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 12:24

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 12:24
750 cca Power crank N70ZZL connected to ARB isolator.
I think this is correct
Tim
FollowupID: 343541

Follow Up By: Kata - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 01:21

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 01:21
Thanks Tim

Is there any brands to buy or stay away from inparticular

I guess i mean which are the quality ones
which brand do you use...the 750 cca Power crank N70ZZL

Kon
FollowupID: 343603

Follow Up By: Kata - Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 04:25

Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 04:25
Hi Tim

excuse my ignorance

The "750 cca Power crank N70ZZL" is a norma battery??

not a deepcell is it??

Kon
FollowupID: 343744

Follow Up By: Tim (VIC) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 08:00

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 08:00
Hi Kon
This is correct
I was thinking of putting a deepcycle battery in but at this stage i have been happy with the std battery, i guess the only factor is the life of a std battery compared to a deep cycle battery.
Cheers Tim
FollowupID: 343886

Reply By: jules15 - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 08:46

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 08:46
re: Electrolux/Finch/Chescold - same only different - power consumption -
electric 240v - 75 watts, battery - 12 v - 75 watt - 5.25 amps/hour
gas (LP) apprx 25 grams per day - most efficient on gas - excellent on electricity - keeps cold on 12v - never actually been let down even in the tropics - but have to watch carefully - make sure when on gas that it hasn't blown out - and in the car - freeze meat well before you head off and have the fridge running for a day beforehand as well - gives it a good head start on keeping food cold and frozen.

Will only freeze on electricity or gas - we have used ours heaps and have no complaints.

That said we have just bought a Bushman - got a great deals through Carac here in Melb - fridge/freezer, 2 lids (1 high dome), 2 dairy baskets, and cover with 2 tops to cope with 2 lids - $1070 - excellent value - and Carac are very helpful - especially Ted - we also bought our Finch from them 3 years ago. Will try the new one out at Christmas - heading for Buronga (near Mildura) so should get a good workout - have to take a whole ham up with us for Chrissy dinner, and keep lots of grog cold while we are there - for visitors of course - not us!!!

It really all comes down to personal choice -
happy camping - jules
AnswerID: 84837

Follow Up By: Flash - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 07:27

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 07:27
You're a "tad" out there....
Gas..... 25zero ie 250 grams a day would be closer!
Read a quarter of a kilo a day OR even more depending on how hot it is and how hard the fridge is working.
FollowupID: 343610

Follow Up By: jules15 - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 07:49

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 07:49
Sorry Flash - typo!!!! - we all make mistakes sometimes - and this was the detail from the data sheet re the fridge - never actually measured usage myself just know it is more efficient on gas - even in NT
- will watch my p's and q's from now on,
jules
FollowupID: 343611

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 09:25

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 09:25
Didn't read the above - comment - we like our 3 way Electrolux - a 4kg cyl of gas will run it nicely for about 8 days or so in camp - in mild weather it can freeze happily - in very hot weather it just chills (nicely). 240 volt is good, gas is the best, but 12 volt operation is only used when mobile (for us). They do have a heavy drain on the 12 volt circuit - very inefficient, therefore 12 volt should be used only when mobile, supported by the alternator ! There's nought wrong with either system - you choose and you manage the choice - there are plusses and minuses with both.
We don't have any energy problems, but we don't get the same chill performance of a compressor fridge - we live with that. IF we move to a comp unit, we have to find an energy solution, and I don't want to be toting a generator ! Solar panels cost $700 min for 80 watt and some days are cloudy ! As you see, issues with any system. Pick and run with it I say ! One thing.......if you will use it in a continually very hot climate, the 3 way will struggle - its good in hot weather though, IF it cools off overnight.
AnswerID: 84840

Reply By: Kata - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 12:27

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 12:27
Thanks Banjo and Jules

I think after all that I am swaying towards the Engel now

I think might check out the cost vs amp/hrs of dry cell batteries also

solar panels are a bit out of the question..pricy

BTW anybody no anything about the BUSHMAN fridges?????

Kon
AnswerID: 84864

Reply By: boogum - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 13:10

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 13:10
Just another clue. I was at George Taylor Stores - Hamilton (West Vic) yesterday. They had a 3-way fridge there called a "Zero". I mention it only because the fridge appeared to me to be very sturdy and beautifully built. Had no experience with and know only what the sales people told me. Made in South Africa and imported I think the man said by Primus. 35l $695 and 70l $1295. Good luck.
AnswerID: 84874

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 13:10

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 13:10
Do the same as Bango, have the same as Bango and agree with Bango ours is in the camper on a slide.

AnswerID: 84875

Reply By: Noosa Bushtrackers - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 14:19

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 14:19
We used to have a Chescold and found that we often had problems if it wasn't level when running on gas and it also used a lot of power on 12 volt. We changed to an Engel and are much happier with its operation, BUT as was said earlier it will flatten a battery in a couple of days if the vehicle hasn't been started. An option to prevent that is a solar panel, but that is expensive also.

When we went to Cape York a few years ago, the other 3, 4WD's had Chescolds and we had the only Engel fridge. Our Engel was the only one that survived the trip. The others have since changed to Engel fridges.

The Engel / Waeco compressor fridges operate far more efficiently than the 3way absorbion type of fridge.
Doing it tuff, Towing a Bushtracker.

AnswerID: 84886

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 15:31

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 15:31
I also used to have a Chescold and while one stayed put it worked great on gas but travelling it was rather ordinary, and if the heat gets above 35% c then they struggle. I now have had an Engel for 10 years plus a 64 watt solar panel and can stay still for at least 1 week before the aux batt needs to be charged by the engine. But again if the heat is above 35% c then the vehicle needs to be started after the 3rd day.
All this is assuming that the night temp is 20 plus.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 84894

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 18:13

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 18:13
G'day Kata,
I agree with what most of the others have said. I have had both types over the years. Our first fridge was a Chescold that my wife's dad gave us. It worked well on 240v and gas...but was hopeless on 12v . It was also only good for maintaining a temp of about 30 below ambient temperature at the best of times.

We then bought an Engel (39L) which I sold last year and upgraded to a 40 litre model. I also have a camper trailer which came with a upright Electrolux 80 litre fridge. This fridge is for sale for $300- if anybody is interested, as I have recently replaced it with a 80 litre Engel upright model. The reason? The Electrolux just couldn't cope with the temperatures we are subjected to in summer. Also, the controls are located at floor level and i found it difficult (a pain) to get down and light the gas at the end of each day etc. It was quite efficient on gas however, we used a 9L bottle for the fridge and for some cooking and it would last 3 weeks quite easily.

We travel almost every day, so the battery going flat is not a real issue. I use a N70ZZ Exide Extreme as the 2nd battery in the Patrol and also have 2 Exide Orbital batteries in the camper trailer to run the larger, new fridge. We haven't been camping with the new one yet, but I'm hopeful we should be able to get at least 2 to 3 days out of the 2 Orbital batteries. These are only 50amp hour gel cell type batteries, but can be charged up quite quickly off the alternator. If they don't work out, I will have to upgrade to a couple of 100 amp/hour Gel Cell batteries.

Good luck with your choice.....I also do not like solar panels; too bulky and too expensive (but then the sun's rays are currently free, until the gov't works out a way to put a tax on them!!!! hahaha)

AnswerID: 84912

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 19:04

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 19:04
I've got an old chescold which uses about 500 grams of gas per day. I haven't used it in ages since I got an Engel 39L five yers ago. Much easier, runs well on the move, no need to carry gas etc.

As for powering the Engel, before I got the 4wd with dual battrey I went away for four days and ran it iff the start battery, 550 cca, in my XR8. All I did was idle the engine for 15 minutes, 4 times a day and had no issues. Used a bit of fuel but a lot cheaper than buying solar panels or a genny. Why use an additional power source when you already got a super efficient power supply (alternator) under your bonnet and most engines use very little fuel on the idle.

My new CF80 Waeco arrives tomorrow and I'm selling the Engel for about $700 if anyone's interested.

AnswerID: 84916

Reply By: Kata - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 23:05

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 23:05
Hi guys

Roachie and Jim

I now think/know which way im going

Thanks to all for your time and effort

Kon
AnswerID: 84946

Reply By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 22:11

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 22:11
Kata,

For whats its worth I have a 40ltr engel and presently building my own version of the Ulitmate and will install an electrolux three way fridge.

In my setup the engel is in the car and the electrolux is in the camper. I think that this is the best of noth worlds. The main problem as far as I am concerned with the three way fridges is the installation....that is has the installation been well thought out in the first place. These types of fridges will work extremely well if the vent path has been created to drag cool air past the coils....basically create a self perpetual draught. The setups that don't have the draught doing what it should require you to add items like fans to move air across the coils.

Also the original climate rating of the fridge to suit the climate will be an advantage as well as adding extra insulation around the fridge install as well.

Also don't forget that a well packed fridge is far more efficent than one that isn't and by using square containers and reduce gaps between items the more efficent the fridge will be.

Stuart
AnswerID: 85093