saw the weirdest thing today
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 12:27
D-Jack
OK, for all you harcorers with 7 inch lifts and big fat oversided muddies, I saw a 80 series the other day at a servo. It had the roadiest tyres on it I had ever seen - like a performance car tyre but much bigger - didn't get a closer inspection to determine what brand or type.
But the weirdest thing - wait for it - IT WAS LOWERED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thats right, LOWERED. The top of the tyres were almost level with the bottom of the flare. Sat very low to the ground, and the under car rear wheel carrier was only about 15cm from the ground.
Go figure???
D-Jack
P.S. sorry if the owner is a forumite, no offence meant, I am just so surpised. Would love to hear your reasoning though.
Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 12:53
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 12:53
Sounds as though it would be a good safe medium duty towing rig.
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 12:54
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 12:54
We were doing some surveillance work out at one of the Toyota dealers here in
Perth and they had a 100 series black V8 with 17" Rims, mag
wheels, low profile tyes and lowered as
well. What a crock ofbleep.
Talk about fueling the anti 4WD movment!
bleeps.
Spend your $100,000 and go buy a Monaro or somthing.
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:11
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:11
Yeah, I saw that one coming out of the poly pipe the other day and thought "what the...."
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:55
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:55
Bling, fuel guzzler AND 4WD. How to be hated by everyone in one easy lesson...........
Reply By: cruiser - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:21
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:21
I saw an Explorer in Brisvegas that was lowered. Funniest thing i have ever seen in a 4B
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:56
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:56
Hahahah ask Eric about this, he spent the first 15 years of his driving life lowering cars and now he's raising them, his kids are totally bamboozled! hahahah
Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 17:07
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 17:07
Back to lowering again Bonz . Just got the Bing bling for the caddy .
Now for something diffrent I should body lift the Caddy and lower the cruiser lol
Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 17:26
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 17:26
Too many bloodly do gooders in this world telling other people how they should lead their lives and I see they are infiltrating this
forum, have a look at shaggy in the other thread. If someone wants it low or high and it's legal then good on em, who are we to laugh.They should only have to justify it to themselves not the whole flippin planet.
Follow Up By: D-Jack - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 17:35
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 17:35
Mad dog,
If someone chooses to do something, in this case lower their 4wd, that is way out of the norm, of course it is going to attract some attention. I wasn't having a go, although it could be percieved in some of the responses that way, but just pointing it out because it looked damned weired and I had never seen one like that before. Makes me wonder though, the vehicle would be no good for 4wding, so why not go a less expensive tow option if that's what it was for. Just bringing it up for discussion.
D-Jack.
p.s. I just about guarantee it wouldn't be legal.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:02
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:02
Jack, my reply wasn't directed at you in particular and I apologise if you were offended. I thought your initial message was very balanced and showed an open mind but some of the responses prompted my writing.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:45
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:45
Mad Dog, yes you have a point, but when I see other people's actions effecting my hobby and favourate past time for IMHO no good reason at all other than to show off I feel that my comments are justified, just like they have the right to do it, I have the right to comment about it.
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 00:08
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 00:08
Jeff M,
of course you have the right to comment, just as we have the right to judge you as shallow, because what you think must be right, and if you dont like it it must be wrong.........
We are all judged by what we do, and what we say, and how we appear.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 12:08
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 12:08
GO_OFFROAD we can always count on a hypocritical below the belt comment from you can't we.
Thanks mate.
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 12:19
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 12:19
Well, your comments are no different to what a racist person says about others, or an uniformed ingnoramis says about things they cant understand.
They have the right to do as they wish toi thier vehicle, just as you have the right to judge them on it, and we have the right to judge you on your behavior.
After your last comment, the defense rests your honour....sheeeesh.....
Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 17:49
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 17:49
For what it's worth ..... I'll put in my two bob's worth here!
I agree that people should be able to do as they please if it's legal & it doesn't affect others to their detriment.
However, don't raised 4x4s with huge swamper tyres make tracks virtually impassable for standard fourbys, by digging bloody abnormally deep trenches?
This track degradation is exactly what all the 'dogooders' want to see, so that they can campaign to have all of these
tracks closed!
I will also say that some of these tracks are so damaged by these modified vehicles, that in some cases emergency fire vehicles can't get through these deeply trenched tracks.
Hello! ...... For what reason are the tracks there in the first place?
Reply By: Utemad - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:40
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:40
In the import caryards on the Magic Mile in
Brisbane I used to see lowered Terranos. I saw one and thought it was odd but I saw a few on the Mile.
The first one I saw was black with big rims and low profile tyres. Really fat ones with road tread. Had black tinted windows too. It actually looked pretty cool. However it was a turbo diesel. Why do that to a diesel? Looked the goods but wouldn't have been too quick. I guess they were all t/d though as all Terranos here are aren't they?
Reply By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:39
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:39
You mean it looked like this ??
Bling Bling
Follow Up By: Schevchenko - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:37
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:37
i really needed to go to the dunny after seing that photo.
Reply By: Dennis (Mackay) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:01
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:01
Running around
Brisbane is a red Vitara, lowered so the tyres are tucked up into the guards
AAAAAAAAAAAND with the massive stainless bellow exhaust system that all the wan*ers use to make their car sound like it has an engine.