Driving Lights

Submitted: Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:35
ThreadID: 18303 Views:8717 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
I am thinking of fitting hella rally 4000 lights to my new Prado, but can't decide between these and the Lightforce 240 Blitz.

All of the feeback for the Lightforce lights is great, but I am curious if any body has had experience with the Hella lights.

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 17:06

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 17:06
G'day Voodoochild,
You will no doubt get plenty more responses telling you how great the Lightforces are, and that no other is good enough....

However, I have a pair of Hella R/4000 's on my GU and am NOT looking to swap them for anything else...
The Lightforces may indeed be brighter (maybe??), but IMO the QUALITY of light produced by the Hellas is second to none, and that is what counts for most when driving behind them for any distance at night..

If you do decide to go with the R/4000 's, I'd suggest that you consider using 2 spread beams, rather than the more "traditional" 1 spot & 1 spread, as the spread from these is very even & very full, with more than adequate reach (distance wise) to accommodate highway driving at the speed limit...
I have 1 of each, & I reckon if ever the spot beam gets damaged, I'll replace it with another spread...

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 87181

Follow Up By: sean - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 23:38

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 23:38
I have hella 4000 and would only swap them for predators.

The Hella 4000 are a driving light with its origins in motor racing. The lightforce are a spotlight with its original in spotlighting for rabbits. The hella is a directional beam that gives very good dispersion to the side where it is needed. The lightforce has a very bright spot but thats what you would expect from a spotlight. THe lightforce cant give good dispersion without too much loss up and down also so they opt for this swappable thingy.

I never run covers on my hellas. They have a glass lens that is very strong. The lights are always ready when I need them. No scratches on the glass. No need for covers and nothing to get pinched.

They are both good lights. They will both last a very long time so whatever you end up with it will be there on the front of your vehicle for a long time.

Just my 0.2 worth

Sean
FollowupID: 345956

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 00:19

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 00:19
Yeah, forgot about the predators...
Have never really considered them because of their price, but if someone offered to swap me a pair for my R/4000 's then I'd seriously consider it...
I note your comment about the strength of the glass lens.. I use the clear covers on mine & they've picked up quite a few "stars" over the years, so I'm a little reluctant to leave the covers off...

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 345959

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:25

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:25
The lighforce beats the hella's hands down, and for $22 you can buy covers for spread beam, which work well, and means you can have 2 spot, or 2 spread, or one of each easily, depending on the terrain. [covers clip on by hand]

The lack of weight, and strength of the lightforce also makes them the top of the range in driving lights.

I must say you dont see as many hella's as other lights [like IPF] on the sides of rough roads, but Im yet to see a lightforce light laying out there.

And yes, have tried both.
AnswerID: 87191

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 21:13

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 21:13
Covers, They had covers years ago that turned your black and white tele into colour...yeah, real good...lol
FollowupID: 345938

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 23:04

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 23:04
they also make some great yellow ones for close work, which give much better depth to the human eye, as wella s some red covers,a s red doesnt effect your night vision if walkign to and from the light in the dark, like setting up camp.
FollowupID: 345948

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 08:53

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 08:53
I agree with the above...even with GO Offroad!

I've had both and the Lightforce are second to none. Whilst the Rallye 4000 are good, they are more expensive and a much heavier light. Just the better performance and lightweight construction (and cost) sold the lightforce for me. I've run the same set on two vehicles now with no problems.

Chris.
FollowupID: 346207

Reply By: Rob M- Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:35

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:35
Voodoochild,
I have hella 4000's on my current GU that I bought for my first GU in '97. One bulb later and i couldn't be more happy with their performance. The mounting system eliminates all noticeable vibrations and the combination of one spread and one spot is all you could ask for. 4WD Monthly did a comparison of spotlights some months ago and ( from memory ) the comments went something like, the Lightforce were the brightest spots but the Hellas showed their rally heritage and were more "useable?" (my words not theirs). Have had no experiece with the Lightforce and always buy Australian made where possible, but will be interested to see how the plastic construction lasts.
Rob
Rob M

AnswerID: 87194

Reply By: conman - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 20:52

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 20:52
Voodoochild,

I too have 4000's pencil beams and they are great, can light up road signs almost a kay away. The light is super white and not too narrow a beam. Could get away with just 2 pencils for highway driving no probs , but for curvey stuff the spread beams are the way to go.

I also saw the comparison in 4wd monthly, and the photo's say it all, the lightforce seem too narrow with not much light thrown to the sides, but the hella spot are heaps better.
AnswerID: 87209

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 23:02

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 23:02
Lets just say that the test wasnt conducted to the liking of all manufacturers, in the case of that test, and the only focus adjustable light was the only one tested out of focus, by the person who helped out from a large 4wd "warehouse" and the only out of focus light, was the only light that "warehouse" doesnt stock ;-)
FollowupID: 345947

Reply By: Matt M - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 11:32

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 11:32
No need to make excuses for the 4000's they are awesome, the construction, mounting base and adjustment system are the best on the market. Some might be better in one area but as a whole, the others dont come close.
Have had mine on a steel bullbar for over 150 000km and have not even replaced a bulb. That includes two trips through central aust and 9 crossings of the Nullabor, spots on whenever possible.

I have been through a few clear covers though but for $12 each, well worth the paltry investment. I would never buy Lightforce, the globes are one off and have to be bought from a distributor (try replacing one at any Roadhouse), the lenses screw off in 5 seconds and I just dont like the high extended mounting arm (vibration), but that is ALL personal. They have proven themselves very successful and have earned their place, just not on my rig!

AnswerID: 87257

Reply By: wolfman - Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 17:07

Thursday, Dec 23, 2004 at 17:07
I am also thinking on lights for my vehicle lightforce 170 or the hella rally 4000,
has anybody found cheap prices for either of these lights....i live on the Gold Coast,
and the shops are just way over priced....

Autobarn $600 per light = $1200
TJM 4wd shop on special $450 per light = $900....

these prices have to be a big rip off.

i noticed on ebay there is a set (2) of the rally 4000 for $395 buy it now...

I am not a fan of ebay...can someone please direct me to some place thats does not want to empty my pocket in 10 minutes.

thank you,

Tony
AnswerID: 90085