Running costs Patrol v Cruiser
Submitted: Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 15:41
motherhen
According to RAC WA, who have an article in their latest magazine on comparitive running costs (including depreciation). In the Large 4WD category - cheapest: Nissan Patrol ST 3.0L Dsl, and the dearest: Toyota Landcruiser GXL 4.2L Turbo Dsl. There you have it! I'm going to take the Patrol out today and smile.
Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 16:00
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 16:00
I remember a report done by the RACQ about 1-2 years ago. It said that the cheapest medium 4wd to own was the Nissan Pathfinder and the cheapest large 4wd to own was the Nissan Patrol 3.0L. What was even more interesting was that the Nissan Patrol 3.0L actually undercut the Pathfnder by about $5/week.
Although I reckon it would be cheaper to own a softroader. That way you can't spend up big on lockers etc. However I'm a bit biased since I drive a Rodeo so I'm a bit like a softroader driver RAFLMAO.
Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:14
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:14
Cheaper ?
Oh I get it
As in cheap and nasty !.
Get what you pay for. If you want a truck that drives like a throwback to the goold old 70's then buy the coiled Patrol.
You want comfort and Lexus ride buy the Toyota.
Follow Up By: Schevchenko - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:01
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:01
OK GO_OFFROAD you are exposed! changing your screen name on the sly to "Back tracks". I have had my suspicions and this post proves it! Fess up son!
Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:45
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 21:45
Not Off Roads here mate.
Just another peep with his head screwed on for quality.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:00
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:00
Dunno who's who but I've had a few chuckles today. Nice to sit back and watch the jockeying for position.
Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:08
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 22:08
No jockeying.
Toyota are way out in front.
Reply By: beatit - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 16:40
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 16:40
Well I have a thirsty 4.8 auto and reckon all this talk about economy and 4b's is a little difficult to comprehend. Surely people don't buy a 4b based on economy? Otherwise we'd all be driving zooks and Ladas.
Reply By: Joe - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:05
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:05
The fast bulk of mining companies run Toyota's for a reason...being commercial operations thier decsions are not based on emotional reasons, but what has proven to be best value in tough conditions over many years.
Joe
Follow Up By: Utemad - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:09
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:09
I wouldn't think there would be too many owners that would put their 4x4 through anything like what a mining company would. So not much of a comparison.
How about Telstra. They ran Toyotas and Holdens for years. However now they run Nissans and Fords. Is that because Nissans and Fords are better?
Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:18
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:18
Well said Joe. If you want something that will work and work and work you buy Toyota as all world oil / mining companies have found out through years of trial and error.
It is a fair comparison uteback as it shows that they will survive much more than you or I could throw at it and still perform day after day.
Your Telstra comparison is somewhat misguided as they spend all day on sealed roads in urban areas so hardly need to be
well built.
Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:29
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:29
This is why you buy a Toyota guys.
[b]Auto on Info November 2004
Toyota and Honda Dominate Most Reliable SUV List; General Motors and Ford Dominate Least Reliable SUV List
Four of Toyota Motor Corporation's sport utility vehicle models made Consumer Reports' most reliable list. These are the Toyota Land Cruiser, the Toyota Highlander, the Toyota RAV4, and the Lexus LX 470.
Together, General Motors and Ford accounted for 10 of the worst 14, by this reliability measure. The remaining four were Volkswagen's Touareg, Nissan's Armada, Porsche's Cayenne, and Mercedes-Benz' U.S.-made M-Class, the last with perennially near-bottom Reliability Percentranks (
Follow Up By: motherhen - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:31
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:31
Mmm - its raining - p'raps i'll take the Cruiser then.
My son works for mining co - but tells us now Nissan better than Cruisers.
Not really into started the old debate - just thought the figures of interest - after all - i've got a foot in each
camp!
Follow Up By: Rhubarb - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:35
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 17:35
I'm also pretty sure that mining companies don't run Toyota Landcruiser GXL 4.2L Turbo Diesel's as there standard fare. They run the base model Diesel's.
And as these vechiles are brought as a fleet arangement I think you will find that the decesion is based puerly on economics not on 'toughness' as you may like to think.
Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 18:22
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 18:22
You are right.
They run base model Diesel only. A mate goes back to Africa next week and his oil company are running a fleet of 80 series standard diesels still.
Follow Up By: Back tracks- Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 18:25
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 18:25
You answered your own question.
If it is based on economics then it has to do with toughness. Have you heard of durability assessment ?
It costs money to have the trucks off the road and unproductive.
Bottom line
Toyota breaks down least , needs least up keep , retains best resale and does the job better.
An economic decision.
Follow Up By: motherhen - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 18:47
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 18:47
Come on guys - i didn't intend to start the old "N" v "T" debate - been done before on this site (understatement!). Glad we all love our cars. Have fun $WDing with whatever you have - it may not be fancy but it's fun.
Follow Up By: Schevchenko - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:08
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:08
Sorry boys - i'd love to buy a cruiser but they're just too limp wristed for my purposes. The fact there is ever any nissan tojo debate at all given the size discrepancy of the two companies....tojo stuffed up big time.
Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 19:31
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 19:31
Just had a look at the costs not including fuel for my TD 100 series last financial year. Does include Polyairs and about $1200 on shocks and a few other bits and pieces. Cost of what I have categorised as 'service' in my Quikbooks program comes to $5700 - is a lot of dollars over 30000 k's when I doesn't include fuel, rego or insurance but all the other bits and pieces.
Reply By: kesh - Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:15
Friday, Nov 26, 2004 at 20:15
The functional aspect of these costs is always going to be subjective, ie a mining co. operating a fleet of Toyotas is going to have minimul costs mainly because all servicing, repairs and purchase/ replacement of parts will be done on site. Conversely Telstra with its Nissans will have a service/ maintenance contract with a dealer group. Then there is the amazing variation in dealer service charges, the Drive section of Friday's SMH is conducting a phone "shoparound" to get indications on service costs. Today they looked at Mazda6 auto. 40000km. service (ok, its not a 4wd, but its still a vehicle) Prices ranged (5 Mazda dealerships) $260 to $560. (so theres a $300 ripoff) And I would also suspect the same is going to occur with comprehensive insurance, type of tyres purchased etc.
So when the bean counter says you have made an uneconomic decision with your u'beaut purchase how does the user satisfaction component get factored in? Bah bl@@dy humbug, I say!
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 18:38
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 18:38
oh no,, not the childish,, Patrol verses Landloser, ooops Sorry Landcruiser, Na Na Na Na stuff again....... I cant handle it.....Anyway!!!. The Patrol is heaps better, just my point of view. Michael
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 18:40
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 18:40
Just kiddin' LOL
Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 08:29
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 08:29
ROTFLMAO AGAIN, come on guys when are you going too learn.
You buy what you want and what you like, not what someone else likes or wants.
And you then enjoy what you just bought.
Pure & simple !!!!