FJ60 rust repair

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 15:09
ThreadID: 18314 Views:9098 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
I have an FJ 60 long wheel base, with roof rust, I rang for a quote on a new 2nd hand roof, they didn't have any at the time, but they did tell me that they can get fibre glass kits, I got quoted $550 for a new fibre glass roof not fitted.

Any one else had to rebuild their roof in a FJ 60 before

I wouldn't mind hearing from others on what they have done to repair roof rust, I've already started to grind out the rust on our 4wd, I'm thinking about treating the rust then use fibre glass to fill, then some bog then spray putty then under coat then the final paint.

I've done this a few times, but its a real pain in the rear.

TT ( Karl )

Reply By: mcgra - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 16:01

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 16:01
hi karl

i had the same problem, was put onto a panel beating shop in melbourne and they cut it all out welded plates in the major areas and retreated the entire roof underseal with rust proofing, you would not be able to tell that any work had been done. a fantastic job and well worth the cost they also stripped the entire roof and resprayed it.

looks great had it done 12 months ago.

gra
AnswerID: 87273

Follow Up By: mcgra - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 16:07

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 16:07
i did try the repairs myself but found that when i had returned from a trip the flexing of the toyo hair line cracks appeared in the bigger filled areas in the paint so water would of started all over again causing rust.

thats why i opted for the one stop repair, took them 6 days to get it back to me but as i said well worth the time and money, which by the way was very reasonable.

where are u sitiated if your in melbourne you may like give them a call

gra
FollowupID: 346013

Reply By: tommytomato - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 17:29

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 17:29

I'm in Perth well Rockingham area.

I was just in the 4wd, got the side panels off etc etc, and hosed it all out, It was Dad's 4wd, and it had been around Australia, so their is alot of red dust around, I dont think i'll go to a pannel beater, cant aford it, I'll have to do it my self.

You can see the rust problem in this image below, so you get the idea, what I'm on about.

Our 4WD

keep the tips and ideas coming please.

TT ( Karl )
AnswerID: 87278

Reply By: Top Cat - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 17:36

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 17:36
If you are handy with a welder or you have a mate that is..........then from the looks of it, it may just be the gutter???

If so, I think I would probably look at cutting it off completely and then just welding a new bit on all the way arround.

The gutter is not something you can easily mend with bog.

Its hard to say for sure without seeing it live.
AnswerID: 87279

Reply By: Bros - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 20:00

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 20:00
tommytomato,
I had to get a fibreglass turret fitted to my old 1978 FJ75 ute years ago (10 yrs). It cost around $500.00 then, so if you can get one for the above price you are doing well. We fitted it ourselves, no problem.
Cheers, Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 87283

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:28

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:28
I am about to start on my recent purchase, a HJ60 wagon. I only want to do a patch job so will clean out the rust spots and then paint on rust converter. Then I will make up plates to fit inside the holes and glue them in to place. Once that is dry put some bog over top and give it a coat of paint. Bog is OK as one can shape it but you can also use Liquid Steel which works just as well. Fibreglassing is a bit of a pain and you have to be good at it to make it work for you. I am a tad rough with my repairs but what the hell...its fun!
AnswerID: 87296

Reply By: Gypsymum - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 16:40

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 16:40
Hi there,

Give the guys at Phoenix Paints a call on 9314 2219 they have a product called Metalfix which is supposed to be the best thing since sliced bread. They have a website but do you think I can remember it...sorry..I will put it up here for you if I can find it. Their address is 1/79 Forsyth St O'Connor and it is $34 for 1 lt or $158.70 for 5lt. They have pics on the website and info. We are going to get some and do the undercarriage of our 80 series as well as our trailer. It comes in a few colours and if I remeber correctly you can use it as an undercoat or as your main paintjob. Hope it helps

Regards Sasha
AnswerID: 87481

Follow Up By: Gypsymum - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 17:01

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 17:01
I found it.......www.phoenixpaints.com.au. Have a squizz.

Regards Sasha
FollowupID: 346271

Follow Up By: tommytomato - Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 21:26

Monday, Dec 06, 2004 at 21:26
Well guys we jumped in the deep end and started to cut out the rust

Your welcome to view the images here below

HJ60 Rust work

TT ( Karl )
FollowupID: 346298