Generators or Alternators

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 21:52
ThreadID: 17910 Views:3388 Replies:7 FollowUps:14
My thoughts are that you already have a wonderful power supply sitting underneath your bonnet in the form of your car's alternator.

Why would you bother with a generator when you can simply idle your car and put out much higher amps than a generator will produce.

Your car's engine may use a bit more juice on idle than a generator, but balance this against the cost of purchasing a genny and I reckon you will be ahead.

Any thoughts?

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 22:05

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 22:05
Hi Jimbo

I think it depends how long you go away for and how much gear you want to run. For a few days to a week, we run everything off the 4WD and gas. When we go to somewhere like Sandy Cape, fraser island for 3 weeks straight, wouldn't be without my honda EU20i (14 hours using 4L petrol). We take a truckload more gear (tucker box freezer, bar fridge etc.) and more lights to fraser. We use the 4wd each day up on the beach, it would be a pain in the arsse to hook and un-hook gear to the 4wd.
Just my thoughts
cheers, this should be fun

Adam
AnswerID: 84938

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 23:45

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 23:45
Im a long way down the road with the manufacturers of these welders and power ghenerators as well as battery isolators for import to Aus.
AnswerID: 84951

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 00:43

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 00:43
Hmm, vewy interwesting....

What kinda $$$$ we lookin' at??

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 343601

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 00:51

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 00:51
With free trade from Jan 1st these things will be dirt cheap, right?
FollowupID: 343602

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 06:39

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 06:39
I'm intrigued; how does it produce "High frequency Direct Current"?
http://www.mobi-arc.com/application.htm
Product Highlights

From their website I had a lot of trouble working out what it actually was, it seems to be a switch mode supply which runs off 12V and produces the voltage and current required for welding, is that correct?

FollowupID: 343605

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 00:52

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 00:52
Good idea for a quick charge with one of those AGM or gell batteries Jim but with a conventional deep cycle it will have to idle for hours, probably end up with glazed bores.
AnswerID: 84953

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 07:12

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 07:12
That's true.

I have an AGM so my viewpoint is somewhat skewed.
FollowupID: 343607

Follow Up By: R.E.P.C.O. - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 08:21

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 08:21
I bought solar panels and would never stuff around again with car alternators or carrying petrol for generators
I no longer have to bother about flat or charging batteries
The battery does not charge from the car and is total solar
Bloody magic this power from the sun
FollowupID: 343612

Reply By: Flash - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 07:20

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 07:20
Jimbo,
The next time somebody camps near me and runs their (foul smelling) engine for ages to charge their battery I'm in danger of suffering road rage.

1. You'll use HEAPS more gas than a small quiet generator like a Honda inverter. (Even they should NOT be used when you are camped close to others, unless you ask first AND share the power.)
2.By running your car you'll pollute the enviroment HEAPS more also.

We go out of the "big smoke" to get peace, quiet and fresh air. Then somebody runs a 4litre engine to trickle charge a battery (that's all it'll do) and spoils it all.
I'm not alone in this view, I can assure you. A few months ago I witnessed a nasty "punch up" over something similar- not something I would condone under any circumstances, but that's what you risk by spoiling other's fresh air and peace!
AnswerID: 84958

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 10:11

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 10:11
Jimbo
The problem with what you suggest is that the charge rate is set by the most charged battery. In this case it will always be the starter battery as this has by far the higher acceptance rate.

The alternator takes its voltage reference (that tells it what to put outl) from the starter battery. This will literally recharge the starter battery (to a max of about 70%) within a minute or two. But even though the charging batteries are in parallel, the deep cycle battery will only receive a partial charge because the alternator regulator has cut it right back.

If practicable and affordable for you, solar is a better way - as it will charge a conventional lead-acid battery very close to 100%. It also gives you a really useful electrical backup in the event of vehicle alternator failure.

Am not totally convinced though of the belief re cylinder glazing - city-based cars used for commiting spend a large p[art of their lives idling in traffic - and do not appear to suffer accordingly.

If you really do need to charge via the engine it may help to know that the alternator generates about 60% of max output at little above idle, and virtually all of it by 2000 rpm.

I should perhaps add that our entire 10-acre house, workshop, swimming pool, and irrigation system in the Kimberley is 100% solar powered (has been for five years). The (mostly heavy steel framed) house is also believed to be unique in Oz in that it was also built using solar only. We used the system even for big angle grinders and arc welders.
Collyn Rivers

My OKA lights, fridge, satphone etc has also been running on solar for the past eight years - and has not run out power once in that length of time.
Collyn Rivers
FollowupID: 343626

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 10:13

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 10:13
In above 'commiting' should read 'commuting'.
Collyn
FollowupID: 343627

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 11:22

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 11:22
What needs to be done here Colin is to disconnect the main battery from the system so the aux bat can accept a higher charge. Have a look at ozi's website site where such a system is explained.

Can you see any problem with this, it's under "odds & sods" "battery & electrics"

http://users.bigpond.net.au/goldway/
FollowupID: 343638

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 12:28

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 12:28
Mad Dog

The system you mention is offered commercially by a couple of vendors. It helps but is only a partial solution (with deep cycle batteries) as one is still stuck with charging a battery with high internal resistance (and hence a low charge acceptance rate) with too low a charging voltage.

The inevitable result is a battery that cannot be charged beyond 70% and a charging rate from 55%-60% (of charge} onwards at only a very few amps. Upgrading the alternator does not help as the same charging regime as before is imposed by the regulator.

The only way to fully charge a deep cycle battery in realistic time is by charging to 15 volts during a boost stage, dropping back to about 14.1-14.2 for an absorbtion period, and then down again to float.

A UK company (Sterling) is looking at doing this via a dc-dc converter that (a) charges the starting battery (b) disconnects the starter battery from being charged and charge the deep cycle battery as I described.

For motorhomes and caravans I am increasingly recommending that the deep cycle battery be charged only by solar - not least because a good solar regulator charges as described above 9at up to 15 volts).

I switched my OKA over to this about six years ago and it works really well. Following my recommending this at a CMCA seminar in 1991, at least 200 CMCA members have done this themselves and found it works simply and well.

I believe the simplest, but costly, solution for 4WDs is to switch to AGM batteries. These charge fully and very fast from as little as 14.1 volts. They also withstand deep discharging very much better.

When considering cost bear in mind that their ability to be charged to (say) 95% and discharged to 20% (remaining) enables 75% of their nominal capacity to be used.

By comparison a conventional battery only charges to 70% (ie from a standard alternator/regulator) and cannot safely be taken much below 40% (remaining) without long term damage. Thus only 30% of nominal capacity is available. Even if you are prepared to kill it in infancy by discharging to 20% - there's still only 55% available.

As a matter of interest much of the above was set out by Peukert in 1897. It will not be of wide interest - but if you want to know about it it is on my website.
Collyn Rivers
FollowupID: 343645

Follow Up By: Utemad - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 14:59

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 14:59
I do use my engine to charge my batteries however I don't run the engine in the campsite as whether it would annoy anyone else I don't know but it would certainly annoy me LOL. I charge it by driving the car everyday as I would anyway. However I can go without charging for one day and still be ok.

My dual battery system consists of two cranking batteries, a relay and a switch. The batteries are isolated unless the key is in the ON position. However I can flick a switch and disconnect the main battery to charge the second battery faster.

I have looked into solar but as yet have not needed a second charging unit. The longest we go away for is nine days atm.

People running their engines or generators in campsites does annoy me. However if camping at the beach if they ran their engine while down on the beach it wouldn't be heard over the surf anyway.
FollowupID: 343677

Reply By: Top Cat - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 10:51

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 10:51
Personally I love the idea of solar panels............those that are using them, can u give an idea of what happens when its cloudy and also what sort of costs are involved to get it set up???

And I second the idea of NOT having an engine idling or even a bloody generator running.........I go bush to get some peice and quiet and that includes from myself.................If I had some fool try and set up camp with one of them running next to me then I would have a few words to say also.

If you need to take every bit of electrical equipment available to man..........including DVDs I hear some people mention...........then why do u bother leaving home????
AnswerID: 84983

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 12:38

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 12:38
Top Cat

I fear this is too big a topic to precis for a website answer!

Briefly: Peak Sun Hour maps show average irradiation and take into account typical cloud cover. From those one can reliably estimate what's likely to happen.

Charge rarely drops to zero but heavy cloud can cut it by 50-60%.

Cost depends totally on what you want to run - but it is not really practicable for fridges bigger than about 180 or so litres.

It is essential to get the sums right initially - but if that is done then the system will work very well indeed. If not, then not.

I am in the embarrasing situation here in that there are only four Australian-written books that cover this - and I wrote three of them.

So I'll honour the system by mentioning only that of my competitor Tasman Energy.

Collyn Rivers
FollowupID: 343649

Follow Up By: Top Cat - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 14:58

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 14:58
Thanks for that..........Im a sparky so will look into it further.

Certainly have no plans to run anything more than a small esky sized fridge........I would be looking at using the solar panels to keep the 12v batteries charged and thats all.

FollowupID: 343676

Follow Up By: Solar Panel - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 20:38

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 20:38
Cost for solar panels is $650.00 each for 100w panels and then a regulator and battery. 2 x 100w panels is considered a minimum and will give you ample power to run up to a 60 litre fridge, lights and bit of other gear.
Type of battery you select and solar regulator is dependent if this system is going to be used full time or on a casual basis.
I will post a peak sun hour map on my website in the next day or two and post a link here.
FollowupID: 343730

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 17:39

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 17:39
Yep Jim - if you aren't going to cause offence to other campers, start up the donk, prop the pedal with a stick etc so it runs up to about 1200 rpm or so and leave it for 30 minutes or so - I reckon you are on the money - you HAVE the gennie under the bonnet - its a fact ! Now if noise is an issue (and it pays to be a good camper) then alternatives have to be found. With my style of bush camping, it has not been an issue to date.....if we are in a caravan park, we take power - if we are in the bush, we are not camped by strangers anyway - if we are with friends, we agree on a start up time !
AnswerID: 85065

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 20:59

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 20:59
Topcat

If you'd care to drop me an email I will be able to assist more (my background is research engineering, but that included both electrical engineeering and electronics - so we speak same language).

It is difficult for me to respond beyond what I have already without breaching the site's self-promotional obligations.
Collyn
FollowupID: 343733

Reply By: Wok - Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 06:37

Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 06:37
Jimbo,

I gather from your rig info you have the AGM in the cabin?...I am looking at doing the same thing. Could you please advice:

1. brand & size [aH] of AGM you chose
2. how did you hold it down? [I felt the boxes from Supercheap,AutoBarn etc were too filmsy]

AnswerID: 85109