High Country Trip this weekend

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 18:30
ThreadID: 18088 Views:2606 Replies:9 FollowUps:15
Final details are in.

Its time to go ............... to the High Country!

We will be meeting at the last Service station on the Buller side of Mansfield at 0900am ( I hope to be there then, don't leave without me), will have the UHF on Channel 10 and the mobile phone on too.

Then heading up via Telephone Box junction and the curcuit road to Craigs Hut, down the Monument track, Bindaree track to Bindaree Hut, then lunch around there somewhere and off to look at Bluff Hut up one or t'other track to that, then off home.

Expected weather 26 degrees and perfect cloudless skies, so bring a camera and sunscreen.

Cyas Satdy Morn.

Reply By: mr diamond - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 19:31

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 19:31
ceya sat
AnswerID: 85917

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 20:09

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 20:09
Bonz, I have been invited to drive along with another couple to the High Country in February 2005.

I have spent time there in the spring & autumn, but never at the peak of summer. Is the fire risk a very real threat? He is also talking of driving up to Craig's Hut, and a few other spots.

I am an Adelaide Hills dweller, and fires literally frighten me.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 85921

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:00

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:00
Wolfie,

I have been up there during summer when there were firs two or three ridges away from us. One needs to have an escape plan and monitor the news. Its a risk yes, but so is everything one does. Its gets hot there just like anywhere else. I wouldn't worry about it

FollowupID: 344528

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:08

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:08
>Bonz (Vic) posted this followup
>Wolfie,

>I have been up there during summer when
>there were firs two or three ridges away from
>us. One needs to have an escape plan and
>monitor the news. Its a risk yes, but so is
>everything one does. Its gets hot there just
>like anywhere else. I wouldn't worry about it

Yep, exactly what Bonz said.

Except I had fires rather than firs nearby :)

FollowupID: 344530

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:18

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:18
Mmmmm........

Thankyou fella's.

Last scary one for me was up a t Mungo N P. Woke up on a really hot night in my swag, to the smell of smoke. I was camped on my own at the smaller campsite behind the Lunette. Lay awake wondering, trying to remember the lay of the land as regards to the wind. Slept sort of fitfully after that.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 344531

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:27

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:27
I've always been frightened of firs, especially those up near the Arctic Circle, they're eerie

FollowupID: 344534

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:29

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:29
was up there weekend after melbourne cup.

The servo you mean is the BP... Bloke in there will update you on tracks that are still closed until the 30th of Nov. And there are HEAPS of extended closures..

Plenty of water in creeks.... over the steps on mine and I had the 35's on... Ran a blind on a few stocky type cars thru some.

We crashed in Craigs Hut overnight.. freezin.

also temp is going to be 35 on Saturday...
AnswerID: 85944

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:35

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:35
Thanks T-Man, BP it is then, all I could remember is that it was there. The weather is 35 in Melb I reckon 26 (ish) up there, matter little, its a great place to be any weather.

Thanx for the tips on the water and the tracks, will go talkto the BP man, what [ressure'd you run your tyres up there? About 25? And also I tried to email you to ask you some qns but got a msg back saying it couldnt find your optusnet acct. No dramas, you came thru wth the goods in good time, I knew you'd have the good oil on this area.

GWBonz

FollowupID: 344537

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 23:01

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 23:01
call me tomorrow at work if ya like.
0400 42 52 96

im scanning in photos at moment.

Bindree falls was going OFF ITS NUT!!! we walked behind it on the track, it was awesome...
FollowupID: 344541

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 23:23

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 23:23
Water EG:
[ View Image]
FollowupID: 344545

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 00:43

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 00:43
plenty deep for a petrol with no snorkel
FollowupID: 344550

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 08:49

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 08:49
Wheres the pic taken? Dont worry Blue we wont go that way .... maybe.

FollowupID: 344569

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:39

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:39
Thats just the other side of Kings Hut towards Pineapple Flat, theres about 6+ crossings similar.. I have heaps more photos. Hoping some of the others got some more of me :D

That drive is Excellent novice trip from Sheepyard and follow the Huts of High Country Maps right around all the huts.

We had a Stocky Pathfinder on BFG AT's with a chick driving, she did really well... We used a blind on that as Wasnt sure where the air intake was 'for certain'.. we had an idea behind the headlights.
FollowupID: 344583

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:42

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:42
guess I'm bringing a blind then
FollowupID: 344587

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:44

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:44
PS theres one crossing similar where the bridge is out before Kings Hut too, but the Bridge has been out for over a year or 2....
Greggy my TEC stalled in middle of it, and flooded his stock GQ on 31's in it! LMAO!
FollowupID: 344588

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 02:17

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 02:17
Bonz, mate.

We know how to look after the good lady at a Timboon bar-beee, seeing she trusted you driving her 4by around them thar hills..........
AnswerID: 85964

Reply By: Member Eric - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 07:20

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 07:20
Sorry Bonz, You need to be corrected as you are ill informed about your destination .

As I was corrected in Robe , you are heading to the LOW country , and its very easy . Just take the 2 wd sedan .
AnswerID: 85970

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:40

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:40
Didnt baz try the high country in a 2wd exploder and came unstuck? LOL
FollowupID: 344585

Reply By: cokeaddict - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 07:59

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 07:59
Enjoy yourselves guys, wish i was there.
AnswerID: 85976

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:41

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:41
Its only 8 hours, have a sicky monday and go to Wagga on the way home... COME ON!!
FollowupID: 344586

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:39

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:39
Booked in at Denco Monday truckster. Paul seems a fairly good bloke from phone conversation we had. Prob is, my turbo is an early model so i may have to replace it ...he will see what he can find on dyno anyway, well worth trip to find out.
FollowupID: 344604

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:10

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:10
I hope to be there, depends on if I have to work tonight (on call). The car needs a wash from the Suzuki club trials W/E.

AnswerID: 85984

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 10:01

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 10:01
Have a great trip Bonz, we'll be nice to Marie and Imogen on Satdy night....might see you Sunday...

Lyn
AnswerID: 85992

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:13

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:13
We're in, it will be great to meet some of you. Might attach the outboard to the back to tackle those river crossings haha.. ...
AnswerID: 86000