80 series as good as they say and what to lookout for
Submitted: Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 14:15
Davoe
Going to have a look at a 94 80s standardon sun/mon it has l/r fuel tanks, 2 spares
water tank winch bar /winch with duel batterys, 200k asking 16,000 He has had it for 2 years before that it was a geological exploration vehicle ( dont worry if it it has been abused out bush I will pick it up straight away as I have worked for these companys). I was originally thinking of a ute but this sounds ok as it has all the gear, is in the price range and year and km range I had in mind. Are you 80s happy with them? are they significantly smaller than a 100 which are to wide, and any suggestions of what to look out for. (I have seen enough stuffed utes most of which should apply to an 80)
btw if I buy I will have a hj campervan for sale 10k of work in last 3 years double bed, sink, stove just fully serviced suit retired couple wanting to do a lap of honour but thought they couldnt afford the setup
Reply By: phantom - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 14:31
Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 14:31
Hey Davoe,
You can't go wrong with a good 80. I have had my '93 since '96 and it has never missed a beat. Only criticism is that it is heavy on fuel but I live with that cos it's perfect in every other way. I lov my Toy. Manual gearboxes are also a bit sus but I bought an auto for ease of winching my 4 ton boat out of the
water without relying on the handbrake.
You will enjoy i am sure.
Follow Up By: Davoe - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 15:04
Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 15:04
I assume thats a petrol I am looking at adiesal
Follow Up By: phantom - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 15:42
Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 15:42
Yes Davoe, I have a petrol 4.5. Diesel is good !
Reply By: tour boy - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 14:44
Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 14:44
Davoe, check for chassis cracking around the front of the steering box and the panhard rod mount near the steering box.
other than that top truck glad i'm back in one.
In case you didn't see the followup from yesterday my dual cab 80 was privately owned all its life not a mines truck.
tour Boy
Follow Up By: Davoe - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 15:09
Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 15:09
ta, I was just being cheeky the converted 80s and now 100s are used quite a bit in mining (who else has enough money) most you see at auction would be ex miners. My first job in mining we had a duel cab hzj 75 duel cab with full length tray and it wasnt like the dinky back seats you usually see either with more than enough room to stretch out. If it hadnt been kept till it was stuffed (too expensive to replace) it would have had alot of potential. There were still buyers lined up for it
Reply By: Member - Jack - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 17:05
Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 17:05
I have a '91 model 80 Series Diesel and love it.
Gearbox can be a bit notchy, but you can drive around that. Economy is fine with
mine. On a trip to
Cameron Corner my mate was filling his petrol model with $90 worth and
mine was costing $60 for the same distance, so I was happy with that.
Mine is non-turbo, so it does not get anywhere in a hurry, but it lumbers along to my satisfaction. Given I can only do 100 kph anyway it does not matter. It has taught me patience : )
Headlights on my model are almost worthless, but I stuck some
driving lights on and they do the job. I may end up putting in a Pirahna loom for the headlights at some later stage and fitting it out with some Hella inserts. Cracks around the chassis has already been covered, and worth a look before you shell out your "hard earned...".
I service
mine every 5000km, it now has 250,000km, blows no smoke (except in the Alpine regions - my diesel hates altitude), and just keeps going. At about 230,000km I had to get a new power steering pump installed, but apart from that I have not had a moments trouble with it at all. I expect to to be going strong at 500,000km if I take care of it.
Oh, and it does get offroad, mainly long distance touring. I do not take it "rock hopping" though.
I think there is very litle difference between the size of the 80 and 100 series. Reason I say this is that I installed a set of those Red Desert drawers, which were designed for a 100 series. They went straight in, apart from me having to just trim off the sides of the plywood top about 1/2" both sides to get a snug fit. It fitted the same bolt holes etc that are in the 100 series.
Hope it is a good one - it will serve you
well. Can't see me geting rid of
mine.
Jack
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 17:08
Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 17:08
Just another thought - keep an eye on eBay. I have found a heap of bits for
mine, including steel bullbar ($250 - no dings), rear wheel carrier ($300), OME 50mm lift
suspension (almost new - $310, incL OME Shockers),
driving lights (Narva - $150 new), Uniden
UHF Radio plus a heap of other goodies.
Jack
Follow Up By: Davoe - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 17:30
Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 17:30
ta - thats whats making me think about it even though I want a ute - it already has most of what you would need rear wheel carrier
water tank winch bar and winch and I bought 2 sets of hellas last week for $50. As for Narva they are only good for bitumen use. I have gone through 2 pairs as they just jump out and smash. Currently I am getting a better run out of $80 trifa lights.
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 20:51
Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 20:51
Interesting ...
My Narvas have been good - and outlasted my mate's Hellas 2:1 travelling the same
routes. He now has Narvas too.
Jack
Follow Up By: Davoe - Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 18:22
Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 18:22
I heard the new ones were better
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 21:31
Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 21:31
Hi Davoe:
That might be right too ...
mine are the blue ones, and I have only had them for about a year now, but on two solid trips wieth a lot of corrugations they stood up to it when my mate's Hellas snapped brackets and mountings. He was soooo p...'d off that my "el cheapos" were intact. Could have been luck - who knows.
Jack
Reply By: 80scruiser - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 20:41
Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 20:41
Gday Davoe
My 92 GXL diesel has been in the family since new.
273800 km now with no dramas. Put a new clutch in it at 270 000 not worn out only the damper bushes gone causing rattleing. I tried an after market Daiken brand with no success so I put a genuine Toyota clutch in, No dramas now.
I just put a Denco turbo on last week and what a difference.
I use it as my work vehicle (mechanical repairs) and club trips every month. Love it and highly recommend them.
Electric mirrors are fragile so check they aren't wobbling around when you drive and the centre diff lock switch on the transfer case can play up causing the light on the dash not to operate. These aren't cheap at just over 100 bucks. Hang on yours is standard part time 4wd so won't have that switch. 94 model should have disc rear end so watch the hand brake as they aren't much chop. Its common for them to leak a power steering pump but a seal kit through them will get you buy. About 65 bucks from Toyota. Radiators can start to leak around 250 000 k's.
Usual wear and tear but I suppose.
Sounds like your mind is made up so enjoy.
Reply By: ianmc - Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 00:24
Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 00:24
Dont these jiggers run a Hilux front axle which has been of concern. Also Toyota
dropped the turbo model real quick as they ran bearings, OK if you pick up on it before they get too bad.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 00:50
Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 00:50
I think the 8" Hilux diff is ok. The 7" IFS diff along with the cv's are a worry though.
Follow Up By: Davoe - Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 18:24
Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 18:24
I have driven enough 75s and 78s to know the squeeling about the front diffs is crap
Follow Up By: 80scruiser - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 10:56
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 10:56
The turbo model came out across all the years.
Only the early engines had bearing problems and only some.
The problem was Toyota had two company's supplying bearings and one of these delaminated. The only drama was Toyota had no idea which set of bearings went into what chassis numbers so it was pot luck.
Front diffs haven't been a problem. The rear ones usually require re setting up around the 200 000 - 300 000 k mark. A set of bearings and set the preload and your done.
As for Hilux front axles, first I have heard.
Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 09:33
Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 09:33
I have 96 STD with most of the gear and can't fault it.
Have looked at upgrading several times but just can't bring myself to do it.
Only complaint I have is the fact that there's no tacho but an aftermarket job fixes that
Reply By: ianmc - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 11:44
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 11:44
Davoe, have a look at a 80 series diff then compare with your 75-78 which I believe is heavier.
Many rarely use the front diff even in the big round OZ trek so I guess most may not have trouble with them.
Seems to me that the manufacturers of both cars & 4wds are boosting engine torque enormously with new models but without always giving a commensurate increase in
component size.
eg My 91 Triton has a 9" rear & 8" front for , by 2004 standards, a low powered motor. (dont tell me about the gearboxes!) Compare that with the bigger motors with say 400nm of torque. Also the
suspension which looks similar to later trucks with about 2300kgs compared with 1550 kgs must need greater care in the rough.
Follow Up By: Davoe - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 10:58
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 10:58
nuh! you just had me on the ground comparing front diffs on a 75, 78 and a 100 with a ruler - they are all the same and I have no reason to believe an 80 is different. The exception is the hj75 (finished in 1990) they had same size diffs back and front and the centres are actually interchangable. And by the way I have used 78s underground which involves driving flat out in low3rd and going backwards uphill hearly as much as going forwards on top of my extensive xperience driving these things I can assure you the front diffs are up to it