Patrol 2001 GU Auto front hubs

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:52
ThreadID: 17893 Views:2856 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
Hey Guys on the w/e while out 4wding on the beach at Lancelin my front right hub disengaged at a critical moment. I jumped out switched them to Man and onward I went. Later I switched back to Auto and they both worked. I have been getting a sound periodically before this happened which sounded like the hub slipping or momentarily disengaging but this is the first total let go of the hub. Interestingly enough after I swung them into Manual they stayed engaged but I still got that noise under extreme load. ie deep sand.

I want to undo the 6 allen key bolts that hold the hib on and have a look. Does any one have any experience of the above or any tips for what to look for in the Patrol front hubs.

Thanks Craig

Reply By: Member - Michael- Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 23:37

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 23:37
Craig
I'm not sure what the problem is, but a word of advice be careful when using Auto the hubs will lock in but the moment you reverse they will unlock until the wheel has completed 1rev before re-engaging. When going out 4WDing I always manually lock in my hubs then its just a matter of selecting HorL4WD or 2WD when required
Lets know what the prob was
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 84816

Reply By: warthog - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 00:09

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 00:09
Craig, before you remove the hubs they must be in the lock position for them to come off in one piece.
AnswerID: 84819

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 15:18

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 15:18
Hi Craig,
I have found by experiance that if one goes into 4wd for some serious work then it pays to lock the hubs in manually this stops the unlocking and locking when rocking back and forth therefore stopping any ratcheting that sometimes can happen.
Like the others have said it is relativly easy to undo the 6 allen key bolts and service this area as well as adjust the wheel bearings if need be. As for the hubs needing to be in the locked position I do not know but I think mine were in the unlocked / Auto mode when i removed them. They are not the same as the standard free wheeling hubs.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 84893

Reply By: Get1 - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 22:00

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 22:00
Thanks for your advice guys. This afternoon I had a go and took one off while in the manually locked position, it came off no worries, so tried the other side in the auto position and that came off just as easy.

I found a little philips head screw had come out on the RH side, there is a locking plate of some sort on the stub with two philips head screws holding it in place. One of these was out. I hope this was the problem from last w/e.

I packed heaps of grease inside each hub and bolted them back on. I will have to wait until next time off road to see if this fixed my problem.

Thanks Craig
AnswerID: 84937

Follow Up By: govo - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 22:20

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 22:20
Ummmm ..guys.. a word of advise...when your in hi 4wd or low 4wd and the auto hubs are locked in..they won't unlock in reverse untill you go back to 2wd
FollowupID: 343588

Follow Up By: Get1 - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 22:26

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 22:26
Yes that is my experience as well. I have never found them unlocking while rocking back and forth so to speak to get out of a tricky sand situation. They have been very reliable until the last trip.
FollowupID: 343589

Follow Up By: howie - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 10:30

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 10:30
never felt hubs unlocking in sticky situations going forwards or backwards, but as people, who i think know more than me about cars,(which is not hard) have told me it can jump out of 4wd. i have occasionally locked them manually if faced with a long hard day.
is this an urban myth? hopefully somebody can unravel the truth.

nb also, while the truth is being unravelled, if you are going forward,change to 2wd, 4wd light stays on.
ease off the gas/take load off transmission, light goes out.
is the light a true indication of the hubs state of lockidupness (new word)
FollowupID: 343630

Reply By: Member - Michael- Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 10:22

Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 10:22
Hey Govo and Get1
I know from experience that if hubs are locked in in auto Hi or low and you reverse for 1wheel rev you will hear a distinct click as they unlock go back another rev and they will lock back in again.
BTW a mate of mine whos has a GU got caught by this when he first tried his truck on the sand at Lancelin. He was in soft sand, auto lock engaged got bogged -yes tyre pressures were reduced, while rocking back and forth was OK until front wheels turned 1 rev and CLICK, 2wd only.
You can try this on the road Stop wind window down engage auto 4wd and take off slowly, you should hear a distinct click as auto 4wd engages, stop reverse past 1wheel rev and you will hear a distinct click 4wd has disengaged(dash board indicatormay still be on but you are in 2wd) keep reversing and you will hear another click as 4wd re-engages.
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 85133