New NM Pajero diesel, good or bad
Submitted: Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 23:03
Member - Pesty (SA)
Hi all, Father in law is thinking of buying a new diesel pajero to travel and tow 20 foot van, looking for power and economy and general reliability, any feedback would be welcomed.
Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 23:17
Saturday, Nov 20, 2004 at 23:17
G'day Pesty
only minor feedback, but here it is.
My Mate has had 2 x Patrols in a row. Did about 350 K in each. Time to sell the current GU, it's starting to cost him biggish biccies.
So, what to buy? I went with him on a test drive of another brand, we starting discussing the options...cut a long story short ......he has ordered a deisel pajero exceed, but with out the DVD's & all that crap.
It appears that Mitsubishi are pretty keen to do business at the moment.
My own recent experience in the current model Paj was quite favourable, and I have stopped scoffing at that brand, as of that one day trip in serious, rough,
Flinders ranges country.
However, can't comment about towing.
c ya round somewhere,
Reply By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 01:03
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 01:03
Hi Pesty,
Been looking about for a Np/Nm diesel and as scarce as rocking horse stuff. A dealer down my way lent me a petrol Nm after I told him I wasnt sure that they can cart my 2000kg van about.. We hitched it up and was surprised that it towed it about like it wasnt there.. no doubt the deiso would chomp it up . It impressed me ...gave me thoughts of how the ol' cruiser handled towing. It sold me. mem message me if you want more details
Reply By: Lynn2 - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 07:37
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 07:37
We have owned an NM Petrol paj and now have an NP Diesel paj. Both cars towed our 17ft dirt road van like a dream, however, the reason our 2nd paj is diesel is because of the economy issue. Much, much, much cheaper to run when towing and much more 'grunt'.
You might like to check out the website www.pajeroclub.com.au and check their
Forum, I'm sure economy issues have been discussed there. Good luck!
Reply By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 08:23
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 08:23
Steve,
Friend of
mine just got back this week after a 3 month trip with his diesel Paj towing 17 foot van.
Up the centre, across to Qld, and down the coast.
Worst case was 18 l/100 km
Best case was 14 l / 100 km
He knew the van was there, and travelled at 90 kmh. A couple of times, it got fairly ordinary during some storms in Queensland, because the van is perhaps a little too large for the Paj as far as weight ratio's were concerned, bear in mind..... these are the very same storms we read about in our local papers here in
Adelaide..... quite violent.
He is going to email me his trip report, showing km travelled and fuel used. I will see if I can get you a copy.
Wolfie
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 09:31
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 09:31
Pesty, Have friends with both model diesels and they rave about them. Theyre not your average hardcore Patrol/Cruiser, but for towing and tripping around they are very good. As sadi above MrBishi is doing excellent deals on them at the mo with the works, and the diesel engine does have heaps of grunt. I wouldnt hesitate on buying one again (I had a 87 Paj a while ago before I became a Patrol man) as they have most NVH issues sorted
well and dust etc is a non-concern. One can get a moderate lift on them to make them more offroad friendly and dice the standard tyres for something a little stronger and you're set.
Offroad its not always what you're driving but how you drive it, we got our leaf sprung 2.2l TD Paj into
places that Cruiser men scoffed at us being there. (Mind you I am not sure his Mum and Dad were married when he was born, but thats another story). I reckon they're a great piece of kit
Follow Up By: mr diamond - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 16:29
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 16:29
what would one use to
water a camel?????
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 19:47
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 19:47
You could use a watering can , or a hose Mr Diamond...didya notice the number plate? BONZA PLACE ehe?
Reply By: harry5 - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 12:18
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 12:18
GREAT CAR I would recommend the auto for towing.Economy wise i tow a 505mtr van and get roughly the same economy as around town.Without the van on a trip the best ihave had was 910kl for 75 or 73 lits,Plus unlike some 4x4s you can tow in any gear
Reply By: MrBitchi - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 09:14
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 09:14
Pesty,
Have the NM Petrol and it's fantastic. It tows my camper trailer no problems.The diesel is the second most powerful deisel available at 121 KW (second only to the Cruiser Turbo deisel)
It will tow all day no problems.
The Pajero Club
forum is a good place to ask about this vehicle.