French line
Poeppel corner
Qaa Line
Birdsville
Walkers Crossing
Innaminka
Camer Corner
Home

I would like , is people opinion of what they saw along these ways that is a must see . Also ideas on , make sure you see this on the way ect .

Ps , we will have a crack at the 17 hr record after all lol on the west east crossing

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 20:26

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 20:26
Eric,

I hope you are not serious about a 17 Hr crossing.
If you are you are just wasting your time.
Too many people these days are "tick" tourists. that is they have been everywhere but really seen nothing.

Drive to Peterborough - Seen that ....tick,
Been to Coober Pedy - Seen that.....tick
Been across the Desert - Seen That......tick

What have you really seen .......Nothing........

Stop and smell the roses my freind or your wasting your time and putting others at risk.

If you are not allowing three weeks for that trip you probably won't see much.

Have a look at www.lcool.org for our Simpson trip with lots of photo's and things to see. On top of that you could probably spend four days travelling the Oodnadatta track, Coober Pedy, Painted deset, breakaways etc.

Not much point in going if you don't look around.
AnswerID: 86641

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 20:31

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 20:31
The 17 hr thing is there stur my mate Willem lol
FollowupID: 345207

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 22:25

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 22:25
Hello David

You have been scarce of late. Yes this young fella Eric is trying to push my buttons. These nouvaux riche urban cowboys are all go go go...been there...tick! Done this ..tick! I'll get even with him soon. He will probably break something out there in the bush and will have to be rescued because that Hi Tech Toy machine of his is so full of gadjetery something is bound to happen...lol
FollowupID: 345240

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 20:39

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 20:39
The old Pfart of Peterborough is interesting.....

Innamincka is great - read about the history of Burke and Wills before you go and you can take a journey back in time and imagine those poor sods trapsing around the deserts.

Hospitality in Birdsville is great..... try and catch some Yabbies.

Oodnadatta track is great - you have to stop along the way and look at the old sidings and buildings....

AnswerID: 86642

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 20:58

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 20:58
Interesting on the Yabbies mate , I wonder if Ruth is still reading , am I dreaming or did someone mention Barramundi near Birsville ?

Does Dailhousie Springs have fish ?

basicly I am asking , is it worth bringing a rod along ? lol
FollowupID: 345208

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:25

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:25
.....sorry about the typo when I was talking about Peterborough..!!!

Ruth and Ian call have an affectionate term for the Golden Perch or Yellow Belly. They call them 'Diamantina Barra.' I think they are the closest thing that you will get to a real Barra in Birdsville!

You would have to ask Ruth about a rod - I reckon it might be worth taking one.

FollowupID: 345217

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 22:38

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 22:38
Too late Andrew...now you are definitely off the PP Juice recipient list. Lache is still allowed tho....lol

As if there isn't enough fish in the sea around Melbourne this fella wants to go fishing in the desert while driving 100kmh over sand hills!!!!! I've heard it all now.

How are your plans going for that 2 year stint on the wallaby?
FollowupID: 345247

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 23:34

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 23:34
Hey Eric I thought you had a rod (Wog Pole) by now, catch good yella on the opposite bank of the Diamantina with one of those. LOL

FollowupID: 345259

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 07:32

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 07:32
Look at rig pic Bernie lol . All 7 meters of it
FollowupID: 345284

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 20:55

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 20:55
I'm crossing the Simpson the other way about the same time as you Eric. Just make sure you keep an eye out for me please. That 5m wog pole should help.
AnswerID: 86644

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:00

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:00
Whats your plans mate ? might be able to catch up somewere
FollowupID: 345211

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 20:56

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 20:56
No worries Eric,

you caught me with that one.!
AnswerID: 86645

Reply By: rolande- Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:03

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:03
Eric,
I would have thought coffee at Duff's was a must!!!

Rolande
AnswerID: 86647

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 22:22

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 22:22
Lol , was thinking , were have I seen that lol .
FollowupID: 345239

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:41

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 21:41
Was planning similar trip.
but thatsbleepcanned now...
AnswerID: 86661

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:52

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:52
Why Bruce . . . . because Eric will be there?
FollowupID: 345322

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 13:18

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 13:18
na other chit really... + cammo starts school next yr dont wanna interrupt the first yr for him...
FollowupID: 345364

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 13:43

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 13:43
It's scarey isn't it - one minute they're a baby and next thing you know it's off to kindergarten and school.
FollowupID: 345371

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 22:59

Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 22:59
Hi Eric... My next door neighbour and i are both doing the same trip you are doing starting from about the 6th June next year...
I am then heading north from Birdsville and blasting up to kingfisher and then up through the govebleepula area....
I will race ya.. Patrol vs Landcruiser.. i rekon i can do it in 15hrs...
AnswerID: 86692

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 07:48

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 07:48
we are heading off on School holidays ,, so I think that is late June. But don't , use it as a head start lol
FollowupID: 345286

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 07:49

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 07:49
lol , that should say , Don't stress , use it as a head start lol
FollowupID: 345287

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 07:45

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 07:45
Gove Peninsula....
FollowupID: 345518

Reply By: fozzy - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 07:55

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 07:55
eric
dalhousie springs is worth stopping for few days to sit in springs
aiming to do motorbike (support) trip last week june first week juky(school hols)2005 across simpson if i can get time off(end financial yr) so may see you on rd
last time we did e/w but will go w/e this time
expect it to be busy as bourke st at this time which is a shame
AnswerID: 86729

Reply By: fozzy - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 08:54

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 08:54
ps also if can organise a night at william creek pub-but dont plan to leave to early next day
AnswerID: 86740

Reply By: Karsten from Birdsville Studio - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:16

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:16
Agree about taking your time on the trip but.....who's the clown who reckons 17 hours is a record west-east crossing?

Met up with the Birdsville Hotel publican north-west of Dalhousie in '99 doing the east-west crossing in 17 hours followed by a 13 hour west-east crossing the next day. ie. Leaving at 7am and turning up in BV at 8pm for some nosh and a few drinks.

But wouldn't recommend it unless you had to.

Look forward to catching up with you at the Caravanserai Cafe Eric...

If you would like to see some truely magnificent images of the Simpson, check out my father, Wolfgang's, paintings of the Simpson and other outback areas

Over four hundred original works on display, most of which are of the Simpson and country around Birdsville over the last 28 years.

Karsten
AnswerID: 86761