42L Fridges for $499.00

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 21:00
ThreadID: 18283 Views:3445 Replies:7 FollowUps:26
Supercheap Autos currently have advertised 42L Fridges for $499.00. I had a look today, they are configured like an Engel & they say that they will pull down to -15 in under 2 hours. Only thing I could see that they were lacking was an internal basket, unless the one on display just didn't have it fitted. They would certainly need one as cans would soon wear through the condensor plate.

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 22:05

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 22:05
Shaker,

My expeience with Super Cheap is that they support the product they sell, without exception.

With a basket it sounds like a great deal. Without, well I think you have already answered that.

Good Luck,

AnswerID: 87059

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 23:35

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 23:35
Jim, I have an Engel, I just posted this for people looking for a cheaper alternative.
FollowupID: 345742

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 21:30

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 21:30
Fine suggestion Shaker, I admire your motive.

There are alternatives for all people on all budgets.

And I reckon a cost effective alternative from a company that offers excellent back-up is a fine piece of advice.

Love your work.

FollowupID: 345940

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 23:13

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 23:13
ok so we need someone to slap down the $499, you may get two free screwdrivers for that, take it to hell and back and see if it survives.
AnswerID: 87072

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 23:39

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 23:39
There were many sceptics when Waeco came on the scene ....... plus we all know that portable fridges are grossly overpriced, & not everyone can afford Engel or Autofridge, arguably the 2 best.
At least this may be a reasonable alternative, although if, in fact it has no basket, I would doubt it. Unless something could be adapted to fit.
FollowupID: 345743

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 23:50

Thursday, Dec 02, 2004 at 23:50
Absoutely Shaker. I wasn't implying they are garbage but that they need to be proven. As Jim says above Super Cheap stand by their products but that's no good to me when in the bush with warm beer.
FollowupID: 345746

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 10:18

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 10:18
Or worse still, a week from anywhere, and your food has gone off......

Might be fine for day trips/weekends for that, but you only ever get what you pay for......
FollowupID: 345785

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 15:37

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 15:37
Yeah I think your on the money GO_OFFROAD, be a good weekender for those who like to camp over night just to get away from the big smoke then go home. If it crapped itself your not going to die. :-P
FollowupID: 345876

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:52

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:52
It would be harder going a week without liquid than food.
FollowupID: 345890

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:55

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:55
thats providing of course, it only stops working, ......
FollowupID: 345891

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 21:50

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 21:50
Funny how a bloke who continually brags about his wealth and tells the rest of us we are fools for buying value products, and constantly tells us "you only get what you pay for" cannot put his hand in his pocket to contribute fifty lousy dollars to support something he can obviously afford.

I'd be ashamed of myself.

Of course I'm not and don't judge anyone who may enjoy this fine forum but may find it a bit tough to find the cash. I've been through tough times and accept that they are making a great contribution albeit not financially.

I still buy my shirts at Target because I get exactly what I pay for; quality at a fair price and I don't need to be judged.

FollowupID: 345941

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 23:10

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 23:10
Wow Jimbo, your a dead set liar again, who needs to be called out and who cant help but name call people who have what you wish you can afford it would seem...... show me where I ever bragged I was wealthy, I admit Im poor, and thats why I cant afford cheap things, and going for value for money over cost, but thats just common sense.

As for wether Im a member or not, well, you can pay your money and not opt to use the extra's, though you dont seem to have the capacity to consider this......

Maybe if you thought more before you acted you could actually get what others have, and stop feeding your green eyed monster.....
FollowupID: 345952

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 06:09

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 06:09
Funny, I didn't mention any names.

Hit a nerve did I?

ROTFLMAO
FollowupID: 345963

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 07:58

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 07:58
Your character is shallow enough, and your posts uninventive enough, we can see exactly what your thinking.......
FollowupID: 345974

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 08:52

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 08:52
Even your insults lack quality.

Still ROFLMAO.
FollowupID: 345983

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 15:30

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 15:30
If i wanted to insult you, I wouldnt be talking truthfully about what we see of your character, but making references about sleeping with your wife or mother.....

This should help you tell the difference......
FollowupID: 346012

Follow Up By: David Au - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:51

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:51
I went into Supercheap today as I was passing, specifically to look at the fridges they had advertised. They are a Waeco fridge and was told they do have a Danfoss compressor.
Supercheap have more fridges coming in later in the week, and will go and have a look at them on arrival.
When you look at the prices of portable refrigeration, there is no valid reason why they should be so expensive - other than a monopoly by Engel and Danfoss on low voltage compressors.
FollowupID: 346050

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 22:16

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 22:16
Super Cheap knew what compressor is in the fridge...I'm impressed
FollowupID: 346055

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 01:06

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 01:06
For anyone considering taking the plunge if you sign up on the super cheap site to receive their newsletters they'll immediately email you a 20% off voucher, thats a considerable saving on the fridge...$99.80...I think...too late...going to bed...good night

www.supercheapauto.com.au
AnswerID: 87080

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 02:11

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 02:11
On the subject of cheap (??) 'fridges, Autopro are advertising a 35L 'fridge/freezer (separate compartments) for $570 w/- a 240-12v power supply included in the price.. (don't know if that's the case with the S'cheap one)...
According to the ad, this one "features heavy duty German compressor"...
Could it be a Danfoss??? if so, could be well worth a look...
My experience with Autopro has been that they can often be persuaded to reduce prices by a significant amt from marked price, so it may pay to haggle here...

Also, Repco are advertising a 35L 3-way for $399 (hose & regulator included)...

Does anybody know what compressor unit is used in the S/cheap job??

Pity I'm not in the market for a 'fridge at the moment (already have 2 Engels), otherwise I'd be checkin' these out... (maybe Chrissy prezzies for my grown-up "kids")...
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 87081

Follow Up By: flappan - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 09:07

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 09:07
It could be just an earlier model Danfoss. I know they have upgraded them over the years.

Both Supercheap , and Autopro , have pretty good return policies , so it might be well worth taking the plunge.

Can always take it back if it doesn't work.
FollowupID: 345761

Reply By: Billy - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:35

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:35
Guys,

After reading this post this morning I swung by Repco at lunch an picked up one of the $399 3 Way's. It is a no name version but looks similar to the Finch to me. The bloke up there said they had them in a while back so they could be the ones that are distributed by Narva. Anyway he said they sold five of them when they were last in stock and no returns. Downsides are that it's themo controlled on 240V only and sucks 6.25A on 12V. I've got it out back cooling down on 240V now then we'll see how she goes on gas (which is mainly what I want it for; in the trailer for longer stops). It does look a little "plastic" sitting next to the Engel (which moves with the Patrol) but appears well put together enough.

AnswerID: 87155

Follow Up By: Smocky - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 21:07

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 21:07
G'day Billy,

I'm also buying a 3-way, but was going to shell out for a Dometic 40L freezer model. For $950 vs $399 though, I think I'll try the Repco job as well. I'm not expecting it to freeze stuff, just want to keep the milk etc cold and stuff from going off when camping.

Post back with how you go.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 345937

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 08:31

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 08:31
I recently fitted a 12V computer power supply fan to my 3 way Finch fridge and it's made a significant improvement to the fridge's performance when operating from 12V in the vehicle. I'm going to put a diode and socket in circuit with it next so I can also operate the fan from a 12V SLA battery when the fridge is running on gas on hot days.

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
FollowupID: 345981

Follow Up By: Billy - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:12

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:12
Smoky,

The $399 Repco 3 way is effective. It pulled down to 4 Dec C within 3 Hr's with a 6 pack and a wine bottle, down to 3 Deg after about 5 Hrs, all on 240. I then put it on gas, loaded it with soft drink bottles and ran it overnight. This morning, it was 2 Deg when I opened it and maintained 3 deg at the bottom and 5 deg at the top throughout the day. We have probably had low thirties here today and the fridge is outside on the hotter side of the house (although under cover). The cooling unit inside is frigid constantly and the ice tray on top of it frozen (comes with the unit). By the way, I discovered that even though it is not theromstatically controlled on gas, you can adjust the gas flame with the knob, it's just you need to do it manually. There is no reason why Mike's modification would not work with this fridge too since it is the same basic design. Only required if the cooling unit does not remain frigid of course.

The fridge comes with a 12 mth warranty.

So far so good.

Regds

FollowupID: 346040

Follow Up By: David Au - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 11:48

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 11:48
With 3 way fridges, I would strongly suggest you buy one of those small round bubble levels to ensure you keep the fridge level when parked. If the fridge is not 99% to 100% level, they will not work.
If you bargain at Repco they will give you that fridge for $350.00 and have seen the exact same fridge down to $310.00
FollowupID: 346107

Follow Up By: Billy - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 21:05

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 21:05
David, you are a hard b%$#ard, they already have $100 off it! Not doubting you though. I never thought I'd see a generator or compressor less than $300, let alone the $98 you can get them for now, so who knows where these fridges will end up.
FollowupID: 346152

Follow Up By: Dolci - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 13:43

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 13:43
I brought one of the repco fridges and i have tested it.

I performed the following:
1) Ran the fridge on gas for about 5 hours. in a very large room with no ventillation. (approx 25 deg), internal temp was about 8.5 deg, which is 4 deg higher than what the units documentation claims it can do.
2) Increased the room temperature to a constant 33 degrees.
3) Put 12 warm VB's in the fridge.
4) After 4.5 hours the beer was cold and the fridges temperature was about 6.5 deg.

When i ran the fridge at night on 240v (the ambient temp was approx 12 deg) the fridges temperature was 4 deg.

I have also noticed that when i run the fridge on 240v it gets a couple of degrees cooler than gas. The fridge is 100% level when running on gas. The documentation says that the fridge will run 2 deg cooler on gas than 240v, which is not what i am seeing.

It comes with an ice tray, i have not been able to produce ice, even at night when its been cold.

I am a little bit worried on how this unit may perform on hot days (35+), i am looking at insulation options to improve its cooling ability, as i think the unit may not be well insulated.

I am basically after a gas fridge for camping and i am not sure whether this unit is going to be good enough on hot days. I think a chescold freezer might be better for me.

Any advice ?.

Dolci
FollowupID: 347500

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 14:05

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 14:05
G'day Dolci,

I've got one too, after looking at the Chescold 40L.

Running on gas, it takes some time to pull down to the lower temp. Would be interested to see how you go if you leave it shut for a day or 2.

I've been able to make ice when running on gas.

Insulation might help a bit, but there has been a lot of discussion about adding a small computer fan blowing onto the absorbtion fins.

It's never going to be as nearly as good as the Chescold freezer unit though. At $399 vs $950 though, it's a good option.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 347502

Follow Up By: Dolci - Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 14:32

Tuesday, Dec 14, 2004 at 14:32
Hi Smocky

Its currently running at home on gas, it has not been opened since last night. i will check the temperature at let you know.

When you made ice, where did you put the ice tray ?.

Also what performance are you seeing ?.

Do you think this fridge performs as good as a finch fridge ?.

I can return this unit back to the store and get a finch, i have to make my mind up pretty soon.

Dolci.
FollowupID: 347506

Reply By: Smocky - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 14:37

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 14:37
G'day all,

well didn't wait for the replies, went out yesterday afternoon and bought one from Repco. FYI, it's distributed in Australian by Brown and Watson in Melbourne, which is Narva Australia.

Opened it up and had a look. I reckon it IS the Finch without doubt. Don't know who makes it, but I reckon it's almost identical (but modernised) to the one I used to own.

I don't know where you've ever seen that fridge for $310 David, but I've looked around heaps and $399 is the lowest I've seen by some margin. Even at the recent 4x4 show in Melbourne, the same fridge was selling for $599 and that was about as cheap as I've seen it.

Thumbs up from me, I reckon it's a bargain.

Smocky.
AnswerID: 87335

Reply By: Dolci - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:54

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 11:54
Hi.

I have done further testing on this unit and have decided to keep it. I rang brown and watson and they said it is NOT a finch. I asked them why i was getting bad performance, they couldnt explain it, they said that there must be something faulty with the unit, and i should return it. They said there own testing showed that it beformed well in hot temps.

I used my balls eye level (instead of the el cheap o level i used before) and found that the unit was not 100 % level. After re-leveling the unit i ran the fridge on gas in a non ventalited room for 4 hours @ 35 deg. The starting temp was 2 deg, and it was eventually 4.1 degrees at the end. I then put a heater (that was blowing 39 degs) directly behind the unit and after 2 hours it reach 5.3 deg.

I ran it all night, and in the morning it was 14.4 deg ambient, the fridge temp was -0.4 deg.

I was thinking of installing a fan for gas operation, does this make sence ?. Where is the best place to install a fan ? and should the fan blow air into the unit, or draw air out of the unit ?.

Dolci

AnswerID: 88866

Follow Up By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 13:43

Wednesday, Dec 15, 2004 at 13:43
G'day Dolci,

interesting about the level. So a "little" unbalanced made quite a difference. I will be levelling the ass out of mine now.

Ice made quite easy sitting on top of the aluminium cooling unit.

I'm interested in the answer to your question about the fan, but I would assume blowing.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 347739