Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 01, 2004 at 21:39
Rosco - Bris.
G'day all
For those planning a trip to the great outdoors who haven't "been there done that"
here are some figures which may be of interest.
Finally got around to doing some sums on our Cape trip and came up with interesting results for a 2 vehicle comparo.
Last year did the centre in a V8 petrol Disco, 2 on board, loaded to the gills + a relatively light box trailer (say 750 kg). Fuel cost ... $200/1000 km.
This year did the Cape in a TD5 diesel Fender, 2 on board, loaded to the gills + a serious CT (say 1100 kg). Fuel cost ... $130/1000 km.
Last year fuel was cheaper, but most travel in SA and NT. This year fuel dearer, but all in QLD with subsidy, so the difference more or less balances out.
Driving style in both similar ... no quarter offered or given, but no floggings either.
Not cheap to go away for the big one is it ........................
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 03:38
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 03:38
Interesting figures and it comes in very close to my estimate for our
Perth - Syd - Tas - Vic -
Perth trip we are starting Sat week. Mind you boat Syd - Tas and Tas - Melb however I am working on $3800 - 4200 for the fuel cost in 8 weeks.
It is getting expensive to make long haul trips these days, but hey it is better than sitting in front of the computer.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:50
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:50
Aaaah but just think of that tax deduction, "wink, wink". Sounds like a great trip, I didn't even have Tassie on the list until I'd read a mag on the area. Now I think I'll be making it one of the first areas to head off to for longer trips. How much is the boat trip?? Excellent site David and team. You've certainly done
well marrying together a job and income with a great pastime.
Have a good trip.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:07
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:07
Austravel,
I know where you will be able to see heaps on new free trek notes for Tas in say about Feb or March next year.
Boat trip details I have left to Michelle however I think the CC took a hit for around 1500-1600 the other day to cover the trip down from Syd and return to Melb with Michelle, Me, Leah and Chardae and of course the vehicle.
There will be info coming up on the system next week covering the trip details and where and when we will be in
places.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:29
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 12:29
Ouch, I didn't realise it was that dear. Though if your staying for a couple of months it's not so bad.
Have a great time.
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 06:12
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 06:12
Rosco,
The petrol Disco whould have to be the worst vehicle for fuel economy, and yet the same vehicle in the TD5 whould have to be one , if not the best for fuel economy.
I am very happy with the Troopy, filled up at Albury,NSW, $300 worth of fuel, then on to
Bright and 7 days in the
Vic High Country,returned home to Penrith and still had 20lts of diesel.
Reply By: Rick Blaine - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 19:44
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 19:44
I cant get my fuel figures of my palm... but for our trip last winter, about 1000km,
Canberra Townsvile
Canberra and all points & diversions in between with 2002 T/D Jackeroo and 1900kg van in tow the cost averaged out at $40 per day for fuel and caravan
park accomodation. We were away for 3 months & I think that was quite good it fell within our budget ( Vets affairs Pensions) and allowed us money to do the touristy things as
well. But Fuel prices generally make my blood boil... there is no rationale for them... last week at
Merimbula diesel was 122.9cpl and at Pambula ( 8 km away) 116.9cpl.
Follow Up By: Rick Blaine - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 19:45
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 19:45
I actually did 10000km.....
Reply By: ianmc - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 03:17
Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 03:17
My mode of travel may not suit everybody but in Sept/Oct did over 10,000kms from Vic to Cooktown/
Cairns,
Georgetown with some 4wd tracks thrown in here & there & lots of back gravel roads.
Vehicle was 91 Triton 2.5td with load of
camping gear & extra fuel &
water
& lots of food I raided from my pantry to use it before use by date arrived, plus some fishing gear & prospecting gear. Kept speed down to conserve fuel & deisel in Qld was cheaper than NSW & VIC. Averaged 11-12kms p/l or 8-9 litres per
100kms so trip cost about $100 per 1000 kms.
Did not put a screwdriver or spanner on it at all which made for a great time.
Higher speed would have resulted in about 10km/l
Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 06:15
Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 06:15
when I am working out a fuel cost for a trip I use my own method of $15 per 100ks thats for 4wd and highway.
That is for a 1985 60 deisel turbo.
www.capeyorkconnections.com.au