Fridge Insulators

Submitted: Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 19:27
ThreadID: 18016 Views:2819 Replies:11 FollowUps:12
After spending the last three days away with the new Waeco CF 80 I am concerned about the power draw and how to make it work better.

Rather than shelling out $150 on an insulated bag I went down to Autobarn and bought a Windscreen Reflector which is essentally platic bubble wrap with alfoil on either side, $10. It fits perfectly over the back wall, top and front wall.

After trying it at home for the last couple of hours the fridge seems to be cycling less frequently.

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 19:41

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 19:41
G'day Jim,
guy I work with used 2 or 3 of those windscreen reflectors, cut them up and made a cover for his Engel. He sais it made a big difference.
AnswerID: 85440

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:27

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:27
aaahaaaa...another Blues Clues

FollowupID: 343996

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 19:45

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 19:45
Jimbo mate...i have the fridge bag and it works a treat...just like my anti-tiger repeller....but seriously the guys at battery world swear by them. My conclonsion is that the jury is still out. Why the concern over power? What sort of aux battery are u using? cheers stu
AnswerID: 85442

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:41

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:41
Stu,

100 amp Lifeline AGM deep Cycle. It recovers quickly with a bit of driving or even idling.

I can keep the power up to the fridge, just trying to minimalise it.

FollowupID: 343998

Reply By: KiwiAngler - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:00

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:00
Don't forget to leave openings for the motor to get cool air to it
AnswerID: 85446

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:42

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:42
Good point, the cover only goes over the front, top and back.

The fans are on the side. I am letting them "breathe".

FollowupID: 344000

Reply By: Utemad - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:15

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:15
I was thinking of using one of those blue foam hiking mattresses. The're made of 10mm high density foam and cost about $10.

Although the reflective coating of the sunvisor might help in sunny areas?
AnswerID: 85450

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:44

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:44
Utie,

A combination of the two may be the ultimate solution.

Thanks'

FollowupID: 344001

Reply By: David Au - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:19

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:19
A CF80 will draw at 30c 84 amps a day
5.5 amps while running
average amps per hour 3.5
yes it is a lot of power
power consumption needs to be a major consideration when buying a fridge
AnswerID: 85451

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:47

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:47
David,

That sounds about right from my brief experience with this fridge.

I'm going to find out the best way to make it more efficient because it's a great unit.

I guess you don't get anything for nothing.

FollowupID: 344003

Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 21:26

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 21:26
This link to Waeco FAQ has a lot of good info. Including some good info on amp draw.

Can't hyperlink it sorry but it just wouldn't work.

http://www.waeco.com.au/includes/media/faq.pdf
FollowupID: 344013

Reply By: Bob H - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 21:58

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 21:58
Jimbo,

Glad you love your 80. Check out the new advertiser Fridge & Solar. There is a good article there by Collin.............(forgot last name) on how to get the best performance from fridges.

AnswerID: 85473

Reply By: ianmc - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 22:30

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 22:30
I use 2" polyurethane foam around my Waeco45l held together with duct tape.
Mightnt look pretty but protects it from bumps & SEEMS to work very well during a recent 10,000km trip to FNG aye!
Yeah why is it that nearly every second guy north of the Brisbane line inserts so many "ayes" into his sentences. Seemed to be non existent south of there.
Anyway I did find 'em mostly friendly apart from one or two shopkeepers who
wanted to rip me off on a hose for my Coleman gas stove.
The coastal strip was SO DRY in October & looking stressed so hope it gets its share of rain this wet.
AnswerID: 85475

Reply By: Catchy snr - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 22:45

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 22:45
Jimbo if you wanted something a little thicker I used the carpet under felt it is asbout 16 mm thick and works a treat cheers Catchy snr
AnswerID: 85478

Reply By: Member - Doug - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 01:37

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 01:37
So who exactly is making the profit out of these $150 fridge bags?
I didn't get one because of the price, but fridge insulation is generally poor.
I do hope it's not the same profiteering as those guys who sell cheap PC printers and then get rich on selling the print cartridges.
Would I be so cynical to believe that the insulation bags come from the fridge makers . . .?
Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog
"nobody said it had to be fair" (my Dad)

AnswerID: 85491

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 10:38

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 10:38
The reported 84 amp/hr/day for a CF80 is about right if it's set below -4 degrees C.

You may pick up a bit via insulation but the vital thing is to ensure that cool air can get in - and that the warm air can readily rise and escape - ideally to atmosphere.
Collyn Rivers

FollowupID: 344050

Follow Up By: David Au - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 19:07

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 19:07
Collyn the power consumption information is spot on correct at +5°C not "set below -4°C".

The information posted is supplied by Waeco and compares with the power consumption figures on a German website.
FollowupID: 344124

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 19:35

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 19:35
Correction: my posting should have read 'if not set below -4 degrees C'.

(David - that's also from a Waeco website - looks as if there's two different lots of data! Probably safer to take the +5 degree C figure).
FollowupID: 344126

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 08:09

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 08:09
anything wraped around will assist....but it really is not neccessary...all right but before you howl me down........ if you want less power draw then get a firdge with lots of insulation and correct vapour barrier and you'll have a efficient fridge ...if the compressor is matched to the evaporator, and etc etc etc,....just watch your consumption ( times you go to the fridge to get out a coldie) and it should'nt be a worry.

The waeco using a condenser fan could or may be considered a litlle less efficient as compared to one that doesnt....but it all depends on several other factors.
AnswerID: 85500

Follow Up By: Wok - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:32

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:32
Nudenut,

What do you mean by 'vapour barrier'?

rgds
FollowupID: 344056

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:26

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:26
We all know that when the veaporator freezes it attracts moisture eh?
refering to the insulation cavity: the evaporator (skin) must be vapour sealed from the ambient skin. Else the coldest part will attract moisture..which condenses on the evaporator wall
this moisture will increase in volume (over time) and totally saturate the insulation cavity. we then have an insulation cavity which is wet and in contact with outer cabinet panels and the evaporator....now moisture is a conductor of heat.

to have a really good vapour barrier would be likening the insulation cavity to a vacuum...but in reality we cant get it this good, but the aim is stop the accumaltion and build up of moisture by stopping the movement of air (which carries moisture) in and around the cavity betwwen the outer skin and evaporator.

if this doesnt make sense send me your email and i'll send a diagram!
FollowupID: 344063

Follow Up By: Wok - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 14:15

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 14:15
Ah, ok, thats the polyurethane bit!...thanks
FollowupID: 344070

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 17:09

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 17:09
Yep to most of the above - trapped air (foam,bubbles, etc) is a great insulator - far as I know the smaller the air pockets the more efficient (light foam should be better) - BUT ally foil plays a big part in the equation - air pockets slow the convected heat but the shiny foil slows the radiated heat ! So a combo of the two should be the best - noted that Thommo of bush cooking notoriety demos that a piece of alfoil on top of the coals on a camp oven lid sends heaps of heat back down into the oven - you can get your hand very close to the foil, but not the coals in the absense of the foil.....ain't science good ?
AnswerID: 85566