80 series worth another look?
Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 10:58
Davoe
Had a look at an 80 last night (94 with 204k) had been owned by an exploration mining company so was kitted out with 2 spares (new owner had replaced 5 with white
wheels and new tyres)
water tank underneath bull bar with hi lift points front and rear spottys and warn winch. There was no service record apart from the last 2 years (new owner) which included timing belt. Initial appearance was the body and paint were good (not perfect) and same underneath with heavy duty springs, iron bull front shocks and monroe rear- no leaks.
Test drove quite
well no squeeks or noises and got up to 140 with no fuss but then ran warm back towards town. Drove it up/down nannygoat
hill (short steep
hill) with no fuss and no clicking from cv on full lock. When back I could smell a faint coolant smell and he said it uses a bit but couldnrt find the leak (neither could I) Coolant was very dirty but there was good flow and no bubbles. There was oil seepage from what appeared to be around the intake manifold on no2 which I couldnt work out and the left front brakes were grabbing and the wheel bearing was very loose (related?) much to his surprise. the rest of the front end was perfect. He was asking 17k for it but said he was happy to work around a figure of 15. So what do you reckon? I was thinking of having it inspected as the problems I found could either be cheap to fix or a few thousand and offering him 15 less the repairs costs
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 11:50
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 11:50
hang on mate, you work for an exploration co. and drive their vehicles, and you want to buy one ????? sounds like its had a hard time. I saw a magnificent stock 80 for sale the other day for $13 in excellent nick. running warm coolant smell, dirty coolant - could add up to a lot of bucks. personally i'd give it a miss.
Follow Up By: Davoe - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:44
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:44
most companys I have worked for are good at there
services and repairs especially exploration vehicles as they are relied upon. For the tough work utes are usually used and the wagons are used by bosses for supervisory work. Most of its 204k should be good country ks however I am just going on what I have personally seen but the fact is I am only guessing. There was no evidence of it having a particulary hard time and the duco and panels were pretty good for an exploration vehicle. There are a few alarm bells ringing though as you mention
Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 18:04
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 18:04
Ah but whether you open a packet of peanuts or a can of worms eh!
my prererence is to get vehicles that are fairly stock and have had an easy life and then put the exact goodies i want onto them , but to each their own i guess. I'm sure Eric could find you a nice tidy unit over here then all you have to do is throw it on the train over west. Good side is that 200k is ok milage for that year rig. Get a few opinions on it if you do want to go ahead, get a workshop to inspect and quote you to get it roadworthy then haggle the price knowing approx. what has to be done. He will probably be fairly open to offers if he doesn't have to lift a finger to offload it.
Reply By: Member - Haldo (Sydney) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 11:55
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 11:55
Get it inspected.
$$$
well spent to know what you're up against.
Unless you are mechanically minded yourself you could find your hip pocket nerve a bit sensitive........
Follow Up By: Davoe - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:46
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:46
that could be the next step, as mentioned I found a few things that either could just need a bit of general maitenance or could be big bickies - need profesional advice
Reply By: 80scruiser - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:24
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:24
It will need a radiator.
Will set you back around the $500 mark then add coolant and time to fit. They can be a bugger.
Follow Up By: Davoe - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:38
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:38
radiator appeared in good physical nick but yair I deffinitly wouldnt buy without the cooling issue sorted - they can be as straightforward as removend the tanks and rodding + a good flush for around $200 or as complicated as mystery problems which invole alot of time and cash to pinpoint
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:11
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:11
Im with you davoe,
if it is ok in body, not rusted out, mechanically can be fixed, all you need is right price.
Personally I would buy as is for best cash deal you can make and fix things yourself, so you know no short cuts were taken.
Sounds like a good major service with new good quality rad, and maybe new maifold gaskets, worst case senario new head gasket, and things look like they are ok. Sounds like a full set w/brgs would also be on the list, which are cheap, at least you know whats been done and whats not.
This is the way i buy vehicles and i always use good parts and do job done properly and you know what you have.
He will only do what he has to to sell it. Sounds like a good honest truck, go for it.
Follow Up By: Davoe - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:17
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:17
no chance of getting the job done properly if old passion fingers here gets a hold of it
Reply By: Howard T - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 16:58
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 16:58
Hi Davoe,
Dont know where you are. I have a 94 STD 80 series with 170k on it. Its in pretty good nick. I am in cent qld. I was looking at a Prado (2nd hand). Dealer offered me
$18k for
mine as a trade so he was going to add a few grand too it to resell it..
Sounds ok if its ok.
Follow Up By: Davoe - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 17:11
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 17:11
I am in kalgoorlie. I was actually after a ute but this 80 with some gear came up so I was having a look. I was planning to go to
perth to look but that means giving up on a couple of days pay then heading to the big smoke, spending 2 days trying to drive from one end of
perth to the other and back again with my head in a street directory (from
adelaide originally) and then being pressured to make a decision before having to head back and then going back in a couple of weeks to sell my campervan - all to hard. If this vehicklle falls through I will probably wait until I get a fifo from
perth job or have a look in
Adelaide if I ever get around to visiting my folks again
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 23:13
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 23:13
At that price Davoe, cut the back off and she would make a great ute.
Dont forget to call in on your way past to
Adelaide,
Clare valley mate should know it if from here.
Reply By: prado_95 - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 23:53
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 23:53
Petrol 80 series will do over 300K km before needing sigificant works if driven sensibly and maintained properly (
well mine has anyway).
Diesels should be able to approach 500K km under the same conditions.
Running warm sounds like blocked radiator (particulary if its had some mud work). $500 plus labour to r/r. If it looses
water then your in for some head work.
Bit rick for a base model tho.
Reply By: CruiserHead - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 11:03
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 11:03
Did you have a look inside the oil cap to see if the coolant is leaking into the motor? I just had this happen to my petrol 60series with a 2F engine, 295000km. Had to recondition the head, new valves, new radiator, hoses, thermostat, gaskets, etc. - cost me just under 2k parts and labour, and this was "mate rates". New genuine toyota radiator was $495 alone.
So: can be cheap, can be expensive. Get it checked out before you buy.
CH