Oil on glass

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 15:22
ThreadID: 18145 Views:2230 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
Help needed NOW my mate is cleaning his tojo and some clown put dirty rags in the clean bin and he has dirty diesel oil all over his windscreen . how do we get it off? Tried Jif, Petrol ,Sugar soap,Neat detergent but it is still there.

Reply By: brumac - Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 15:29

Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 15:29
Try ct18 truckwash
AnswerID: 86223

Follow Up By: Member - Ray - Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 15:40

Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 15:40
Thanks mate, I have some at home so will try it
FollowupID: 344873

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 15:42

Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 15:42
Metho?
AnswerID: 86227

Follow Up By: Member - Ray - Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 15:48

Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 15:48
Tried that,all it did was spread the mess
FollowupID: 344874

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 16:06

Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 16:06
Prepsol will remove all the grease, wax and other like material off the screen. Use a clean cloth for the final wipe and don't scrimp on how much prepsol you use. Should fix no problem!! Cheers
AnswerID: 86229

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 16:44

Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 16:44
Agree with that idea. Prepsol will do the trick....
FollowupID: 344886

Reply By: drivesafe - Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 22:29

Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 22:29
Hi Ray, a quick and usually successful way to get most things of the windscreen is to use soapy steel wool pads, it is also good for cleaning the edge of your wiper blades and the steel wool will NOT scratch the glass.
AnswerID: 86304

Follow Up By: Tuff60 - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 00:27

Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 00:27
It was that steel wool that doesn't strach glass that cost a certain bumper bar repair mob $340(new glass and tinting)after thier technichian used "nah this stuff doesn't scratch" steel wool on the screen and two side windows of my Commodore after he got blue overspray all over the car. All the scratching became real obvious whenever the sun hit the glass. It was real nice of them to fork out for a cut and polish as well, after they suggested that I should do it.
FollowupID: 344967

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 14:04

Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 14:04
Tuff60, I don't know what type of steel wool they used but I have used this stuff for years and never had a problem.
I've cleaned windscreens on my Toyota, Commodore, Falcon, 2 Discos, a VW, Range Rover and an Astra and still doing it and non have ever been scratched so again, I don't know what they used.
FollowupID: 345025

Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 08:04

Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 08:04
Long shot but what about that grease removing hand washing liqued.The kind mechanics have. It might just be the trick. Never tried it myself but worth a shot.

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
AnswerID: 86338

Follow Up By: bushfix - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 19:41

Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 19:41
G'day Sparkie,
Fingertens?
FollowupID: 345064

Reply By: Russ - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:41

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:41
Ray,
Try a bit of kero on a rag. Might then need some good detergent, have always found that LOC (Amway product) is good too.

Russ :):)
AnswerID: 86662