One more 4by in the stable............
Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 19:37
Willem
Today I swapped me old Valiant and bush trailer for a 1984 Landcruiser HJ60 G waggon with 307K on the clock. Changeover cost was $265. This happened at a dealers outlet.
Well, the dealer is setting up a Chrysler museum and my Valiant is in mint condition. Trouble is that I do not have undercover
parking for it and it has started to show small signs of deterioration. So it was time to let it go.
The LC is in reasonable nick. Power steer, 5 speed, aircond, alloy bullbar, spotties, reasonable interior, 5 steel Sunnies and 1 steel ROH, rear wheel carrier and some surface rust here and there. An ideal project vehicle.
With 2 Nissans and a Toyota, no one can call me biased....hahahahaha
Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 20:30
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 20:30
Changeover cost $265. Who paid who (whom) and I reckon a six apck and a bottle of red would have covered the deal nicely. One more toy to while away the hours on Willem.
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 20:43
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 20:43
The money went to the Government from me for some Rego and Stamp Duty and transfer costs. One cannot have enough toys!!!!
Reply By: Member - Haldo (Sydney) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 20:33
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 20:33
Aaah Willem,
you had quantity and now you have quality, good on ya chap.
(watch the can of worms I opened with this........yes, I've been there. I owned my Nissan and had to share the experience so I got an 80.)
Reply By: Nick R - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 20:41
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 20:41
2 N!$$@N$ and a cruiser, sounds about equal to me!!!
NickR
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:04
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:04
Sounds like you got ripped off Willem - $265 for a Cruiser
Reply By: Terry - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 23:06
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 23:06
You are a stronger man than me Willem there`s no way in the world I could ever part with my Valiant.
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:01
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:01
...or be valiant with your part?????
(Sorry, in a silly mood.)
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:15
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:15
I had this notion of owning a classic car. So the Valiant came up about 3 years ago. Since that time I have driven it 1000
miles. Unfortunately there hasn't been nor will there be garage space for the car and I wasn't using it enough to warrant it just sitting there in the open...so it had to go.
Follow Up By: Terry - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:31
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:31
My Valiant for the best part just sits in the shed.For the $400 a year rego it`s lucky to be driven 9 or 10 times a year since my accident 2 years ago.I admit I`ve thought about selling it but everytime I go out to the shed and get in and fire it up and drive it anywhere even just down to the corner
shop it`s like no way am I selling this car.
Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 06:29
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 06:29
I had an old valiant as my work car it was like driving around a lounge chair so cumfurtable.
And traded it in for a 60 great mids think alike.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:51
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:51
Well there you go....Yes the Valiant was very comfortable to cruise around in and very drivable, even without power steering!
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 06:57
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 06:57
Oh what ? A feeling? Dough eater!
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:11
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:11
Be nice Bob...we don't want to start the Landrover wars again....hahahaha
Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 08:03
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 08:03
its nice to see you have finally opend those eyes and selected a real 4by!
hey dont you want airconditioning anymore....poor Judith!!!!
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:11
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:11
Thanks for that Nudie...I sent you a MM on the other matter
Reply By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 08:06
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 08:06
Whats the story Willem ? You starting competition ?
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:25
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:25
Passed that stage mate...I'll leave the comps up to you
young fellas.
Dunno really...too many vehicles in the yard..at least I have reduced the number by one!
Reply By: Davoe - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 11:01
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 11:01
Knew you couldnt do without a real 4by for to long - and by that I am not talking brand I am talking the type of vehicle you give a 5m paint job to and everyone says it looks better or the type that you dont have to shed a tear getting it to where you want. What sort of valiant - I had one of the last cm, bidggest money pit since my current 4by. Also petrol or Diesal. The 2h diesal is a great tough old school donk
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:33
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:33
G'day Davoe,
No, I didn't spend much on the Valiant VC(1967). Just tyres and some cheap shocks on the front.
I am considering a 5m aerosol spray can paint job for the LC. Maybe get some
young fellas to do the job :o) Gotta fix a bit of rust first. The diesel donk has extractors on it and pulls quite
well. Tappets are a bit noisy and gearbox scratchy but it could go another 200 thou or so, no worries.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:04
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:04
They saw you coming Willem - Imagine shelling out $265 for a Cruiser, thats a travesty!
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:39
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:39
I know you can't
water a camel with a spoon, Bonz but WHY do you drive a FORD?
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 21:13
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 21:13
He came from
Geelong Willem and
Geelong is" Ford Country"
Besides that he likes to keep me in a job
Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 17:02
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 17:02
Willem, at last you've seen the light.
Don't take any notice of Bonz, he wouldn't know the difference between a big spark and a little spark!
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:49
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:49
Trouble with Bonz is that he hasn't had a Pan-Galactic Gargleblaster for a while nor has he been to the Restaurant and the End of the Universe....poor Bonz........
Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:15
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:15
So what's the plan for this Landcruiser Willem, you plan on decking it out for competion or using it for the tougher touring trips.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:46
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:46
Not quite sure Ray. I really wanted a ute but looked at the 60 with some rust in the roof and thought "Aha!" I can chop that bit off and make it into twin cab.
The things is that SWMBO has a flash Nissan for country roads and commuting between towns. I have the GQ all set up for touring. But wew didn't have anything we can use for carting stuff around in. So the ole LC is the best choice. Next thing I want to get rid of is the 6x4 trailer as I now have something to throw stuff in to or go and collect rocks or sand for the garden etc........get my drift :o) Anyway it is pure extravagance for a poor pensioner.