5 sp auto 100 series T/D wont go past 2nd gear

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 13:43
ThreadID: 18249 Views:3472 Replies:9 FollowUps:20
just enquiring if anyone has heard of any problems with 100 series 5sp auto not changing past 2nd gear ie drive off and goes ist gear then second gear and thats it.
i

Reply By: In hock - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 13:55

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 13:55
did you think to take it into Toyota ?
AnswerID: 86810

Follow Up By: fozzy - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:05

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:05
lol
roflmao
FollowupID: 345377

Follow Up By: In hock - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 19:49

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 19:49
Spoke to my uncle and he says it is driver error.
FollowupID: 345430

Reply By: Member - Bob et Joëlle (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:18

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:18
Have you got the 2nd gear button pushed in - just next to the Power button beside the gear shift.
AnswerID: 86818

Follow Up By: fozzy - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:26

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:26
thanks for input
would be great if that was problem
actually that button starts auto off in second gear
problem is not an ongoing problem ie if turn ignition off then wait a while the car drives perfectly through the gears-i assume computer fro transmission resets itself
FollowupID: 345381

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:46

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:46
[ View Image]
AnswerID: 86821

Follow Up By: fozzy - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 15:04

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 15:04
couldnt view link from exploroz email but imagined what it would be either logo or something similar and guess what when i view your picture i was pretty close
lol
FollowupID: 345390

Follow Up By: In hock - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 07:32

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 07:32
Have a browse around here truckster and you will soon realise that for every fault a toyota has its competitors are having 2 .

Fact!

http://www.autooninfo.net/index.html
FollowupID: 345516

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 08:57

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 08:57
Have a browse around here in hock and you will soon realise that for every fault a toyota has its competitors are having less .

http://www.recalls.gov.au/
FollowupID: 345527

Follow Up By: theshadows - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:14

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:14
I'm going to purchase some of the Ebay mud for you 2..... and buy some of the beach up at the goad coast.

shadow
FollowupID: 345528

Follow Up By: In hock - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:17

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:17
Look through there all the time mate and there are no more toyotas than any other brand. You see Toyota have such a high regard for build quality that they will recall to fix the most minor thing, unlime mitsu and Nissan who wait for all hell to break loose first

Ever heard of JD powers ?

Go an get educated and come back.
FollowupID: 345530

Follow Up By: In hock - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:18

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:18
My reply was to clueless... oh i mean truckster.
FollowupID: 345531

Follow Up By: In hock - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:23

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:23
Here i will help you truckster

quote :

News & EventsToyota Ranks Highest Again
Toyota maintains its success in German J.D. Power and Associates Customer Satisfaction Index Study SM

Toyota ranks highest overall for the third consecutive year, according to the J.D. Power and Associates 2004 Germany Customer Satisfaction Index (CSI) StudySM. The study was based on a total of 24,483 responses from owners of, on average 2 year-old vehicles, who rated their experiences with the vehicle, the dealer and the cost of vehicle ownership.
The Germany CSI Study is conducted in Germany by
J.D. Power and Associates *,
who also conduct CSI studies in seven countries around the world. The study is designed to provide the automotive industry with global benchmarks for measuring and tracking customer satisfaction.

http://www.toyota-europe.com/news_and_events/jdNews.html

FollowupID: 345535

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:03

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:03
well well well... after 37 years, I never knew I lived in Germany...

School holidays already the kiddies are out - name calling, my 4 yr old does that better... gawd, I hate xmas school holidays.
FollowupID: 345565

Follow Up By: In hock - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:38

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:38
JD Powers

See also

Australia , Europe , America , Canada , South Africa.

1.Toyota
2. Honda
3.subaru

17. Nissan
FollowupID: 345589

Reply By: manson - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:53

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 14:53
Should ask "Back Tracks" ..........oh hang on according to him nothing ever goes wrong with Toyotas would have to be driver error
AnswerID: 86823

Follow Up By: fozzy - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 15:06

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 15:06
dont know "back tracks" but he must be a pretty good bloke
FollowupID: 345392

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 16:47

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 16:47
"dont know "back tracks" but he must be a pretty good bloke "
He seems to be like one of those ducks at the circus... People keep shooting him down but he keeps getting back up and coming around again... My theory is he is "Mr Toyota" himself, moonlighting as an average Joe...
If there was a prize for the greatest number of responses to your post, I reckon he'd win hands down... Fun to read.

By the way, have'nt got a clue about your tranny...
Blue
FollowupID: 345404

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 16:40

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 16:40
go to www.lcool.org and ask for rodney from Wholesale Automatics in Melbourne.
He knows whats wrong yopu are not the first to complain of this...does it shift ok manually???
AnswerID: 86831

Follow Up By: fozzy - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:01

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:01
thanks for info
no-doesnt shift manually either
sorry for delay-its actually mates car and had to get hold of him to ask
he tows a ski boat and it was when he went to take off-as soon as back off accelerator it changes up but any pressure on throttle and 2nd is highest gear ABle to be selected
turn ignition off and wait a bit and start up and all is ok with no problems
has it booked in next week i think(at dealership)
FollowupID: 345539

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:40

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:40
rodney@speedcarworld.com.au
This is Rodneys email address. Send him the problem, and he will tell you what is wrong...im sure ive read something b4 about this problem in a 100, and he solved it where Toyota couldnt.
FollowupID: 345591

Follow Up By: fozzy - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:48

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:48
thanks again
have passed onto mate so now up to him
will report back when i find out result
FollowupID: 345595

Reply By: mr diamond - Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 19:56

Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 19:56
it must be some thing your doping wrong.
there is no way in the world there could be something wrong with your toyota .it just dosnt happen.
if you dont believe me ask back track or john laws(toyota are a major sponser of his).
now if only nissan could get hold of some of them autos and match them to a 2000 3ltr diesal.
AnswerID: 86860

Reply By: Member - big bo (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 08:32

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 08:32
I'm glad somebody else is having a problem with their auto. transmission or selector or whatever Toyota feel like saying. I have a 2001 prado TD Auto. and my problem has been that every now and then (4 times in 2.5 years) , when I start the truck it won't go because the computer or electrics thinks it is in top gear and won't select 1st gear(thats what Toyota say), you have to fiddle with the gears manually and even turn the truck off and somehow the system corrects it self and away you go. This is a bit off putting when you are towing a trailer and it won't go when you start off in a hill. Anyway Toyota have said that it is because when you turn the truck off you dont select "park" and leave it in "drive" and the electric brains thinks it is in drive at sometime in the future when you want to start again (I don't do this) they have also said that this is quote "Normal characteristic of the truck", my reply was if it is "normal" why didn,t they inform the public before they spent $50,000 for a Totoya product that has a "normal characteristc fault".This is not the end and I suggest you take it to Toyota, quote my example , kick up a fuss and lets get some answers and a fix.They won't fix it unless we get some motorist power behind us.
AnswerID: 86911

Follow Up By: fozzy - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:07

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:07
not real nice to have ongoing problem
may be worth sussing out contact above from response-although guy is in melb may still be worth talking to him
he may have a solution for you
FollowupID: 345544

Reply By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:29

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:29
Fozzy,

This was posted by Vanaway a while back - I though yours could be a related problem.

"Its similar to my story - the car was also under warranty.
Prado would not change gears. Took it to delaer who had it for 7 weeks. Dozens of different stories - but couldnt fix it. I finally emailed Tojo Aust and kicked up about it. Within 3 days they had it into another dealership, problem fixed and away I went.

Problem was an auto centering sensor (on the throttle) whatever that is - but it stopped the computer from allowing gear changes. 2nd dealer said it was so obvious they could not understand where the problem was."
AnswerID: 86955

Follow Up By: fozzy - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:39

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:39
wombat
thanks for that
have found out there are 2 dealers in melb who are (supposed) to be auto trans specialists and it is off to one of them
if they cant do it under warranty mate will send it to other mob mentioned in an earlier reply
FollowupID: 345590

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:45

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:45
No problems. Just seemed like too similar an issue to be not worth investigating. Let us know how you go.
FollowupID: 345594

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 23:25

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 23:25
I know this kind of syndrome very well.
My (very) old 1989 Nissan trayback ute keeps on going when I've bashed it into trees, smashed it into creeks (upside down on one occasion), slid off tracks into a bog at speed, run it with 2 flat rear tyres (ran out of patches etc), bounced it off kangaroos, bullocks and emus, towed 4 tonnes at 110 kmh (chasing a drilling rig into Meekatharra), towed an LC and it's caravan into Wiluna etc,etc and then it goes and stops on me when I turn the bloody ignition key off.

It just rubs salt in the wound when it starts first time next morning!! It's a bloody miracle that I still own it and that I haven't complained to Nissan once in 12 years.

It's tiring me out trying to break the animal thing!

Now my 2000 TD 100 series LC,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,well ya all know about that one.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 87076