Battery charger reading...
Submitted: Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 01:12
Member - Blue (VIC)
Have 110lt waeco running off the battery with an automatic battery charger(12v 4A continuous) hooked up to maintain the battery. The guage on the charger is represented by a capital A, I assume this is Amps... When the fridge cycles the guage reads 3A exactly, would this be a fair indicator of the power the fridge is drawing give or take say .5 amps, as indicated in the manual 3.5ish should be the average consumption? The reason I ask is I hooked the fridge up to a 240-12v/5A transformer and about 30mins later the 6A fuse in the transformer blew. I replaced the fuse and again about 30mins and out she goes again. Just out of interest I replaced the 10A circuit breaker between the batt and socket with a 6A fuse, 4.5 hours later it's cycling beautifully. Maybe it's a case "you get what you pay for", $60 transformer... maybe TOO cheap.
Blue
Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 08:57
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 08:57
Blue
Interesting point. I have a smaller 5A Waeco transformer I bought for one of their coolers some time ago. When I then bought a 60l Weaco the bloke from where I bought it said it was too light for continuous use and I needed the larger 6A model, the one for about $100 or so. This I did and we've had no probs.
At the time I had my doubts, however I know the bloke
well and accepted his advice. It would appear he was on the ball.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:17
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:17
Hi Rosco,
fridge has run all night without blowing the fuse I put on the battery so I guess it is probably a problem with the cheap transformer. 4A battery charger has done a splendid job of keeping the battery condition up, according to the battery tester I bought...
Blue
Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:21
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:21
So you're supplying the extra cold beers tomorrow Blue?
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:37
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:37
G'day Paul, if between now and tomorrow morn I can rig up a battery cradle, I pack a couple of extra's for you...
Reply By: drivesafe - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:29
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:29
Hi Blue, just a guess but the most likely cause for the fuse blowing while using the transformer is that the fridge was pulling more than 5 amps so the transformer put out more current but this would be at a lowering in voltage which in turn caused the fridge to put more amps so the transformer voltage lowered to cater for the increased current requirement. The whole thing is just a down spiralling situation but you get the idea.
In the case of the fridge running of the battery and charger together, the two devices are shearing the load which allows the voltage to remain high and the fridge does not increase it’s current demand. When the fridge cycles off, the charger then charges up the battery again, ready for the next cycle.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:41
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:41
Hi Drivesafe,
the fridge plug has an 8A fuse in it, would it be safe to replace the 6A transformer fuse with an 8A and see how we go? My guess would be NO, however apart from fitting the odd car stereo and
driving lights, I know SFA about electronics on the whole.
Blue
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:48
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:48
Hi again Drivesafe... just re-tread your post, bit late turning the brain on this morn. disregard my last followup.
Follow Up By: beatit - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 12:59
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 12:59
Hi Drivesafe,
I'd guess your using way more than 6 amps. I use 2 X 50 Weacos and on a hot day with a reasonably low temp setting they will use up to 4 amp each while cooling so I'm guessing that your 110 would use twice this at peak. But I'm only guessing. Made up an extension lead for my fridges (or any other 12 volt device like my shower) and incorporated an Ammeter to take the guess work out of that niggling question "how much power am I using?". Didn't cost much to make.
Reply By: Mal58 - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 12:59
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 12:59
Blue,
If I understand correctly, all Weaco fridges use a danfoss compressors. A characteristic of these compressors is that when the compressor starts, they draw a relatively high current, in your case in excess of 6A for a short period of time (1 or 2 seconds) and then settle down to 3.5 amps. This short peak would be enough to blow the fuse if it is a quick blow type.
With regard to the battery charger, if it has an analog meter, (ie moving needle)then it is likely that the meter mechanism won't react fast enough to the short current peak, so that you won't see it.
Mal
Reply By: ianmc - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 15:18
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 15:18
Spot on Mal! Most appliances draw extra current at start up!
Reply By: drivesafe - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 15:55
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 15:55
Hi folks, if Blue replaced the 6 amp fuse with a 6 amp circuit breaker, and used it with the 5 amp transformer, the circuit breaker would eventually trip. The surge or spike that occurs when the motor starts would most likely only be the final straw not the cause.
If a 7.5 amp fuse was put in in place of the 6 amp, I think you will find it will still blow. Using a bigger fuse than 7.5 will more than likely result in the transformer being damaged. The 5 amp fuse was there to protect the transformer from continuos overload and has done it’s job.
Under normal circumstances the fuse would not blow.
If the surge that occurs when ever a motor starts was to blow fuses so easily then we would be replacing fuses all over our vehicle all the time.
Fuses will tolerate an amount of surge without blowing, they are more intended to protect against continuos overload and dead shorts.
Reply By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:49
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:49
110 lt Waeco. Whoa!!!!
That's like 1/2 of a 44 gallon drum of grog!!
Or, like 5 Jerry cans of grog!!
That, is so cool!!!
I like you.....
Wolfie
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:58
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:58
3 little dirt magnets whoare growing faster than algae on a stagnant pond... Not much room for grog.
Saw a deluca at Pedders in Ferntree Gully last week... spewin I didn't have the camera with me, I reckon it had a 6" body lift which made the 31"(I think) Simex Extremes look very tiny...
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:03
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:03
Sorry... Delica
Reply By: KTM 525 EXC - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 02:53
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 02:53
Hey Blue
I'm thinking of getting a Waeco 110 like yours, what do you think of it, and do you run it as a fridge / freezer or just a fridge?
It'll be my first fridge.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:52
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:52
Hi KTM,
Ran it in the car off the dual battery and inside the house with battery charger hooked up to the battery as fridge/freezer. In the stationary car it held -15 over about 13 hours, also away for the high country trip it held around the -15 inside a fairly hot canopy. 100Ah AGM battery seemed to handle it
well. I got it from the Fridge
Shop, it was in excellent condition and seems to work really
well. So far pretty happy with it. It is bloody big though but as I have 3 growing kids and we usually go
camping with another couple of families, I don't think it will ever be too big.
Mate thats about all I can tell you, Jimbo bought the 80l not so long ago so he may have more to offer if you contact him.
Blue