Waypoint Downloads

Submitted: Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 00:24
ThreadID: 18287 Views:2735 Replies:6 FollowUps:12

I have been working for the last few nights (till very late) on a waypoint download function in the PlotSwap and PointPlace systems. It is actually working now and will be added to the trek notes in the next few days. Basically you can now download the waypoint lists for our treknotes from the PlotSwap system. So you have three download choices now - Download the plot file, Download the map file and now Download the wpt file. It has not been loaded to every plot yet and will only be linked to plots that related to treknotes (at least till we get back).

What does it all mean - well have a look at the Canning Stock Route PlotSwap file and you will see the new function and the new map with waypoints included. Scroll down to the download options and you will see the wpt file downloads.

The waypoints are the same as displayed and shown in the treknote. More details as it happens.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 08:35

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 08:35
Good work Mr.. shall be a good thing.
AnswerID: 87094

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 09:06

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 09:06
Good one David....I have finally got a grip of your Plot Swap system.....the old brain gets a bit rusty at times :o)

This is an excellent feature to this site and I am sure many will make use of it.
AnswerID: 87098

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 13:55

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 13:55
I have now added a few more features and linked the PlotSwap system directly to the treknotes so now the Treks and Plots share the same database making it easier to keep updated. It also means that all data comes from the same mapping engine. Now you can simply click on the map or waypoint list in the treknotes and you will be taken to the download page in PlotSwap. It is getting better and easier all the time.

NOTE: I am still linking the treks to the system as it involves some maintenance of the original PlotSwap data so the only one curently updated is the Canning Stock Route trek. I will be trying to get the other treks updated and converted over the next few days, week and months. Keep an eye on this and save keying in your waypoints on your GPS units. Save and use PlotSwap maps as the base map for your trip (can load directly into OziExplorer).

ANOTHER NOTE: We are accepting OxiExplorer waypoint files into the system also and these will be accepted and credited as 1 point per waypoint loaded. So dig out the OziExplorer .wpt files and load them into the system.

PS: I am also starting work on the MapSource and MetroGuide Plot and waypoint format import and export functions so soon we will have the ability to share data across mulitple platforms.

AnswerID: 87150

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:03

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:03
David - looks great!

One thing - I'm just about to get into mapping in real time on a laptop connected to our trusty Garmin GPS-III. I prefer to use UTM grid references, not the traditional D:M:S. If I download your PlotSwap files, am i going to need to do anything special to use them in my preferred format, or will the software (Fugawi) be smart enough to take them as they are and display in UTM?

AnswerID: 87151

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:12

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:12
Humm Fugawi,

I used that program ages ago and I must admit I cannot remember. I suspect that I will need to write a waypoint converter for Fugawi to get the output formatted correctly. Can you send me a waypoint file from Fugawi so that I can write the output format directly? Is there anything in the manual pages that takes about the waypoint file format?

I know that OziExplorer will convert to any coordinate system and as such the points are output in decimal degress as this is what Ozi wants. I can convert to any coordinate system as this is built into my system. I prefer to currently show Decimal Degress rather than D:M:S. It will not make any difference, however it will be best for me to write an output format for Fugawi.

FollowupID: 345859

Follow Up By: Pluto - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:28

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:28
Hi Chrispy & David,

I don't see a real need to cater for every GPS & GIS data format, when there are plenty of conversion programs available. A good one to start with is GPSBabel. There are plenty of others free for download.

Pluto
FollowupID: 345864

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:39

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:39
David - I think that hte latest version of Fugawi (version 3) will pretty much take any waypoint file format and go with it. I'll check tonight when i get home....

Pluto - thanks for the URL - I'll have a look-see.

FollowupID: 345868

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:45

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:45
Pluto - just downloaded GPSBabel for MacOSX and Linux.

Jeez... it's the Swiss army knife of the waypoint world!

Thanks heaps!

David - I think I'll be right..... this software does the Fugawi formats to any other. very cool!
FollowupID: 345870

Follow Up By: Pluto - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:55

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:55
No worries Chrispy,

I suggested that one because it's easy as to use. There is another one that may be of interest. OziExplorer has a conversion program, free for download on their Utilites page. It might be worth a look too.
FollowupID: 345873

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 01:03

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 01:03
Pluto,

Just on the download compatiblity issue. I am actually wanting to write as many as possible to make the product as easy to use as possible. I have the input/output mechanism written to two - three lines of code for any input/output format. Yes I agree that there are programs such as GPSBable and they are really good however I want to be able to interpert the incomming data in as accuarate a mode as possible and I have found that most conversion programs do in fact lose of miss some data that I believe is worth capturing - hence I am happy the write the most common ones (Ozi, Garmin, Magellan etc). Along with this the less conversions people have to do to use the system the better. Just a comment and yes I do agree that using these tools is easier however I am happy and wanting to also make an fully online conversion tool as part of the system. Due to our trip some of this will have to wait till Feb however any sample files people can supply me for the various formats the better.

I had better stop writting this so I can add the confirmation of download options. Actually little late and to much red wine at this stage maybe in a day or two.

Take care.

FollowupID: 345961

Follow Up By: Pluto - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 07:56

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 07:56
No worries David and have a good trip.
FollowupID: 345972

Reply By: Pluto - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:34

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:34
David,

One minor criticism: Can you include a download confirmation popup on the each of the download buttons.

One mis-click and you've emailed yourself a significant portion of your Plotswap balance (Guess who just did that).

Pluto
AnswerID: 87154

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:36

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:36
I will add this ASAP. Leaving the office for a few hours now will add it tonight.

FollowupID: 345885

Follow Up By: Pluto - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 17:25

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 17:25
Cool. Thanks David.

Of course it doesn't have to be a pop up, just some kind of secondary confirmation.
FollowupID: 345898

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:55

Tuesday, Dec 07, 2004 at 21:55
I have added a small javascript alert that pops up on the download buttons now. It is meant to tell you what you selected but there is a small script issue with this and it does the job anyway. SO it is in now took a few days longer but it is done.

I have been spending the idle hours relinking the PlotSwap and waypoint databases to the Treknotes so that the download are available from the standard treks. It is comming together now.

There are heaps more things to do but it all takes time. Take care & enjoy.

FollowupID: 346488

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:40

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 14:40
Hi David we SWMBO is buying me a GPS for combined Birthday/xmas prezzy and doesn't know what too buy i've looked at the GPSes on here and fancied these ones, we will be using them with our laptop, well it's not really a laptop it's a desktop replacement an Acer Aspire 1700 portable computer.

eTrex Summit
Geko301
GPS72
Bluetooth GPS Receiver
GPS100 18 Channel GPS

you can MM me if you don't want to apear bias to one paricular item.
AnswerID: 87157

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 14:55

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 14:55
Baz,

Are you wanting a unit that can operate without the laptop system as well. In other words do you want a handheld that has a data output or are you just wanting a data transmitter to the laptop.

Does the laptop have any connections already, Serial 9Pin, USB, Bluetooth etc?

FollowupID: 346255

Follow Up By: Pluto - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 09:19

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 09:19
The other question you need to ask yourself is, what are you going to use it for?

Is it going to be vehicle navigation only (a larger screen is worthwhile) or are you going to be using it as a genuine handheld for bush walking etc. (size and weight will be an issue)?
FollowupID: 346535