Enough is never Enough...Power.....

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 21:35
ThreadID: 18095 Views:3118 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
One thing leads to the next. Bought the 40L engel. now looking at Dual Battery systems. Does anyone know how to keep the rear power outlet in the 100 series operating all the time? Can anyone recommend a good Dual Battery system?

Reply By: Richard & Leonie - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 21:59

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 21:59
Yes. Have a second point wired to the back that is connected directly to the second battery. I have three points in the back of my Frontera. I can light it up like a Christmas tree. Two are direct wired and the third is the original on the ignition circuit. Most people will tell you to put another point in the back and wire it with 4mm or even 6mm wire so the fridge works efficiently. Whilst you are putting in a second battery also put in a fused distribution box. (I got mine from a ships chandlers, it has 6 connection points all with thir own spade fuse and cost $40). It does away with having lots of connectors onto the battery terminal with lots of fuses hanging around on wires all over the place. You then only have one wire from the battery to the distribution box. Makes it easier to locate problems , looks tidier and you can label all the connections.
There is lots of info on dual battery systems on the forum, do a search and good luck because its confusing.
AnswerID: 85941

Follow Up By: Ozman - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:06

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:06
Thanks!
I thought i knew what i wanted until i checked the forums!!!!
Now I am really confused about Deep Cycle and Standard Batteries.
Lat time we travelled for a month in the Hilux with the Engel running 24/7 and the single battery was fine. Now in the cruiser we are worried onw battery wont be enough. We live by better safe than sorry so dual battery is the way to go BUT which system??
FollowupID: 344529

Follow Up By: Richard & Leonie - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:20

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:20
I know there will people who will disagree but for what its worth put the biggest sealed maintenance free 600 cranking battery in you can fit and as your second battery the biggest deep cycle you can fit. By biggest I mean amp hours not physical size. I have had some good feedback on Rotronics (they have a web site) and Piranha (also have a web site but the info is a bit confusing). Deep cycle batteries are deigned to be run down and normal cranking batteries are not. Having your accessories flatten your deepcycle will not damage it as much as it will a "normal" battery.
Have a look at www.windsun.com/batteries for technical explanations.
FollowupID: 344532

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:10

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 22:10
It truly is a bugger!

Yep, Fridge...
Second Battery
Third Battery
Fit solenoid to second vehicle
Small modified S/W inverter
Medium M S/W inverter
Full Sine wave inverter
Solar Panel with tripod

then it gets all too hard

so I then buy a smaller bloody fridge!!

One thing's for sure......

I ain't putting in an electric toaster LOL!!!

Don't need to pay my power bill Wolf.
AnswerID: 85943

Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 23:13

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 23:13
Rod from Rotronics is quite helpful and the way he explained how his system does the job better made sense to me. System has been great to date. Charges 2 deep cycles, one in car and trailer.
AnswerID: 85946

Reply By: Mick - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 23:29

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 23:29
Ozman, the plain fact is that you don't NEED a second battery. You have already found that yourself and a mate of mine travelled extensively with one battery and a Waeco. The Waeco is granted a better quality fridge but yours is still quite an economical unit. The only time he had starting problems was once after leaving the vehicle for over 48 hours without running it. A second key is the easy way to leave it running without any extra wiring. The rear outlets in Toyotas have a 120 watt or 10 amp rating so the fridge will work fine on the standard wiring. i have a friend who has an old 3 way. They use heaps of power - over 7amps I think and the standard Toyota rear outlet runs it beautifully! - but not for too long when stationary!!
AnswerID: 85949

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 00:09

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 00:09
Are we to assume that you believe Waeco to be a 'better quality' fridge than an Engel? Or did I misread the post?
FollowupID: 344548

Follow Up By: DARREN - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 08:53

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 08:53
Don't NEED a second battery? Yes I suppose if you like jump starting your car or want to have the engine running every day.
These are the reasons why I do have a second battery.
FollowupID: 344572

Follow Up By: Utemad - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 13:21

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 13:21
Waeco has a power cut off at a certain voltage to save your battery from discharging to far. I have two batteries all the same though as you may still be able to start the vehicle but your fridge won't be cold.
FollowupID: 344620

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 16:14

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 16:14
Not only the fridge to consider what about lights, computer, oven, radios and other electric gear the modern camper has.
FollowupID: 344637

Reply By: derraux - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 23:34

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 23:34
Did a bit of searching on the net found some good info on batteries , how they operate and what different styles of batteries do. ie agm against gel and wet sell batteries www.fridge-and-solar.net , you need to look in his technical pages. hope this helps
Derraux
AnswerID: 85950

Follow Up By: Val from Fridge & Solar - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 10:33

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 10:33
Hi Folks, and thanks for the mention Derraux.

I wrote an article a while back on the subject of "Installing a power socket in your car for a portable fridge" you may find it of interest.

You can find it here

Hope this is of use,
Val
FollowupID: 344594

Reply By: drivesafe - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:39

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:39
Hi Ozman, I manufacture Dual Battery Controllers, but from what you have posted, other that installing another power socket, there is no reason to install anything else, especially going to the expense of a controller and battery that will get very little use.
The only thing you will have to watch is that you don’t stay in one spot for too long without making sure you keep enough charge in the battery to start the vehicle.
AnswerID: 86003

Reply By: Roger from Tassie - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:15

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:15
Hi Ozman. Here's my 2 bobs worth. After years of travel with the good old esky we bought a 40 litre Engel 12 months ago. Total confused by all the advice / opinions on duel battery systems we decided to re-invent the wheel. We ran a wire to the back of our Hilux from the cranking battery, plugged in the fridge and drove (we don't run anything else). In the first 8 months of driving we never took it out, never turned it off and didn't modify our driving pattern at all. In that time the battery went flat once. Jump start and away we went. Yeah I know we're in Tassie. In July and August this year we shot up to the Kimberley & back. I bought a second battery but didn't wire it in. Took it just in case, as we travelled alone. Turned the fridge off when we climbed into the tent for some shut eye. Cranking battery never went flat once. Also travelled with a mate last year. April,May, June thru the Centre, Gulf & Cape York. He had a 32 litre Engel wired staight into his cranking battery. Never went flat once. If you want your vehicle's electrics to operate like a house with power guaranteed at the flick of a switch you'd better buy the biggest, flashest dual battery system you can find. If you don't mind keeping it simple, monitoring your battery level and going for a drive if it gets low (there's always something else to go look at aye) then the way we are set up will work. After having operated like this we have no plans to put in a full on dual battery system. Mind you if we had room under the bonnet (Hilux remember) it might be different.

Good Luck with it all.

Roger
AnswerID: 86051