Roger from Tassie
Someone posting feedback on the
Cape York Trek Notes says that
Punsand Bay is about to change hands. On our trips up there Gary & Sue have been running the place. Does anyone know who the new managers are going to be?
Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:10
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 09:10
Hey Roger
I was at Punsand in mid-August and it was on the market then and had been for some time. From memory the asking price was about $280,000 which seem pretty reasonable to me until I learned of some the caveats relatiing to the lease which I gotta admit turned me off somewhat. Beautiful spot and somewhere I could've retired to but SWMBO reckons it's too far from the kids.
I don't know who ended up buying the place but I sure they will be every bit as friendly as the previouse operators - after all in such an idyllic place you can't not be friendly.
Pete
Follow Up By: Austravel - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:43
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 10:43
What were some of the caveats?? I'd imagine they'd be quite broad.
Follow Up By: Roger from Tassie - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:19
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:19
Thanks for the reply Pete
Likewise we love the place and the people. We nearly went back again about the time you were up there but went to to the
Kimberley instead. We're now sorry we didn't. I won't repeat what SWMBO just said upon hearing that it was on the market. Very unlady like. She is also convieniently forgetting that I had suggested we go back there but she was the one that said lets go somewhere new (ie the Kimberly - were also had a great time). Oh
well thats life.
Austravel asked what the caveats were. I'd also be interested. I had heard a storey that in a few years (can't remember how many) the lease expires and the land reverts to local ownership.
Was Bat (the jet sky guy) & Sal still there?
Roger
Reply By: Well 55 - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:24
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 11:24
The way things are going it will have to be a day trip to
the tip from
Bamaga. No more
camping north of there. Thats the buzz I heard.
Reply By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:15
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 14:15
Yeah like
Well 55 says there are some doubts about
camping closer to
the tip in the future and also on the ability of the
Injinoo to reclaim the lease. I gotta say however I didn't take a legal opinion on the lease but there there are strong moves for the Indigenous Councils to take over ownership of all commercial facilities North of the
Jardine - but like I said it might
well be more rumour than fact.
Reply By: beatit - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 15:29
Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 15:29
We were up there 2 years ago and Garry was telling us this story about wanting to spend a couple of $mil on improving the place but wanted an extension in the lease to make it worthwhile. Apparently the lease expires about 2015 (don't quote me on this) and the locals said no. I suppose it will go the way of the Wilderness Lodge and what a shame that will be. We've been to
Punsand Bay a couple of times and reckon it's the best place to
camp, great facilities and location. Wouldn't take much to change that so not looking forward to the day when we can't go there any more, which is the way it's heading. Hope I'm wrong!?
Reply By: bbuzz - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 21:21
Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 21:21
Was up there in October. Gary and Sue have gone to Lotus Bird Lodge, 26 kms down the Lakefield National
Park road from
Musgrave Roadhouse. They have bought just the Lodge not the station. The aim is to make it into a luxury , 5 star, attraction. A local has bought Punsand, not sure of the name, but he lives down
the beach. Not Bat, the fisherman (he has a new charter boat business) to go with the croc behind his
shack!
Not sure of all the details but will be in touch with the charter boys and may find out details. Will post if I get them.
The
Injinoo are part of the problem with the tourist industry under threat.
Follow Up By: Roger from Tassie - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 07:52
Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 07:52
Thanks heaps. Amazing how things can change in a year. Gary & Sue seemed pretty entrenched at Punsand. I quess the uncertainty got to them. Glad to know where they are now. We will definately pay a visit, even though we generally steer clear of luxury 5 star accomodation. I remember when we were last there, sitting at the bar with Bat while he dreamed of buying a boat and starting a charter business. Glad to hear his dream came true. Sounds like he's still in his
shack at Punsand and therefore runs his charter boat from there. Am I guessing right here? Any details would be appreciated.
Thanks again
Roger
Reply By: bbuzz - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:57
Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:57
Yes he is down
the beach. Although he seemed to spend most of his time at the Resort! Gary and Sue were leaving by end pf October, all going
well and they can get the trucks down in one piece. Gary was going to use the tractor to fix up some of the creeks, so the trucks would fit, so he may have done everyone a service! The Lodge would not be up to their standard yet so you probably won't have to worry about the 'knobs' being there.
They have a 'wild' bull that visits from time to time so I think the first job was to stock the freezer with some steaks!
Thats all I can remember.....
Follow Up By: Roger from Tassie - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 14:07
Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 14:07
Thanks.