Fraser Island and Caravan

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 22, 2002 at 00:00
ThreadID: 1797 Views:2417 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
I like to know if someone has experience in caravaning on fraser Island?
IS it possible to go to some places to stay there?
Thanks for the response
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: greg g - Friday, Aug 23, 2002 at 00:00

Friday, Aug 23, 2002 at 00:00
Hi,
without knowing the size of the van or type of towing veicle the question is a little hard to answer.I have towed quite a heavy off road camper trailer with a diesel 4Runner and a friend a Jayco Eagle with a petrol Patrol.You could certainly go up the eastern beach at low tide up as far as Waddy Point which is about as far North you would want to camp anyway.When the Toyota Fishing Classic is on in May,there are
huge boats and vans towed up the beach from the barge at Inskip Point.The only soft patches are where the barge leaves and arrives.I have no experience in comming over from the Hervey Bay side but not a lot of people camp on that side anyway especially in the warmer months.
Once on the beach access to good camping spots above the high water mark should not be a problem.Inland camping spots would definately be more difficult to get to especially with the tourist busses on some of the narrow tracks..Any how if your veichle can tow your van over a bit of soft sand go for it ..best to go when Qld School Holidays are NOT on..Regards Greg G
AnswerID: 5962

Follow Up By: Threisinger - Friday, Aug 23, 2002 at 00:00

Friday, Aug 23, 2002 at 00:00
Hi Gereg,

thanks for the response. It is quit helpful. The car will be a toyota Landcruiser and the caravan a 18ft one. I think I will t4ry it. We will be there in mid of October.
Regards Thomas
FollowupID: 2597

Reply By: greg g - Saturday, Aug 24, 2002 at 00:00

Saturday, Aug 24, 2002 at 00:00