What's happening to the Aussie male?

Submitted: Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 00:30
ThreadID: 18098 Views:3460 Replies:13 FollowUps:15
Tonight I have read posts from people with the following problems:
A rear view mirror that flops.
A fridge that doesn't indicate the internal temperature.
Needing help to find showers in Perth!!!!
What will be next??? Perhaps .... how to stop your hands cracking after using river water. How to guard against broken fingernails when preparing wood for the camp fire? How to remove that ghastly smell from your hair after sitting near a camp fire? Handy tips for drying ones feet after using a public shower? How to keep the smell of diesel off your hands when refuelling?
I ask you, where are the men or have they all turned into precious, picky little sweethearts? The mountain cattlemen must have a chuckle when they come across some of the 4wd camps!

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 02:59

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 02:59
Jeez I am glad somebody like you posted this thread Mick I to was wondering the very same thing's as you.
So perhaps you could help me with answers to the following questions since you seem to be so manly.

How do I stop my hands from cracking after using river water ?

How do I guard against broken finger nails when preparing wood for the camp fire and for that matter protect against splinters ?

How can I remove that ghastly smell from my hair after sitting near the camp fire ?

Any handy tips for drying ones feet after using a public shower would be appreciated from a person with such obvious worldly experience as yourself.

And finally what would you suggest for keeping the diesel smell off my hands after refueling ?

I have to say that I am so glad you posted when you did, as these problems were causing me such anguish that I was having trouble sleeping.

Thanks Mick and I look forward to your answers to these perplexing questions.

AnswerID: 85965

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 03:02

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 03:02
Sorry Mick forgot to add that the pink rubber kitchen gloves that I have been using to date for protection during refueling are getting to dirty and discolored, I really need a better idea to keep the gloves looking nice and keep the nasty smell off my hands.
Thanks again Mick.

FollowupID: 344553

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 06:19

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 06:19
How do I stop my hands from cracking after using river water ?
Answer: Use you muddy girl recovery kit to do the work for you.

How do I guard against broken finger nails when preparing wood for the camp fire and for that matter protect against splinters ?

How can I remove that ghastly smell from my hair after sitting near the camp fire ? Answer: Use you muddy girl recovery kit to clean your hair for you.

Any handy tips for drying ones feet after using a public shower would be appreciated from a person with such obvious worldly experience as yourself.

And finally what would you suggest for keeping the diesel smell off my hands after refueling ?
FollowupID: 344554

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 12:20

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 12:20
Hmmm 5.19 am you must have been kicked out of the bed to be posting on EO at that time of the morning Andrew, did Jen object to that ghastly smell from the camp fire that is lingering in your hair ?

You also forgot to tell me how to keep the diesel smell off my hands after refueling, or is your suggestion to get Muddy to do the job whilst I sit in the air conditioned comfort of my 4wd ?

FollowupID: 344607

Follow Up By: Muddy Girl - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 14:08

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 14:08
Hi Andrew,

One small problem with the Muddy Girl Recovery Kit,

He keeps leaving it home...............

So he will have to keep using those pink gloves.

Muddy Girl
FollowupID: 344624

Reply By: Member - Jack - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 06:29

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 06:29
Can you get those rubber gloves in other colours??? Pink is soooo "girly" .....

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 85967

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 12:22

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 12:22
Jack I guess you can but I really like the pink ones.
just disappointed that they get all dirty and smelly.
Old Mick does not seem to want to tell us how he handles the job, bit disappointing to say the least.

FollowupID: 344608

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 07:30

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 07:30
"How to keep the smell of diesel off your hands when refuelling? "

Sorry Mick.... beat you to it on that one!!! LOL!!

I posted this a while ago. Now I keep a rag in the Delica, and use that to hold the pump thingy.
Not that I'm a SNAG mind you............. it just happen to have REALLY REALLY dark tinted windows, and when I'm stopped at traffic lights, I like to indulge in a secret nose picking exercise.

Nothing worse than rolling the bugger up with oily finger tips, 'cause sometimes it will fall down onto the carpet, and I also have the smell of diesel in my nostril, sort of like petrol sniffing gone all wrong!!

I'm not silly Wolf
AnswerID: 85972

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 15:32

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 15:32
Nothing worse than filling up and going in to pay for your diesel thinking:" Mmmm, I could go one of those ice creams......"

"Mmmmmmmm Cho-col-late ice-cream..."

"Blah! This tastes digusting!, and what's that smell!"
FollowupID: 344633

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:36

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:36
yea but then aussie male is not allowed to have an opinion either!
AnswerID: 85988

Follow Up By: Peter - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:29

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:29
where u bin trucks,thought u must have died
FollowupID: 344644

Reply By: theshadows - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:37

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:37
thats it wolf to much info.....Wheres my handbag im fixing my face and going home......p.s you think these stubbie's makes my arse look big?

shadow
AnswerID: 85990

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 12:25

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 12:25
Shadow if you post a picture of your arse in your stubbies's then I am sure we would all provide you with the opinion that you require.

In fact I am sure that Mick would be the first to express an opinion.

By the way what color hand bag to you carry when you go bush ?

FollowupID: 344609

Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:02

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:02
Too much information all round.....
AnswerID: 85998

Reply By: Wombat - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 12:33

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 12:33
Mick, Ithink this answers your question

Sensitive New Age Guys From The Bush

Authorised parody of Boys From The Bush (© Garth Porter -Lee Kernaghan); these lyrics © Greg Champion, Jane Saunders, Dave Saunders, Brent Parlane, Teresa Connelly

First released on the album The Custom CD

We been huggin' trees
we been pattin' sheep
we been learnin' to cry
on weekend retreats
we been burnin' incense
'cos we like the smell
and we practise withdrawal
we don't use the pill

Chorus

We're the Sensitive New Age Guys from the bush and we're back in town
we do yoga when the sun goes down
we're life members of the dish-washin' club
we're the SNAGS from the bush and we care for the scrub

we been bakin' cakes
we been knittin' socks
we're polite to our wives
and we handwash our jocks
we been doin' workshops
on creativity
we been gettin' in touch with
our femininity

We been doin' aerobics
we been tryin' to lose fat
we been havin' our mates around
for a cuppa and a chat
our bodies are temples
that we love and respect
and we're into this latest thing
called sacred sex
AnswerID: 86009

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 14:40

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 14:40
What a ripper mate!
FollowupID: 344627

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:53

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:53
I sometimes wonder that myself.

How most of these sooks survive on trips out bush is anyones guess.

The one that gets me is "How much power is my fridge using...12.3 or 12.6 volts"?

And...we haven't seen this one for a while but..... for example...."Whats the weather going to be like in the High Country in winter"?.

And everyone has a trailer or van with Satellite TV and DVD's and airconditioning etc etc. Talk about taking the kitchen sink with you.......

I did notice however when refuelling somewhere in Victoria a few months back that pumps are providing plastic gloves at the diesel bowser. I only noticed them after I had refuelled :o)

AnswerID: 86084

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:58

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:58
Will, is that the Tojo you got the other day?

Wolfie
FollowupID: 344706

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 23:07

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 23:07
Yep thats the one
FollowupID: 344707

Reply By: Woobla (WA) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 23:23

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 23:23
I recon some of you need flogging with a stockingfull of your own cr@p!
The only stupid question is the one you dont ask and you, by your comments may have stopped someone from asking advice from this forum.
We are not all born in a 4x4 as most of you seem to have been.
If you dont like the questions, let someone who does, answer them.
I have picked up some good information from reading what is posted on this site and it is a pity that stuff that should be best discussed around a campfire is put in print. Can the person who as never asked a stupid question in his life please tell me iam out of line.
AnswerID: 86089

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 07:46

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 07:46
Nah..... your probably quite right, but hey, I've NEVER seen a crap question with the response..."Search the archives..." LOL!!

Although, we must be getting close by now!!!

As long as we have the ability to laugh at ourselves, it surely must be a good thing.

I believe that by having a few posts and answers like this lightens the mood, especially for visitors, who would otherwise be felling a little intrepid by asking questions, which to us seem, well........... dumb.

But because we have silly posts, I think outsiders would immediately think that we are a laid back bunch, and are not going to bite their heads off.

Hey, I'm the Queen of crap, trust me, but never at another members expense. Just take a look at the recurring Nissan / toyota posts........... there's the problem.

Imagine how many newbies were going to ask about their new Toyota or Nissan, and come across that shlt, mate, they'll go elsewhere!

Anyway, back to your answer, I digressed, it is a good answer, straight to the point, and you are not out of line, as nor are we.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 344717

Reply By: Tim HJ61 - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 00:12

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 00:12
Re Diesel - every time I go to the $50 shop (Bunnings - every time you go you spend $50, with apols to whoever put that line first on the forum) I like the price of those $2 leather gardeng gloves.

Now I've got a stash of them at home and keep a pair under the seat of the Sahara for that distastful job of refuelling. Sometimes they get a little stain on them, but I've got plenty so I change them over. It's important to look the part with a Sahara. :-)

Tim
AnswerID: 86094

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 08:41

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 08:41
Tim when you put the gloves under your seat, you're bringing the smell inside. I use a piece of paper towel supplied by the servo and put it in the bin when completed. But of course I drive a Range Rover which is a step up the ladder from a Toyota such as yours:-)
FollowupID: 344720

Follow Up By: rig pig - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 11:44

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 11:44
Wot,s wrong with the small of diesel, $hit i have it on my 15 weekbix every morning
FollowupID: 344733

Reply By: Vinnie - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 00:28

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 00:28
Go Wombat!!
That song sums it up.

Aussie blokes are a dyin' breed.

Taken over by the European steed.

Getting softer by the day.

Being a pansy does not pay.

AnswerID: 86096

Reply By: Woobla (WA) - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 11:40

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 11:40
You lot are Incorrigible. I was going to buy a Sahara but if there is no where to put the gloves I will have to rethink that purchase. Thanks for the entertainment.
AnswerID: 86116

Reply By: Member - Snatchem (WA) - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 16:13

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 16:13
Being the owner of the floppy mirror I feel I must defend my self here, I wasn't asking how to fix it. My main comment was about them not having a spare one in Aust. But there was some good feed back, even from yourself Mick
AnswerID: 86137

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 08:41

Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 08:41
so long as it is only your mirror that is floppy, I don't think you have too much of a problem.
FollowupID: 344823