Cape York - diesel quality

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 15:10
ThreadID: 18083 Views:3033 Replies:5 FollowUps:11
Hi yo'all :)

I'm taking a trip to the Cape next June/July with a few friends. Can't wait - I haven't been there yet.

My question is in regards to the quality of diesel fuel along the way - especially way up north. I'm taking my Jeep Grand Cherokee 2.7 CRD (common-rail turbodiesel), and given that common-rail fuel injection is relatively picky compared to older systems, can anyone advise on how good or not the fuel is in the higher latitudes?

Eagerly awaiting a couple of responses.

Reply By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 15:26

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 15:26
Chris,
Just came back - at least physically- very hard to face work.....
I had no problem with diesel all the way up. Put some Wynns diesel treatment in about every third tank full just in case and also carried a spare fuel filter and a couple of Air Cleaner elements. I have a Pajero 3.2 L Direct Injection Diesel
Filled up at Branwell Jcnt and then went up the old telegraph track.
You'll have a great time but allow enough time to do all the side trips. Try not to rush it as there is plenty to see.
If I could make only one suggestion it would be make sure you get a copy of Ron and Viv Moons book and take it with you.
Got some pics if your interested.
Yopu'll enjoy.
AnswerID: 85884

Follow Up By: chrispy - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 15:36

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 15:36
Thanks for the tips Rosscoe :)

Yup - The 'ol VivandRon book is on the "to-get-immediately" list.

I'll investigate the Wynns.... although Jeep and Mercedes (maker of the Jeep's engine) both argue strongly against fuel additives. I guess they don't expect their engines to be sent anywhere north of Rocky..... ;) Does the Wynns combat the hygroscopic nature of the fuel and dissipate water?

Plenty of filters and belts... and shocks & springs (one each - front and back) are ready to go. Cooper ST's x 9 (4 car, 2 trailer + 3 spare) should be OK.

We're allocating 6 weeks - with maybe a week extra incase. We'll also all be dragging H/D offroad trailers with roof-top tents on the trailers. Should be great fun. I usually do most of my off-roading in mountain country - Vic & NSW high plains. We have a property in Cooma, so all that is very close. Be great to see the "other side".....

I'd be very interested in seeing your photies if you point me in the right direction :)

FollowupID: 344463

Follow Up By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 15:45

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 15:45
Chris,
I'm led to believe that that is exactly what the Wynns product does. I've been told to, but never have, get a sample of diesel and water in a clear glass mix and then add some Wynns.
Maybe someone can tell us if it works.
I took spare shocks, a trolley jack and all the recovery gear -- didn't use any of it but it sure weighed a lot.

If you have the patience go to:-

www.sausmagoo.com/queensland and page through.

This is my son's web site but the techno-nerd let me put my phots on it, god bless him!
FollowupID: 344464

Follow Up By: chrispy - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 18:19

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 18:19
Rosscoe

Great photos!!!!!! Loved them!

Interesting to see that you took a shot of the "Bottle House" at Lighning Ridge. My folks-in-law just bought the "other bottle house" at the Ridge - the "Black Queen".

I just say that I have to respect a bloke and his wife to go all the way up there with a darn big van in tow and no snorkel (I presume you re-routed the air intake further back inside the engine bay??). Fantastic stuff!

Thanks for the link. I'll be going there heaps.

FollowupID: 344493

Follow Up By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:14

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:14
Chris,

I ain't that brave!

I left the van at Port Douglas and camped all the way up. AND, we only did it one way as well.
We put the car on Sea Swift's "Trinity Bay" and sailed back down to Cairns. Whatt great trip. The ship sails inside the reef, takes two nights and most of three days and they feed you like you wouldn't believe. Took the van everywhere else though.
After a lot of toing and froing I decided against the snorkel and stayed with the standard air intake set up. It was late in the season and I had no problems with water.
For me it was the right decision.

FollowupID: 344576

Reply By: Leroy - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 15:36

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 15:36
You can't really be too picky as you can't slip along to the next servo 'just down the road'!! But no one in our party had any problems with fuel. They were a 3.0l & 4.2l patrols.

Leroy
AnswerID: 85887

Follow Up By: chrispy - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 18:24

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 18:24
hehe... I realised this of course..... well...no...actually I thought that there was a Maccas and truck stop at Tribulation... ;)

When I say "picky" about the fuel, the CRD injectors on the Jeep are presurrised to 23,000psi (about 1,600 bar), and have a double injection cycle. They squirt a pre-charge into the cylinder and then follow that up with a full charge milli (if not micro) seconds later. Pretty sophisticated, but prone to blockage if the fuel's crook. This is why Toyota and others haven't bought common-rail engines to Australia yet.

I just have to go with pre-filters (if the fuel line itself isn't already under some pressure from a tanl-mounted pre-pump) and try the additives if required.
FollowupID: 344494

Follow Up By: Mick - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 00:12

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 00:12
Chrispy it sounds like you have got the wrong vehicle for outback Australia!! Good for American feeways though I guess!
FollowupID: 344549

Follow Up By: chrispy - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 07:32

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 07:32
Mick - I'm not sure that this fourby isn't the best one I've ever had.... and I've had quite a few..... most of them lifted competition trucks. It's live axle front and rear at least - and it really does go most places my 6" lifted Patrol ever did.....and in far more comfort. I'm impressed with it so far. It isn't just a show pony... which Grand Cherokee's have unfairly gained a reputation of over time - but I think that that's due mainly to the type of people buying them (like the Rangie) than the vehicle itself. The only thing holding it back might be fuel susceptibility.... but we'll see.
FollowupID: 344562

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 16:52

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 16:52
You could do what I did, after hearing bad reports about fuel quality up north. I fitted a CAV style filter/water trap as a pre-filter, it only cost about $70.00 with replacement filters only about $8.00.
Very cheap insurance & makes your genuine fuel filter last about 4 or 5 times longer.

Funny thing was the first bit of graffiti we saw in the NT was:

"NT diesel f***s engines"
AnswerID: 85893

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (NSW) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 19:33

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 19:33
Excellent!

Are these filters useful for both dirt/sediment as well as water?
FollowupID: 344660

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:39

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:39
They are a normal fuel filter with a glass underneath to let you see if there is any water in the fuel.
Almost every large boat & piece of machinery in Australia would have one fitted.
FollowupID: 344668

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:02

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:02
Thanks Shaker

I'm new to diesel - this one is our first. I'm happy to say that I now know what I was missing... now I just have to learn the finer points of owning one.

FollowupID: 344690

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 17:30

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 17:30
We were up there in Sept/Oct. No worries with fuel on the Cape, but my mate got a bad load in his 3L Patrol at Innaminka. Caused him to stop and bleed some off, but ran okay after that. I guess the Jeep might be even more picky about it's fuel quality.
As stated by another reply, you can't be picky up there. Just about everywhere north of Cooktown only has one choice for fuel, until you hit Weipa and then Bamaga/Seisa.
With a long range tank I was able to by-pass some of the more expensive places like Bramwell Station ($1.47/ltr).
I swear by the Morisons De-Bug unit I have in my fuel line too, but who really knows??? LOLOL
AnswerID: 85901

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 06:44

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 06:44
Chris we never seem to havev any troubles with diesel.
Had a few over the years with petrol.

AnswerID: 85968

Follow Up By: chrispy - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 07:26

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 07:26
Thanks for that Eric

I'll just have to see how it goes. I'll take all reasonable precautions with filters and other in-line devices - and talk to Daimler Chrysler about it first. I'm lucky in that I have some contacts there who will make sure that everything's OK with warranty etc, and let them know about the trip. I doubt that anyone has taken one of these vehicles up to the top of Oz yet (the CRD is too new), so the company might (hopefully) take an interest in its performance. I feel like an explorer breaking new ground and I'm optimistically excited about the adventure.

I've done close to 50,000 kays in both dusty and wet conditions so for with no ill effects. The car has performed flawlessly - I love it. It is really quite capable for a stock vehicle, and as a tourer it is fantastic.

Good to hear that you haven't had any troubles with diesel up there.

FollowupID: 344560