Lone Wolf
... and get lot's of money...
I'm gonna buy a 13 litre Engel.
Whoa! Talk abot expensive.... just under a grand!
The little Waeco is just a little over half the price....
If anyones got a second hand little teeny weeny steel cased Engel for sale, mem mes me or something.
I've already got a 35 litre Waeco, I just want something really little for day trips on my own.
I reckon were all being ripped off. Just go into say Harvey Norman, and see what you can buy for $1000.00. A LOT of fridge for your kitchen!
It's sort of really hard sometimes to act all nonchalant, when the store person says to you"...
well sir, we don't sell many of those, you'll have to order one in..." ..... Duh.......
Yep.... when I grow uo, I'm gonna buy a 13 litre Engel.........
Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:32
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:32
Just be thankful we have the freedom of choice Wolfie. You can buy a rolls royce or something at the other end of the scale in the end they both get you there...hopefully.
Now, what's wrong with the 35 litre for day trips, are you short of room. My missus always gives me enough food for 3 days in case I get stuck but she's only wishing.
Reply By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:36
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:36
Now a little bird told me that you are very handy with sheet metal . So why not buy the weaco and make yourself a new metal casing out of stainless ?
There all the same crap . I must admit i love the outer case of the engel but am happy with my weaco's operation.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 10:19
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 10:19
I thought Waeco were all plastic too. However the CF-80 and CF-110 have a metal case with plastic lid. Nowhere near as tough as an Engel SS80 but nowhere near the price either and only half the weight.
For me that is great but my Dad would have it destroyed before he got it home LOL.
Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 17:17
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 17:17
Done! Ordered the Waeco.
Wolfie
Reply By: Richard & Leonie - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:49
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:49
We wanted to buy a small fridge, about 13 to 15 lt just to keep vegies in. Weaco have one for about $199 but it is not a compressor type. Have you looked at these? Anyone know anything about them?
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 21:01
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 21:01
I think these sort only cool to about 15c below ambient so for veges it will be ok most of the time but when it hits 40c the veges will be at 25c
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 21:02
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 21:02
Check how much juice they draw also, current that is. no not current juice but amps juice...I'm mad alright
Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 21:50
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 21:50
Yes, Ray is correct on both counts.
They work on the Peltier principle, but are not energy efficient.
We have one, but generally throw ice into it and use it as a small esky, because it has good thick insulation.
Wolfie
Follow Up By: Member - Nobby - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:07
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:07
I had one of these and it lasted one trip. As stated it only goes 15 below ambient and it was a 40d day. Drinks were hot, so sold it in the Trading Post for 150 and put it towards a 18l waeco, and was the best thing I could have done. Should have done that first. Three times the price but uses a lot less power and keeps things really cold(especially the beer).
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:14
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:14
Hey
nobby it's cheaper to buy once isn't it! The missus had a go at me the other day for wasting loot having to buy twice.
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 10:56
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 10:56
Wrap your vegies in newspaper and save on buying an extra fridge
Reply By: derraux - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 00:25
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 00:25
Waeco thermolectric cooler starting at about $199 18lt use between 3-6 amps constantly however cool up to 30deg below ambient and no less than 1deg if you use this to keep things cold they work quite
well escpecilly in aircon vehicle but will not cool hot things down quickly like a compressor fridge, not bad value for money
Derraux
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 08:16
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 08:16
30 degrees below ambient???
sonds like an exaggeration
Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 10:16
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 10:16
When I bought my CF-80 they had one of these running on display. Yes in an airconditioned show room and it was empty except for the operation manual. However it was running at 1.5 degrees according to the Waeco temp gauge.
I read that they will go 30 degrees below ambient temp too. This sounds about right given the unit above.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 10:38
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 10:38
they're www says "up to 30"
i dunno....? i'd be cautious myself...
like the old saying ...if it sounds too good to be true ?????????
Follow Up By: Member - Nobby - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 11:01
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 11:01
As I said up further. I had one and the bottom line is that they will not keep your drinks cold. I know from experience, no matter what the guages read or what you are told. Not bad for Vegs, butter etc but forget drinks on
the beach.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 11:17
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 11:17
You said it was a 40 deg day so perhap you were expecting too much from a cooler. As said 30 deg below is max cooling ability so it probably only gets 15-20 when being opened often. Therefore your drinks were probably only getting to 20-25 deg. Not a cold drink by anyones standard.
Follow Up By: Member - Spook (SA) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 15:46
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 15:46
I have a waeco tropicool 32 litre and the coldest I have had it is around 4C, that was inside on the power supply and completely empty, not bad as a drinks cooler but not that good either.
Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 11:04
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 11:04
I have a 15 litre plastic body Engel. Bought it in1985 for $550. It has done many offroad trips and has taken a real hammering. The plastic body has broken on ocassions and I have glued it back together again. The power plug broke but I rerouted that through a vent. The motor keeps on working and it still freezes when required. It has never been serviced or taken to a fridgie for repairs. These days it lives in the X Trail and is used when we go shopping.
So Wolfie, bite the bullet and buy one(I think they have steel bodies now) and buy a fridge jacket as
well. You get what you pay for and the small Engel will serve you
well.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 11:22
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 11:22
If you get what you pay for all the time then why did you skimp and buy a 1994 Patrol instead of a more expensive 1994 80 series or even a 2004 Patrol? ;-)
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 18:50
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 18:50
Rodeo drivers are like Soft Roader drivers....quirky and argumentative. This may be because they have bought an inferior product.
Seeing as you want to play smart arse with me I hope to ignore you in the future.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 19:04
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 19:04
I knew you'd bite eventually. Why don't you duck down the shops and pick yourself up a sense of humour.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:52
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:52
he's not playing Willem, he's fair dinkum hahahahahah
Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 15:11
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 15:11
I bought a weaco tropicool classic 30 something litres and it works on that peltzier principal. It is supposed to cool up to 30 degrees below ambient.
Without the aid of a frozen bottle of
water and the drinks already cooled it is as usefull as tits on a bull.I thought it would be great for a work eskie as I work out of a vehicle. I even installed a seperate lighter plug straight of the battery. Keep it in the shade and with a prefrozen bottle of
water it helped keep my lunch cool and my drinks moderately cool but if I was on one job all day it would flatten the battery in about 5 hours to such a state I couldn't start my work van( automatic gearbox too).
In my opinion a good eskie with ice will beat those Peltzier operated eskies any day.
just my opinion and in no way reflects the
views of other people ;-)
Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
Reply By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 17:21
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 17:21
Well, I bought the Waeco today.
I really was in love with the robustness of the Engel, but like Eric pointed out, I'm a Sheetmetal dude, so I'll make a Stainless Steel Sleeve for it.
Thank you to all who replied.
Bi Waeco'd Wolf.... or is that Bi Wolf? Never mind......
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 17:56
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 17:56
Maybe you can throw some extra insulation behind the stainless, nah, it will defeat the purpose of buying a smaller fridge wouldn't it. Still don't understand why you need a smaller one though but good luck to ya.
May your fridge always be cool and your amps low
cya