Utemad
Has anyone got one of these?
I'm just wondering what the deal is with them being a fridge and freezer. It appears that the only thing that makes it a fridge and freezer is the removable dividing wall. Does it freeze the smaller compartment and then the larger compartment is insulated from the smaller section thus only some cooling gets to the larger section so it is warmer than the smaller section?
How long have people had their Waecos for and what problems if any have you had? We've never had a problem with the Engels but they are friggin expensive.
I've decided to start looking into getting my own fridge instead of using the work Engels. As I have a trip coming up that I can't get a work fridge for.
The CF-80 would appear to have a better internal layout than an Engel 60 combi never mind the price difference.
Thanks all.
Reply By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 14:55
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 14:55
Hi there utemad,
I have one.
You are correct, the dividers determine how your fridge works.
if you leave them out, your fridge becomes 1 huge fridge.
If you put them between the 2 baskets and you dont allow the lips to overlap (meaning when they sit in there they will touch the lid when it is closed) then your small compartment becomes a freezer.
As for problems...
well none here. More than happy with it.
1 year down the track now and still in top nick. But i look after my stuff as i dont fancy having to keep putting money in retailers pockets.
I agree with you about engels prices, they are a joke and thats why i got the Waeco. Glad i did now though. heaps cheaper and with the change i got the insulated bag plus a power supply for working the fridge a couple of days before i get ready to head out.
P.S. one thing i do with
mine...i freeze one of those flat rectangular bottles and chuck it in the freezer section. I find by doing this it will have longer intervals between start-ups. big difference i noticed. next trip i will also try same in fridge side too and see if that helps as
well. Not that its needed mind you. But saving batteries as much as i cna is always a good thing for peace of mind.
Cheers Angelo
Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:23
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:23
Thanks Angelo.
It seems like a pretty good idea to have a removable divider. Our 80L Engel Combo has the two permanent compartments but we often don't use the freezer section.
Well actually we only use the freezer section as this means we can use less power but then the fridge section is too warm to be of any use. The option of having only an 80L fridge would be great for day trips and shorter
camping trips.
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 17:59
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 17:59
Extra info
we bought a 110 for ourselves and a 80 for our son. He flogged it around the bush for over 12 months before he changed jobs. He used to turn it on on the way to town. 650 ks and fill it up on the way back with milk cream and everything good.
Never missed a beat and still going.
We used ours all the way from
Adelaide,
Alice springs across the Tanami then up the
Gibb river road right across through
Darwin and into Qld and back down through
longreach. As you can see it went through all different seaons and the only problem we had was when we did short trips in and out of a gorge with out enough time to charge the battery.
We had it divided up into fridge and freezer all the way with the other side chock a block full of cryovaced meat. We had almost enough for the full trip so it had to keep going all the time.
We have also had a 40 litre engels for nearly 25 years and its still going but we got 2 for the price of one virtually and we are quite happy
Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:26
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:26
Thanks Pesty.
I looked at the 110 also. Would I be right in my assumption that the only difference between the 80L and 110L is the height?
I was considering one of these as it is only another $100. However I was concerned that having a fridge bigger than my needs would waste
battery power. I'll need to look into it further.
Reply By: TheUndertaker - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 15:27
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 15:27
When +4 deg in fridge section freezer -16 deg and dairy section at +7 deg. 3.2amp draw 'on' cycle.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 15:48
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 15:48
Does that mean it draws 3.2amps only when the motor is running or averaged over an hour of run time?
The 80L Engel has a min draw of 0.5 and max draw of 5amps.
Follow Up By: TheUndertaker - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 16:26
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 16:26
3.2 amps per hr of ON time.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 16:38
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 16:38
I guess that equates to longer running time from the same battery setup.
How loud is yours? The 80L Combo Engel is ok to sleep near but you can hear it when it is locked in the back of my ute with a canopy on from inside my tent two metres away. I have heard the Waecos are quieter.
Follow Up By: TheUndertaker - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 16:58
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 16:58
Have never taken any real notice of the noise factor,though when think about it would say that is quieter than a "normal" house fridge/freezer oncycleoff.. remember that the 80/110 use a bd50 compressor ,not the bd35 asin the rest of the waeco range so power draw is a little more when cycling on,yet uses less power over a 24hr period due to its deeper/lower freezing capabilities.
Reply By: Utemad - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:26
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:26
Thanks for your help guys.
I picked up a Waeco CF-80 fridge today from Autobarn for $936.75 not bad I reckon.
I also got that fast charger thingy that I mentioned in another post for free. I have no use for it mind you so I think I'll just remove the Hella socket from it and put the rest on the shelf.
Didn't get an AC adapter as I rarely ever plugged the Engels in anyway. Might get one if one comes along at the right price at a later date.
This one certainly seems to cool down quicker than the Engel 80 Combo I've been using. However I'll test it out this weekend at
Inskip Point.
Thanks again.
Follow Up By: TheUndertaker - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:39
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:39
Waiting for Jan 3rd, 4weeks on Morton with new camper trailer, all ally and all the ' good gear',bargain at the show a few weeks ago.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 22:45
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 22:45
mmmmmmmmmmm Moreton. Our family used to go there every year in our G60 Patrol when I was a kiddy. Longest we went was two weeks though. Using a big coldroom type esky and dry ice plus a normal esky for the day stuff and refilling it every morning.
Give me a fridge anyday.
Hope you enjoy your trip.
Have fun playing with your gadgets :-)