Take a sneak peak at the new Hilux coming our way.

Submitted: Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 08:11
ThreadID: 18104 Views:4164 Replies:10 FollowUps:29
We are receiving this as a Hilux with pretty much the same model options.

CAN'T WAIT !!!

http://www.autosite.com/Reviews/2005-toyota-tacoma.asp

Reply By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 08:11

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 08:11
In March as well !!
AnswerID: 85978

Reply By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:29

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:29
Can't wait to buy one of these beasts !!

What a truck.

quotes ::

The Tacoma also now shares the same underpinnings as the automaker’s Toyota 4Runner and Lexus GX470 ( Prado in Australia ) sport-utility vehicles. According to Toyota, it’s this stronger chassis that gives the 2005 Toyota Tacoma improved ride and handling characteristics.

Toyota engineers also managed to work in a complete overhaul of the Tacoma’s powertrains, adding a new 2.7-liter inline four-cylinder engine and a larger and significantly more robust 4.0-liter V6, as well as two new transmissions. These beefed-up mechanicals boost the Tacoma’s maximum towing capacity by 1,500 pounds.

These new powerplants have a dramatic impact on performance numbers. According to Toyota, a 2005 Tacoma equipped with four-wheel drive and a V6 connected to an automatic can sprint from 0-to-60 in a respectable 7.5 seconds. Towing capacity has also been increased by 30 percent – a whopping 1,500 pounds – over the 2004 model. Properly equipped, a Tacoma V6 can pull a 6,500-pound trailer.

While the base model was good, the Tacoma X-Runner raises on-pavement handling to the next level. With the suspension lowered one-inch and the same tires as those on the Ferrari Enzo supercar, this self-proclaimed “muscle truck” delivers lateral acceleration (cornering forces) of .9g’s. To bring that abstract number into focus, that level of performance puts it in the same league as Nissan’s 350Z sports car, which should make those Car People really take notice.

YEE HAA !!!
AnswerID: 85987

Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:37

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 09:37
I thought the US get a different vehicle to us so it may not be relevant here in Australia.
I could be wrong though.
It sounds like an awsome vehicle but how does it go off road.

It looks set up for city driving with that lack of clearance?

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
AnswerID: 85989

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:15

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:15
No we are definately getting this vehicle. I have been speaking to them as I am a certain buyer !!
FollowupID: 344598

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 10:13

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 10:13
ln the guise shown it looks like it should come with a 4" exhaust and fluoro lights under the sills and a stereo soooo loud there's no point even trying to talk to your mate sitting 2 feet away...JMO
AnswerID: 85994

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:18

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:18
That will be the Sr5-5 mate ..

Still can buy in standard form..
FollowupID: 344600

Reply By: Savvas - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:03

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:03
Isn't the Tacoma built in the US and only for the american market? I'm not so sure that it's the Hilux replacement.

I think this is it .... Click Here.
AnswerID: 85999

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:17

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:17
Ring Toyota . We are getting this vehicle.

Same motor , chassis everything !! and a common rail T/d !
FollowupID: 344599

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:20

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:20
We are getting a Japanese built vehicle as well..

Even better.. Just got off the ph to Toyota and they are already taking orders on them without a price yet !!!

They will be hot property. The rep also told me it will be the fastest accelleerating Toyota and it is a commercial vehicle !.

Look out boys here I come :)
FollowupID: 344601

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 19:52

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 19:52
Sorry Back tracks , but savas is right . Not for oz . that is the us version . the have a oz version looks very similar to current shape with diffrent trim. That shape was thought of for oz in a 2wd , but not enough call for it.
FollowupID: 344662

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:00

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:00
I'll put my money on Eric.
FollowupID: 344663

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:02

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:02
which way mad dog ?
FollowupID: 344665

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:31

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:31
I try to back winners Eric
FollowupID: 344667

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:28

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:28
you still didnt say who your backing mad dog lol
FollowupID: 344676

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:33

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:33
oh ok, Thought I said I'd put my money on you, then I said I only back winners. arh, it's been a hot day.
FollowupID: 344677

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:35

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:35
Sorry to dissapoint but I have it on VERY good authority from inside Toyota that we are getting this Hilux.

Check out www.utes.com.au
FollowupID: 344679

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:36

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:36
sorry Eric but you are wrong.

http://www.utes.com.au/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=55&Itemid=90

Care to make a wager on that call ?

Ring any Toyota dealer tomorrow and I will gladly tell you sorry if you are right.
FollowupID: 344680

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:46

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:46
here is the article you pointed us to .

have a good read . There are some options that Australia will get from the Thialand version.
Let me also tell you this . Most sales people know less about there product than you and I . Let alone whats coming in . I chat with dealer principles every day and let me tell you that not even they know whats going on most of the time . There are alot of roumors flying around Toyota at the moment , even ones about the ability to order a rigig axle on a auto GXL turbo diesel and V8 next year . I wont beleive it untill i see it . I for one hope to see more overseas models in this country and also hope your vehicle of choise comes in . I just dont see it happening.

Toyota Motor Corp. took its first major step toward realizing the global optimal production and supply network when it announced as the IMV Project in 2002 by launching sales (14th October 2004) of a new-type pickup truck in Thailand.

Courtesy of information provided to us by Toyota Motor Press Office below is some preliminary images and additional information and some "may be" included options for the Australian market.

Toyota Motor Co chose Thailand, as the first country in Asia in which to invest and operate its business. The first manufacturing plant started its operations in 1964. Since those early days, Toyota Motor Thailand (TMT) has grown considerably. The second manufacturing plant commenced in 1975 and a third plant started productions in 1990. In addition, TMT has built the distribution network of 91 dealers and 234 showrooms all across the country. From 1999 Toyota Motor Thailand produces two new models, the Corolla Altis and the Camry which arrives in CKD packages. The company's goal is to manufacture cars containing 100% Thai-made components by 2003. Most of Toyota Motor Thailand's export sales are made to Australia, but the company also exports to Singapore and Brunei

The new pickup, called the Hilux VIGO, is the first of five newly developed IMV Project models designed for sale in more than 140 countries and to meet 21st century customer demands for high levels of durability and comfort. The completely new full lineup is to consist of three pickup trucks of different body types, a minivan and an SUV, collectively known as IMVs (Innovative International Multi-purpose Vehicles).

FollowupID: 344683

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:52

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:52
Yes I know it says that.

All I can say is that I am in a position to know this is happening. Believe me or not you will soon know the truth and look back and think that guy did know what he was talking about.

It is going to happen .

I am the finance manager in a big Toyota dealership :)
FollowupID: 344686

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:53

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:53
And I currently drive a Subaru Outback ;)
FollowupID: 344687

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:59

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:59
Well we were starting to think you had some insight , but now that you told us what you do . You have lost all credability. lol
FollowupID: 344688

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:07

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:07

I am also the Finance Manager for Audi and Hyundai & Nissan :)

Should help you narrow down the franchise .
FollowupID: 344691

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:11

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:11
Well after reading all that I think I'll double the money on Eric.
FollowupID: 344693

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:23

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:23
well not really . There is

Southarn Highlands motor group

Moorooka motors

Croford motors

City Nissan

Lander motors

Zupps motors

Barthom motors

Yep narrowed down allright , god and thats only what comes to mind
FollowupID: 344696

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:24

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:24
Just having a dig back trakcs , dont take me to serious ;-)
FollowupID: 344697

Reply By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:31

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 11:31
For all the non believers here it is front page of www.utes.com.au

http://www.utes.com.au/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=55&Itemid=90
AnswerID: 86002

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 12:07

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 12:07
Certainly very quick, how do you think it'll go off road ?
AnswerID: 86006

Reply By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 13:57

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 13:57
time will tell
AnswerID: 86018

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 14:26

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 14:26
Yeah but what's your opinion
FollowupID: 344626

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 14:47

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 14:47
My opinion is it will be very handy off road. It has the Prado chassis , driveline , transmission and motor so how could it not be ?
FollowupID: 344628

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 16:11

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 16:11
ok so it's a Prado with a different body. The Prado certainly is quite good, looks as though it needs some more height though. Look forward to your report when you take delivery.
FollowupID: 344636

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:45

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:45
Nissans are looking better all the time.(ouch that hurt to say)
AnswerID: 86039

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 18:28

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 18:28
Navara vs new Hilux ??

hehe .. thats a laugh.

There is that much twist in the Navara chassis that when you jack up the fron right wheel you cannot open the rear left door !!

Quality build ... hehe
FollowupID: 344657

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:58

Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:58
Your not ment to open doors when you have one wheel in the air lol . some chassis are desighned rigged , some ar desighned with flex , its not wrong , just horses for courses .
FollowupID: 344705

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 07:18

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 07:18
I would love to be towing with a vehicle that is designed with flex ;)

The more rigid the body the better 4wd it makes.

Proven point !!
FollowupID: 344714

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 07:31

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 07:31
Sorry , but how is this a proven point ? in what way ?
I always thought that wheel articulation , power to weight ration , Torque , traction were items that made a good 4by .

Flex isn't a bad thing , i would rather a chassis with flex than no flex to stop it from cracking and falling apart .

Now here we are comparing 2 off roaders with ifs both make a great tradesmans car to carry his tools in lol
FollowupID: 344716

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 07:48

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 07:48
Flex is built into the chassis of all 4b's.

Some however have too much as a result of poor build quality eg Navara.

FollowupID: 344718

Reply By: Vinnie - Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 00:24

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 00:24
seen all pics and they all look like crap!!!
V
AnswerID: 86095

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 07:22

Saturday, Nov 27, 2004 at 07:22
Looks are a personal thing Vinnie.

Looks aside the car underneath is the goods !
FollowupID: 344715