90 series Prado steering
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 21:12
Peter 2
A friend has a 90 series Prado which has been knocked back for rego due to slop in the steering rack.
Further investigation reveals that the LHS has more than the right so I'm suspecting that it is the actual inner tie rod ends where they join the rack that are worn rather than the rack itself.
Has anyone come across this problem or know of it?
Toyota want $3k just for a new rack!
I'd reckon that the tie rods should be available but he hasn't been back to ask yet.
Reply By: mr diamond - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 21:28
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 21:28
gday pete.
definutly sounds like the rack ends are worn.try repco/bursons ect.
usually if i get stuck chasing parts like that i give my local pedders guy a go.
eg mercedes benz vito van i knocked him back for a roady because the right hand rack end had to much play.mercedes wanted $800 for a whole kit repco/bursons couldnt help.pedders chased one up $29 same as something like a skyline.
if you have no luck let me know and ill see what i can chase up for yopu tommorow.
Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 22:52
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 22:52
Peter,
A couple of posts from the 90s list at www.lcool.org - looks like its a bit of a common problem!!
++++++++++++++++
The left hand end of my steering rack was discovered today to have about 20mm
play at the wheel, which is movement at the inner tie rod within the steering rack
boot on the passenger side.
In tomorrow under warranty to be fixed, at 40,000km.
May be worth keeping an eye on any who travel bad roads often, bigger tyres, or
who drive them hard etc etc.
============
I have had this issue twice with my 2001 TD and the issue is the tie rod
on the end of the power steering rack is stuffed, both times replaced
under warranty and caused by using your car "Off Road" according to the
Toyota dealer
============
Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:57
Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 23:57
Mine was also changed, LHS under warranty at 40k km with 20mm play+ at the tyre.
The part isnt that dear from Toyota, and not worth going to repco, or pedders to buy aftermarket crap.
Like everything, you only get what you pay for...
Follow Up By: Dazmit - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 07:23
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 07:23
Sounds like the Toyota part is no better than "aftermarket crap" if it only lasts 40 000km ?????
Darryl
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 08:02
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 08:02
Well I know what caused
mine prematurely, cant speak for the others, but aftermarket parts are cheaper not only because they dont have the factory name on them, but value for money is always more important than price.
Reply By: 80scruiser - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 12:27
Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 12:27
Common problem on all cars.
The left side especially as this wheel is in the crappy edge of the road repairs all the time and wears out prior to the right side.
Genuine or after market. Doesn't really matter. You need to pick the best out of a bad bunch.