lightforce driving lights

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 22:55
ThreadID: 17972 Views:5800 Replies:12 FollowUps:4
Hi all.
Went to the 4x4 show today (perth). Lightforce driving lights caught my eye.
Is anyone useing these, and what is your opinion of them.
Thanks in advance brian

Reply By: hoyks - Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 23:08

Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 23:08
I have a set of 170's and think they are great. They are a lot lighter than glass lights I have had in the past and being lighter don't shake on bumps like heavier ones do. Focusing although looking like a novelity can be handy too.
AnswerID: 85208

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 00:30

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 00:30
I have 240 XGT's very very good.
Contact Member - Eric on this site for the best price in Australia.

AnswerID: 85212

Follow Up By: Kata - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 03:09

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 03:09
Hi John,

thanks for info re ERIC as I am also a newbie here...

....and have learnt so much in the last 2 weeks or so that i found this forum after doing a google search..

I was also looking into the lightforce driving lights

What is the difference between 170 and 240 lightfoces???

Much of a muchness between them or 240 are way brighter

BTW: How do we newbies contact (i.e. members) as when you follow member links to send them an email....link states members only...

Kon(aka Kata)
kon_k@iprimus.com.au

FollowupID: 343813

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 08:40

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 08:40
Kon, the 240s look G R A N D to start with but I understand brighter to be behind. Will go that way when I put lights on the front. The numbers refer to the diameter............
FollowupID: 343816

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 18:25

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 18:25
Kon to contact Eric, Click on Business search on the tabs at the top of the page.
Enter Eric into search engine and he comes up as Eric Christopher Car wholesalers.
His contact details are listed including email.
He will be happy to help.

FollowupID: 343843

Reply By: Member - Jack - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 07:02

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 07:02
For Kata:

" BTW: How do we newbies contact (i.e. members) as when you follow member links to send them an email....link states members only... "

You join. Not expensive, and your membership money helps keep this site running so that all can benefit. The help and advice I have received from here has more than covered the cost of Memberhip and renewal. Alternatively, if you buy a bit of stuff from the Shop, you can get a free membership. Check it out.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 85216

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 08:36

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 08:36
I have the 240XGT's on the Patrol and they're excellent, strong and light and give out great light. Also agree with John's assertion re Member Eric, he is able to source them at a really good price and is in Melbourne too which was handy for me.

Now the 240 Blitx and 170's too are adjustable from pencil to spread and still robust and the light output is also excellent too your choice.

If you email me (click on rig/profile or my pic for my email) I may be able to provide Erics email.

All the best Lightforce are great.

AnswerID: 85222

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (SA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 12:50

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 12:50
They are great lights. I have a set on one of the work cars - much better than the IPFs we had on the previous vehicle. Only hassle I can see is that if you mount the lights where you can see them from the driver's seat, you get some light reflected back from the edges of the clear covers, which can be annoying.

Oodnadatta
AnswerID: 85247

Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 12:52

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 12:52
Brian,

I replaced a set of hella 100's with a set of LF 170'S, couldn't beleive the improvement, on a recent trip to Merimbula (left Melb at 3pm arrived at 10pm) I saw more wildlife on the sides of the road than ever before(I do this trip a few times a year as my folks have retired up there) even saw a Deer race back into the scrub way up a ahead, now maybe just coincidence with there being more wildlife than usual, but I honestly reckon I was picking up roos before they had time to move.

The 140's 170's 240's all relate to the diamater, people i have spoken to who have gone from the 170's to the 240's are impressed with the improvement again, the 240's are possibly the best driving light available, if you can afford'em and they'll fit your bar...............get'em

Browny
AnswerID: 85248

Reply By: Matt (W.A.) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 13:04

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 13:04
Brian,
1 Word Describes the LF 240's UNREAL!!
AnswerID: 85249

Follow Up By: Member - T-bone (ACT) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 12:12

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 12:12
Too bloody right! I've had my 240s installed for a couple of years now and couldn't be happier. Did "The Big Trip" last year - 22,000km over the Gunbarrel Hwy / GRR / Tanami / Simpson / Oodnadatta, and they didn't (and still haven't) give any problems at all. Light output is phenomenal, durability is great, the mounting system is robust & very secure... I can't say enough good things about them.

T-Bone.
FollowupID: 343914

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 16:49

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 16:49
I have the 170's - seem an excellent product (though not used a lot - only on occasions) - stuck in the city -get bush or cruising as often as possible.
I like the design and the range of pop on protectors - clear/spread/fog etc. AND you can adjust all models for pencil or spread ! Note the big ones still use the same globe as the smaller ones but have a much higher candle rating - if you have room for the bign's, might be the go.
AnswerID: 85264

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 20:25

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 20:25
G'day Brian,

Like all the others have said, Lightforce simply leaves all other brands for dead. I have had a set of 240 Blitz for over 3 years. They've done 2 Cape York trips. On the most recent of these trips, I had a couple of mates in their vehicles as company. Both of them had other brands. One had Narva lights which shook themselves into the next life before we even got to Weipa. The other bloke had KC Daylights (I think that's what they're called). Although they didn't break, they kept shaking themselves to all sorts of funny angles...never stayed facing the front!!
Mine never moved. If you've never been to the Cape, you can't begin to imagine how punishing the corrogations are on EVERYTHING. They were so bad that the wiper stork on my steering column kept flicking the wipers ON.

As for brightness....they are unequalled unless you go for the HID types.....even then, I'd venture to say that a lot of the cheaper HID brands are probably only marginally brighter than the Blitz or XGT models. Note that these 2 are effectively the same light but in different casings. The XGT is in the same casing that Lightforce's HID is built in.
AnswerID: 85290

Reply By: Cruisergxl - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 12:34

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 12:34
I have the blitz 240s and really like them.

After I had fitted them I went out locally in the suburbs to test them, thought they were bloody useless as the road didn't light up much more until I noticed the two bright spots on a highrise about 500m away!! great after I adjusted them a little lower.

I like the interchangeable covers too that means you can change them from pencil to spread, there is also a cover that is half pencil half spot which is quite neat.

Best of all I think they are made in Adealide.

Also very handy for pointing out the error of their ways to idiots with fog lights on :)

AnswerID: 85362

Reply By: flappan - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 13:54

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 13:54
I've got 170's on my Pajero , and with the lenses can easily see the letterbox numbers on both sides of main roads (important for my job).

the 240's would probably fry them off.

The 240's will replace a set of IPF 900's ASAP.
AnswerID: 85379

Reply By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 13:59

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 13:59
I've got 240 Blitz's as well - They're fine.

Our outback trip was a good test - my mate has XGT's better looking but his kept moving all the time (corrugations). He was reluctant to crank 'em up for fear the "plastic" would break. But on return the Lightforce people said you can tighten them up and that they are very hard to over tighten so he has and they are fine. I didn't have any trouble with mine.

Interesting side note: we went through a bit of mud/slush and the covers got pretty dirty. When we removed them to clean the lights were spotless - the covers work really well. I have one spread beam cover and one clear cover which seems to work OK.

I haven't seen a lot of other lights so can't really compare but am very happy with them.

Gaz
AnswerID: 85385