Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:09
Shane B
I have a GUII Turbo ute that we use for fire fighting here around the
Alice Springs area, and it has developed a serious overheating problem recently. My vehicle is fitted and compliance plated to carry 3.5 t. I am trying to find out if anyone else has a simular problem, as I am unable to get any sence or help from the local Nissan dealer/service department.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:48
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:48
What have you done so far to the car to trouble shoot?
Radiator hoses?
Removed radiator and cleaned it out - inside and out??
Thermostat?
etc etc..
Follow Up By: Shane B - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:55
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:55
done all of this, and clean the radiator out on a weekly basis (due to the extreme conditions we work in). I have heard that the strength of the coolant can have some effect too. I am still running the recomended dosage at this stage.
Reply By: Shane B - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:51
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 10:51
Yes done all of that, and clean the radiator usually on a weekly basis due to the extreme conditions we have to work in.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 11:07
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 11:07
So what other things have the nissan dealer done, what else have you done?
Have you contacted Customer Support at Nissan Aussie in Dandenong Vic?
Follow Up By: Shane B - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 11:17
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 11:17
The nissan dealer here just keeps saying that it is caused by the weight and basicaly dosent want to know or do anymore (vehicle is still under warranty), and is becoming very hostile because I keep taking the vehicle back to them to fix the overheating problem.
As it is a government vehicle, we cant do anything to it ourselves, or take it to another mechanic (because it is a warranty issue). The only other thing that I can think of is maybe to change the radiator to a bigger one, but then this may void the warranty too. I am running out of ideas, apart from replacing the vehicle with a Toyota when the time comes.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 11:39
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 11:39
Actually you can take it to other licensed dealers and still have warranty.
I would take it elsewhere anyway and get them to check it out.
I presume its a striker unit with a slip on
tank about 500-1000ltrs? Whats it like with 1/2
tank of
water? Overheat etc?
What actual weight is it full of
water and gear?
Follow Up By: Shane B - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 11:58
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 11:58
The Nissan dealer has ALL the dealerships (for all the major vehicles)!!! I have to go back up to
Darwin in about March 05 so may have to wait until then to get someone else to look into the problem.
Yes it only carries a fixed firefighting unit with about 600ltrs
water + firefighting equipment + fridge +
camping gear.
The vehicle gets hot even when empty of
water.
The weight is just under 4t with full gear and
water.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 12:54
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 12:54
So its getting hot when Empty??
So weight of
tank would be aroudn 100kg, 600ltrs
water is around 600kg, hoses, few lengths of 25 and 38, nozzles, Extinguishers etc campin gear, shovels etc, would be around 500kg? So all up its got about 1200kg onboard?
its not exactly a killer weight.
What about airflow to the radiator? Lights and crap on the bar infront of the grill?
Follow Up By: Shane B - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 12:59
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 12:59
Well, there is a set of ralley 4000, and a winch below that but should still be getting enough airflow, the strange thing is that it only started in mid August. Until then things were fine, so am woundering if it may be a leaking injector??
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 13:20
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 13:20
Remove the spotties and try again.
But if the issue has only began since August, then it was fine before that WITH all the gear onboard? Then the dealer cant wash his hands of it.
Contact Nissan Australia.. Im sure they would be keen to help out, if not they deserve what they get...
YMMV
Follow Up By: Shane B - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 13:23
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 13:23
Dont suppose you have an email address for Nissan Aust? I cant find one on the net.
Follow Up By: Peter - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 16:56
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 16:56
u cant be serious just put nissan into google
Reply By: Anthony - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 12:28
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 12:28
Hi Shane,
Maybe the clutch is slipping with the extra weight and causing extra heat in the engine. You may need to fit a heavy duty clutch kit.
My clutch on my Hilux was slipping under load and causing the engine temp to rise heaps. No problems since fitting a HD clutch.
Just a thought ... cheers Anthony
Follow Up By: Shane B - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 12:45
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 12:45
Thanks Anthony, i have noticed latley that the clutch has been slipping in the sandy areas, so will get this looked at.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:18
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:18
G'day Shane,
You haven't said so, but i assume you've got a 4.2TD??
I have posted several times about the issues I've had with "over-warming" (as I prefer to call it, because the needle on the temp gauge was still with the acceptable limit). The issue i had was that once the gauge moved above half way, the switches in the bottom of the lower radiator tank would trigger the air con to go off.
I solved the problem with a aluminium radiator from PWR. It's a direct slide-in fit; same height and width, but has 2x26mm cores instead of the factory unit's 2x12mm cores.
I changed the fan clutch, moved my Lightforce 240's to the top of the bullbar, cut an hole and mounted a scoop off a 3litre patrol above the turbo etc and the new radiator was the final straw (cost $1100-). Nissan can't void the warranty unless something goes wrong which they can prove was caused by the modification/replacement you did.
Follow Up By: Shane B - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:23
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:23
Thanks Roachie, looks like I am going to have to put in a H/D radiator for now and run it till it is due for replacment mid 05.
Thanks for the advice.
Shane
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:09
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:09
Shane,
If you do put the bigger radiator in, make sure you keep the old one safe and sound. When you go to sell the truck in a year or 2, swap them over and advertise the PWR jobbie on here....should get half your money back.
Reply By: Flash - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:51
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:51
Are you POSITIVE the viscous fan is working properly.
If you don't hear it roaring at revs when warm then it's probably not working.
Also less Glycol (ie:33% rather than 50%) will allow engine to run cooler. Straight
water is better still, (but of course then you have no antifreeze protection...)
I use Red Line's "
Water Wetter" and about 30% Glycol on my old TD42 Turbo and it's not overheating at all (even towing a Heavy Trailer up the range to
Toowoomba) and believe
Water Wetter helps a lot.
For it to have suddenly started overheating something has changed. Also if it's being "overfueled" due lack of air from the turbo or whatever, then EGT's will rise and so will Cylinder Head Temp!
Follow Up By: Flash - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:52
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:52
Also I'd bypass the dealer for now and go direct to Nissan Aust.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:17
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:17
G'day Flash,
My old GQ 4.2 with Safari turbo, used to roar when the fan cut in. I bought my GU brand new and have NEVER heard the fan cut in. I changed the fan hub ($320- to Mr Nissan; thank you) and the new one is also as quiet as a church mouse. I pulled the old one apart and was intending to fill it up with extra fluid, but found that the skinny rubber "O" ring seal swelled up once it came into contact with the atmosphere and was about 1" too long to fit back in the groove it came out of. New rubber "O" rings are apparently not available; they are made of some sort of special rubber compound. Sounds like bullshyt to me, but who am i to argue.
The other thought I had was to whack a couple of tech screws through the fan hub so it's locked up full time, but have been advised this adversely affect fuel economy and that the fan blades will eventually fracture as they are not designed to be under load full time.
I'd be interested to know whether ANY GU owners have EVER heard their fan cut in and roar???
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:21
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 20:21
Struth, I'm losing it bigtime......LOLOL
I meant to also ask you Flash, about this idea of watering down the coolant? I'm intrigued mate. I've been very careful to use Tectalloy 90+ coolant, straight out of the container....it says it is NOT to be diluted.
I've been led to believe that
water will destroy these modern engines and that ONLY coolant (and NEVER mixed with other brands etc) should be used.
What have you based your claims on? Don't get me wrong; I'm not challenging your findings, just very curious and somewhat hopeful that you may have solved a problem that has plagued a lot of us.
Follow Up By: Flash - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:06
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:06
G'day Roachie.
It's a common misconception that glycol helps cooling. It actually makes it worse due to less calories to raise the temp of Glycol than water.
Look at thisRedline
and thisRedline PDF
Hope those work if not cut and paste.
Yes though, you are right about the corrosion- you DO need some kind of very good inhibitor, but "Water Wetter" has that.
I run 30% Glycol...for limited antifreeze protection, and "Water wetter" and the results are outstanding.
Your engine WILL RUN COOLER on water than a mix- but obviously you need a good inhibitor too.
Glycol will raise the boiling point slightly, but tales LESS calories to do so.
Hope this helps, cheers.
Follow Up By: Flash - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:21
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 13:21
Also I forgot to say,
If you are dubious about whether your fan is working, wait till your donk is HOT, then pull over, raise the bonnet and rev it. It is then very obvious if the fan is "idling" or working hard.
I added new fluid to
mine, and modified the bi metallic spring to get it to cut in sooner. I have no idea what I'd have to do to get it to seriously overheat now, as the temp barely budges when I'm flat out, towing a load up a steep
hill on a hot day WITH the aircon working hard, 12 inches of boost.... And my radiator is original and quite corroded externally on fins near the bottom.
(I do have a good aftermarket oil cooler and bypass filters which raises oil capacity by probably 1.5 to 2 litres)
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 23:40
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 23:40
Hey Flash,
Thanks very much for all that info. I've just been checking out Redline's website. A sceptic might say it was more "snake-oil". I must admit I'm still a bit dubious about dropping my Techtalloy 90+ and running water with "water-wetter". Here in SA we don't have to worry too much about freezing for about 8 months of the year.
I see Redline has an outlet at Noble Park (WA???) so I might give them a call about getting some "water wetter".
Cya mate
Follow Up By: Flash - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 09:33
Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 09:33
Coventry auto parts (Australia wide???) have all the Redline stuff. I'm sure there would be plenty of others too.
I would probably recommend some concentrated Glycol (maybe 20-30%)as it then gives you at least limited antifreeze protection- you know, a few degrees below zero on that unexpected cold snap. They also recommend some to avoid freezing the heater core in some vehicles because of the aircon.
I think
mine's close to 30% Glycol plus rainwater, plus WaterWetter, which should cover me for any temps I'm likely to see in Qld and NSW normally, all year and just about anywhere if I'm not too far from the coast.
If I go up to snow country in Winter I'll have to add more Glycol.(just a matter of dropping a few litres of the mix and adding afew litres of Glycol.)
Reply By: sean - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 21:34
Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 21:34
Shane
My 2003 4.2 has a temp gauge that starts to climb if I put it in 4th and flat out for a bit. So I think the cooling issue has not really been solved and as vehicles start to get older the overheating probs will start be become more common. That is is temps of mid 30's and you would be starting to get a bit hotter than that.
Also, I would never take my vehicle into the
Darwin dealer to get repaired if I could go elsewhere. This is based on experience with a number of vehicles.
Sean
Reply By: ianmc - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 03:41
Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 03:41
Have you checked that the thermostat opens fully at around 80C and that a hose is not closing up under suction from the waterpump?
Follow Up By: Member - Maurice F (WA) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 11:41
Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 11:41
I have a GU111 4.2 TDI which has as std the larger radiator same as in the 4.8 petrol ,it hangs down quite a bit lower than the GU 11 and has more exposer area
Maurie