DENCO Diesel boys....

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 11:38
ThreadID: 18204 Views:2931 Replies:7 FollowUps:18
To those of you owning Turbod GQ's, I would like to share with you the outcome of my expierences dealing with Denco down in Wagga Wagga.
I spoke to Paul at denco last week on phone and as I had some "stupid questions" for him. He was very good on the phone that day and so i decided to book the old girl in for a dyno run to see if it was just my imagination OR in fact the car was not performing as well as it could.
Left home Monday morning and arrived in Wagga at 7:30 am. Time to kill till the booked time so i checked out the locals till 10:30. Arrived at denco and had a good chat to boys before car was taken off me. I sat in room awaiting the outcome. Was hoping it was simple and sweet.
Found out that the std Nissan air filter box was restricting air flow which Was causing it to not rev much over 3000 rpm. They suggested some things and i added some more...lol, but in the long run...they won, my suggestion was not used (wanted heaps more boost)
Finally after some replacement parts for more updated and better performing ones, I picked her up and paid the man for his services. as soon as i drove her out of the driveway i noticed a few changes. Much smoother idoling (no vibrations) and much more throttle precision to what i had before.
So it was late afternoon when i got her back so i decided to "motel" it for the night.
Left Wagga at 5:30 this morning and headed home.
WELL....I am impressed guys. This thing has gone from a great offroader to a pleasure to drive on freeways.
It has amazing power up hills now and not only that, but much more precise throttle control (no more foot to the floor stuff) You touch the throttle now and it takes off.
Also one problem that many GQ owners have expierences is that while heading up hills, most of us switch the air con off to give us that bit more grunt to climb the hill...well not any more guys, had air on all the way home and the temp gauge only hit half way once, that was a very steep long climb while pushing her to see just how hot she would get. She sat on 110 - 120 most of the way home and temp gauge was sitting just above 1/4 most of the way. much better than what it was before.

This thing pulls better than SWMBO does !!!

I must point out here that i didnt go for the 12 psi boost, as it was explained to me that it would involve fuel setting changes and in turn run warmer...so as much as i wanted 12 psi, I am more than happy with the outcome. Especially now i have much more room under the bonnet than i did before with the old turbo pipe setup covering most of the top area. I can now see lots more stuff in engine bay and oil filters will be a dream to replace now.
I must point out here too that they did advise me to do the injectors as they have not been touched from new, will also improve performance some more aswell and i will do them myself as soon as money allows
I would recomment the boys down at Denco any time.
Thankyou Paul and the boys for the excellent job ....hell of a long way to go but I will be back.

Reply By: floyd - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 12:10

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 12:10
Are they expensive and what did they actually replace or do? Did they do a before and after dyno test and gas analysis?
AnswerID: 86538

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 12:46

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 12:46
Hi Floyd,
As far as cost goes, it came to $600.00. remembering that i was going down anyway even before i decided to go ahead with it. so in fact i was going to pay around $100.00 to get it dyno tested and some adjustments done. So considering what it would have cost me just to drive there and dyno test it plus whatever adjustmenst they eneded to do inclusive of that $100.00, I think it was well prices. You cant do better than have expert people when it comes to tinkering with my toys. Lots of tradespeople out there who THINK they know what they are doing, but these guys were just professional in every aspect. I would pay anything for that alone.
They replaced the std OVAL air cleaner box with an alloy one which has an oval shape to replace the round std intake hole (engine revs very nice now). Nice fit too. Also replaces most of my old plumbing that was cluttering across my rocker cover ( my old piping i had before for turbo ran across rocker cover twice, not allowing me much room to fit hands in there) with a more effective and Neater finish. They also replaced something bolted to my turbo...dont ask ok..i have no idea. But its nice and shiny now :-)
Yes ..before and after dyno was done with printout. Just remember I didnt go for boost here ok (although i wanted it, i decided to listen to his opinion and go with what he thought was best). All i know i, the thing goes heaps better with much less effort now and that to me is what i was after. Hope that helps mate
Angelo
FollowupID: 345137

Reply By: theratt - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 12:16

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 12:16
what boost pressure did they set your wagon at?
AnswerID: 86539

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 12:56

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 12:56
Hey ratt,
it is set at only 8 psi. As i said before i wanted 12 but i listened to his reasoning and decided to believe...and i am glad i did. Just the temp drop alone was worth the $600.00. Never before have driven the car as hard as i did comming home without having to back off to get the temp down below 3/4. Now (and with air con running all the way home) it sat on just above 1/4. I am not into this for power..if i was id be driving a 7 ltr F series monster. I want a car that performs well offraod and it did that, now i have one that performs well on the black stuff....i am going to enjoy my driving from now on i think.
FollowupID: 345140

Reply By: Well 55 - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 12:17

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 12:17
G'day Angelo I'm glad it all worked out ok, I guess now it will pull the skin off a custard.

Met Paul a few times at the local 4WD shows, shared the same tent site and he is a decent sort of bloke, knows his stuff.

The next thing is to check the fuel usage against what it was before the work.

See ya Tony.
AnswerID: 86540

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 12:51

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 12:51
Hey Tony,
how are you mate?
Yes i am very happy with the outcome. Especially the temp gauge. I will do a fuel test on my next trip....but i know from what i used heading down to what was used heading back...i used less fuel.
Now the money has almost run out i wont be heading down your way this weekend ok..sorry but we will get together soon...and no snakes this time .
Take care
Angelo
FollowupID: 345139

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 13:23

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 13:23
The drop in temp sound interesting, coming back from Hilston on sunday every hill from Temora back to the Hume the A/C cut out and the needle only moved one thickness to 1/2 and in one case a tad over 1/2, so it must be sitting on the limit all the time. If I sat on a 110 for any length of time it would do it as well. It was bloody hot and a lot of locusts splattered across the front, but not all that many blocking the front bits.

So it might be worth a call and put a few questions to Paul.
FollowupID: 345144

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 13:25

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 13:25
This thing pulls better than SWMBO does !!!
ROFLMAO...............................................

Glad to hear you got it all sorted out Angelo......
FollowupID: 345145

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 14:06

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 14:06
Thankyou Paul...not a word ok.!!!!
I am living on borrowed time as it is mate.
FollowupID: 345152

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 14:25

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 14:25
Only thing here is Tony..i run a 4 core radiator, so maybe that helps, but then again i too had heating probs before..ya just never know mate.
FollowupID: 345157

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 15:20

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 15:20
Hey Well55,

Love those Locusts? Saw heaps of big trucks pulled over scraping the locusts off the radiator etc. My Lightforce blocked the majority.

Gotta clean her yet, but that won't happen till tomorrow now!

Chris.
FollowupID: 345169

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 13:28

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 13:28
Told ya so...

Std airbox? My Kit came with a Denco Airbox that replaced the Genurine one..

photos of your 'new' one??
AnswerID: 86556

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 13:55

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 13:55
Hi truckster,
My Denco turbo was one of their first attempts i think...back in the days of Noah i think.
I got that aluminium box fitted..very nice indeed. I will add pics as soon as i recover from this heat and the drive. Will take some before and after shots...just as well u never got round to taking the pics for that adjustment u mentioned...cause it wouldnt have worked on mine. So all worked out well i think.
Temp drop was the best part...I knew GQ's could run hard without cooking.

Take care mate
Angelo
FollowupID: 345149

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 13:53

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 13:53
Hey Angelo, glad it worked out mate sounds good and well worth the money 1/2 what you were willing too pay can't get any better mate. As for the other comment, i won't tell mate honest !!

The parts left the US on the 27th gets done Tuesday.

Cheers mate, Baz.

Hey Tony and Paul.
AnswerID: 86564

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 13:57

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 13:57
Hi Baz,
if she found out that something pulls harder than she does im in trouble.

Glad the parts left U.S.A. Hope all goes well with it....keep me informed ok.
Cheers Angelo
FollowupID: 345151

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 14:15

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 14:15
Parts USA??

Baz, can you gas up a keg and let it sit for a week or so, or just gas up when ready to drink? 19 lt, 30 psi, 2 day's, sound right, then 10 psi for pulling (a beer that is Angelo)?

Paul..
FollowupID: 345154

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 14:23

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 14:23
You into home brewing now Paul?
God help us...i can see the day we have a reunion at Bendethera and there will be more kegs there than tents. Fairdinkum guys, what ever happened to the "real thing"
FollowupID: 345156

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 14:28

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 14:28
Ive brewed for many years, but have now converted to kegging my beer instead of bottling it, and a special thanks to Brian at Country Brewers for sending me the setup (a plug)
Ill stick to cans when im out and about, although i did like Baz's party keg setup.

Paul..
FollowupID: 345158

Follow Up By: fatz - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 14:41

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 14:41
Ay Up lads, Santa has come early.........Turbo Goes on the 100 tomorrow morning, was supposed to be next Monday but they contacted me to say they could fit it in tomorrow......Cokeaddict -I'll give you a run on the next trip back from Bendethra...Oh i love christmas...
FollowupID: 345162

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 15:06

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 15:06
U bugger, just when i thought id sneak past u..u go and get it turbo'd..i hate u.....lol
How the hell are u mate?
where u been hiding? and hows the other half doing.
Hope to catch up soon ok. Best of luck with turbo mate.
Angelo
FollowupID: 345166

Reply By: Gajm (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:02

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:02
How long ago did you get the turbo fitted Coke? and you got a link to the Denko mob? The GQ sounds perfect now, I would love to get mine going uphills without playing with the "aircon boost system" it's just hard to convince the missus that it's worth the money for a turbo. If it's not a rude question can you tell me what your turbo system finaly owes you
AnswerID: 86646

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:09

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:09
Got the link...duh Denco...I have heard Truckster recomend them so often yet I still googled the wrong name
FollowupID: 345213

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:32

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:32
Hi Gajm,
I bought the car with a Denco turbo. I bought it from Wagga Wagga....So i assume they did the original job. But it was a few years ago now and technology has improved. Yes its a dream to drive now, I'd go as far as to say its perfect. Still very tight body wise and in top nick inside and out. I payed heaps for it but it had everything i was going to buy anyway so i saved heaps on money and time fitting it out.
I dont know your situation there but if you plan on keeping it for a few years i would not hesitate paying for a turbo fittment. You wont regret it.
Just make sure your cooling system is in top nick too ok...no point adding heat to it if she runs excessivly hot now.
Angelo
FollowupID: 345219

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 22:32

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 22:32
Thanks Angelo, I definitely want to go ahead with the turbo, as I do intend to keep my GQ for as long as possible, providing I can sort out the lack of power, especialy when towing the CT. Other than that she does everything I want.

I have pretty well solved the overheating problems....you may recall I well and truly picked your brain about the modifications you did to yours. In the end getting the radiator properly flushed and replacing the fluid in the clutch fan solved my problems.

I was a bit worried that adding a turbo might start the over heating problems again, but after your post I am feeling a lot more confident about getting one installed.

Glenn
FollowupID: 345244

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 22:56

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 22:56
Heya Coke... What was you rear wheel kw figures???...
AnswerID: 86691